We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fields-Penn 1860 House Museum
Ranked #12 of 25 things to do in Abingdon
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Free!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Anything for "free" may be subject to a little scrutiny, so I had to ask the docent why. Abingdon is doing its part to encourage tourism, she explained. With that, and a suggestion to ask her if I had any questions she returned to what she was doing before I walked in and let me take my time looking and thinking about the house and its history. I liked that because I have a tendency to linger in order to mull over the various items on display. I was able to read the explanations related to each room and look at the furnishings piece by piece. Thank you Abingdon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
1,726 reviews
1,305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Very Well Maintained Historic Home”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is one of the better maintained historic homes I have seen in recent years. Yes it is a self guided tour, but there is a very knowledgeable volunteer on site and she was more than willing to answer questions. There is a very nice sheet, giving descriptions about each room and personally, I like to go at my own pace through a house, verses being forced to hear about things I have no interest in or already know. One of the great things is that this museum is free and is full of history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hints of History”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is definitely worth popping in to see how two of Abingdon's early families lived. The house is charming; anyone who enjoys history houses will find it worth their while. You might even see a unique feature or two, like the built-in sick room in the parents' bedroom.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmbbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Self guided, but interesting Museum”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A glimpse into Old Abingdon, you don't need much time to check out the house. My daughter says she thinks the music room is haunted, but not scary, just interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visited at Christmas during the decorating contest for the different rooms. The docent was helpful in answering questions and the home is beautiful. Well worth seeing!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank NewVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fields-Penn 1860 House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fields-Penn 1860 House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing