We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice theater with wonderful shows” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barter Theatre

Barter Theatre
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 3 miles from I-81, exit 17 in the heart of Abingdon, Virginia. Founded in 1933, Barter Theatre offers professional, repertory theatre, 17-19 productions per year, and two unique stages: Barter Main Stage and Barter Stage II. Recognized as the premiere theatre in the region, Barter launched the careers of such notable actors as Gregory Peck, Patricia Neal and Ernest Borgnine. Enjoy classics, comedies, dramas and Broadway musicals. Group rates and packages with fine Abingdon restaurants and lodging available. Stop in The Barter Café and gift shop. Open Feb. – Dec. Call or go on-line for performance schedule.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice theater with wonderful shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very historic theater....the shows are always wonderful...seating is good no matter what seat you are in....very cozy atmosphere....a must do if visiting Abingdon, Va.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    84
    15
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I could not hear the punch line”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've driven by the Barter Theater for decades and heard good things. A friend and I made the two hour trip. We got a good deal on the tickets as this was a week day afternoon performance. We sat 7 rows back at floor level. I'm tall and the seats were very un-comfortable and the leg room was lacking. I'm about 6'1" . I'm in my mid 60's and the average age of the audience was older that we. Very few young people. I have some hearing loss but not enough for me to wear a device at least yet. All the actors were female save one. I could hear and understand the male. The females, I could not understand several words which caused me to miss the punch line. I know they have remote microphone capability as I've spoken to people who were there when they were used. I do not know why they did not use microphones that day as the audience was a bunch of old geezers and geezeretes like us and I feel pretty sure many of them did not hear well either. The acoustics are poor in the theater. The is another one of those things to do once, but I will not go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shadetreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Welcome Back to Ivy Gap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The play was outstanding. The players were excellent especially in their timing as they delivered their lines. The theatre was full, and the audience was fully involved. Anyone involved with a well established church in the rural South will identify with what they see. It is nothing short of a wonderful experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sanderlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stage II is a cozy venue, and the actors are great!! Each seat offers a great view, and there is a cafe right on the premises.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celeste J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Little Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went to see the afternoon performance of "Welcome Back to Ivy Gap" and it was a great show. Just being in the town and theatre is a wonderful experience. We stayed at the Inn across the street and this was a great three day getaway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnEINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barter Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Barter Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing