We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Abingdon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Quality Inn & Suites in Abingdon for two nights while bicycling on the Virginia Creeper Trail. The location of the hotel was convenient and our room on the 2nd floor was clean, spacious, and quiet. The bed was great—good, firm mattress and comfy pillows. The expanded breakfast buffet was more than adequate. For the price, we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CollegeProf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites in Abingdon, VA for your trip to the Virginia Creeper Trail. We have many guests that stay with us for the trail experience. We were glad to accommodate you and your family. Thank you for the review as well. Look forward to seeing you again!!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 189 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

I brought a group to the property for a 3 day visit to Abingdon and the Carter Fold. Price was the best in the area, and everything about the stay was outstanding. Some of our rooms were upgraded to suites (at no extra cost) so that our group would be on the same floor. Rooms were very clean, nights were quiet, The breakfast was one of the best I have had at this type of property--crisp bacon, boiled eggs, biscuits and several types of bread, muffins, danish, etc. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea, and cappacino were available at all times in the lobby. GM Doug Fox was great to work with and had good suggestions for contacts as I was planning the trip. All in all, a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Melody,

We are so glad to hear you had a “wonderful experience” with us. Thanks for all of the compliments, and we really appreciate your review. Thank you and hope to see you again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on Sunday night enroute from NJ to Smoky Mts. Low occupancy.Very quiet even in ground floor room. Large room; comfortable king bed. Shower head too low; no exhaust in bathroom. Nice common area in lobby, OK breakfast. Better than typical continental breakfast at chains. Had premade omelettes, eggs, bacon, biscuits, etc but not great. Friendly staff. Recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggynj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Peggy,

Thank you for your review. Our breakfast does have a lot more items than the usual hotel chains. Hope to see you again. Thanks again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

beds great along with ac but shower below par and excellent breakfast

Room Tip: ac great along with breakfast however we had suite that seem small for a suite and the water pressu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalton4unc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and would like to apologize about the shower pressure. We have fixed the problem with the shower pressure and implemented a new shower program. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is an award-winner by the parent Choice Hotels, and we sort of have to wonder why because it seemed to us that this is a very average hotel. It is clean, which is important, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room itself was pretty standard --- nothing special, but not outstanding. The bed was fine, as were the pillows, and the lighting was fine. Shelf space for luggage was limited. The bathroom was small with limited shelf space, and the shower was pretty wimpy. There were four sets of towels, however, and they were fine. The common room was very nice, and the breakfast was better than average --- a nice varied selection of breakfast foods. The two negatives we observed were that the cushions on the hide-a-bed sofa in the room were in very poor (crushed/saggy) condition, and the side entrance to the hotel did not lock --- which is a major security issue in our opinion. The hotel is located just off the Interstate and the entrance off Main Street is easily confused with that of the neighboring Holiday Inn Express, especially the parking areas. Value-wise, this hotel at $97 Senior rates is not particularly cheap, but is inexpensive relative to the other chain hotels in the area.

Room Tip: A higher-numbered room X15 or higher puts you at the back of the hotel, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review. I understand that our room was just “average” in your opinion. We have won the Platinum Award for multiple years. Our rooms may not be “luxurious.” I believe you were expecting something more equivalent to the Plaza Hotel in New York, but we are simply a Quality Inn & Suites. We do the best we can according to Choice Hotel guidelines. We have upgraded our shower pressure. We are also in the process of changing our sofa beds. The lock on the side entrance is something we have been looking into as well. We do have a sign right next to our hotel which is lit and visible. I’m sorry for the confusion. Thank you for your review.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hotel room was clean and quiet. I am very sensitive to noise and travel with a white noise machine and earplugs. I didn't need either. Inside the room, we didn't hear the sounds of other travelers like voices in the hall, slamming doors or cars in the parking lot. When I opened the door I could hear all the noise from the breakfast room and front desk, but when the door was closed it sounded like I had the hotel to myself.

I was traveling with my mother (in her mid-70's). She said she slept better at the Quality Inn in Abingdon, Virginia than she did in her own bed.

Room Tip: We were told the rooms in the 1st floor near the swimming pool were the quietest. We stayed on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halfCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review. I have to agree our hotel is much quieter than other hotels. The hotel was designed as block frame building rather than wood framed building, which helps to reduce noise throughout the hotel. I am so glad your mother slept as well as she did. It is always nice to hear personal guest comments. Thank you for taking the time for your review, and please visit us again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Quality Inn & Suites is ideally located as you are coming into Abingdon and is near good restaurants, shopping, and The Barter Theatre. Was so convenient to what we wanted to do. Room was super clean and the young man at the front desk was very helpful. The free breakfast was very good - had hot and cold foods to choose from. Rate was very good - we have the Choice Rewards Program Membership and that always comes in handy. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb_PIndianTrail_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing our facility. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are always open to suggestions as well. Hope to see you again in the near future. Also, we would like to say thank you for your review.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
190 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#10 of 10 in Abingdon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 930 E Main St, I-81 & Highway 58, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: $97 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel is ideally located off Interstate 81, just two miles from the Virginia Creeper National Recreation Trail. This Abingdon hotel is convenient to many area attractions and businesses,including Emory & Henry College, Abingdon Cinemall and Johnston Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Abingdon
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing