We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”

Rain Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beautiful building with outdoor patio, very unique art/decor with a beautiful open bar and lounge area.
Moneta, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Third time I have eaten at this restaurant. It's not to be missed in Abingdon. Wonderful offerings and excellent chef.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank choclabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    115
    27
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Third time I have eaten here and it's not to be missed when visiting Abingdon. Great menu with varied offerings. Excellent chef.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank choclabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic ribeye”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First time eating here. Decided to 'try it' while meeting friends from out of town. Tried the fried Greek tomatoes appetizer - a delightful blend of flavor and textures. We all independently decided to try the blackened ribeye with fried spinach (a new experience). All of us felt the ribeye was one of the best steaks we had ever had which is saying something for 4 folks over 60! The fried spinach was light and very tasty. We shared the no flour chocolate cake and it too was delicious. Feel like the prices were reasonable for the quality of food. I've certainly paid a more for steaks that were no where near as good. Our server, Aisha, was attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and provided excellent service. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The food blew my expectations away. The Butternut Squash soup is fantastic. Atmosphere is just average, but in fairness I was alone in town on business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Truly one of the best dining experiences we have enjoyed on a trip. I loved the chicken breast stuffed with apples, figs, brie in an apple cider jus. My husband had a Hawaiian fish that had been flown in that day - delicious preparation. Unpretentious but very nice ambience. Good wait staff. And a good value for the quality of the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rain Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rain Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing