We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

Rain Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 90 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beautiful building with outdoor patio, very unique art/decor with a beautiful open bar and lounge area.
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Try the steak with fried spinach...it's fabulous! Also they have an appetizer...cornbread something..it's wonderful and the flourless chocolate cake...yummy! Also, the wait staff was a little stiff but the hostess was very sweet and accommodating. I do expect individuals in the hospitality industry to leave a positive impression on their visitors. It's their job...I suppose a few just didn't get that memo. :-)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bwaldroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    108
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksboro, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Delicious Filet, fabulous Basil Parm dressing. Our server was very attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyperplexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you're in Abingdon, eat here!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a great restaurant! It's been years since I've eaten somewhere that gave me a truly great experience from start to finish - Rain Restaurant & Bar is that place. From the enthusiastic greeting at the front door to the chef stopping by at dessert, this restaurant has it all. We ate outside on a Friday night after arriving in Abingdon for a trip down the Virginia Creeper Trail the next day. We couldn't have asked for better.

We sat outside on the patio and were immediately greeted by a knowledgeable waitress who was "on it" during our entire dinner. We never lacked for anything. We ordered the baked fontina cheese appetizer which was hot and bubbly served in a small cast iron skillet with freshly baked bread. Outstanding!

Salads were next accompanied by homemade salad dressings. Delicious. My husband got the seafood pasta which had shrimp and mussels and was in a spicy red sauce. I'm not a fan of seafood pasta but I tried a bite of his and loved it. I had the nightly special which was a fish flown in from Hawaii atop a mushroom risotto cake with a carrot puree and asparagus. I worked in Hawaii all last summer and this was just as good, if not better, than any fish I had while there. A super tasy ginger sauce accompanied the fish, which was perfectly cooked. The risotto cake was crisy on the outstide and tender on the inside. The asparagus was the perfect accompanyment.

As if it couldn't get any better, we ordered the flourless chocolate cake for dessert and weren't disappointed. It came with homemade salted caramel ice cream and a pecan tassie "cookie" plus a shot of whipped cream. Decadent and delicous.

If you're in Abingdon, eat here for a great meal - start to finish!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service, Very Noisy”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This small restaurant on East Main Street about five blocks east of the center of town is a very pleasant place for dinner. The food here was excellent --- blackened ribeye with blue cheese and topped with crispy fried spinach. Very tasty and done just right. Small but decent wine list. The flourless chocolate cake was nice as well. Service was excellent --- very professional and attentive. Menus were set upright at each place --- not laid across plates and utensils where food would go --- another feature of the professionalism. Ambiance, however, was another story. The place was nice enough, but the acoustics were so poor, and the place so extremely noisy, that holding a conversation at the table was very difficult. The overall value was OK --- about average for the quality of the food and service, and the detracting noisiness, for the price. But for the noisiness, our overall rating would have been Excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner....”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had the sashimi special, see food linguini,and cheese cake, they were all delicious...Everything was fantastic, we will be back ;) Yeliz &Kaan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yelizkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rain Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rain Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing