We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting decor, wonderful food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rain Restaurant & Bar

Rain Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: their phone is 276 739 2331 at same location of former Willa Jacks. We live in Abingdon and its our "new" favorite place to eat.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting decor, wonderful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We enjoyed the unique decor but the food was the star! Our compliments to the chef!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 409SuzanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    107
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I stopped in Abingdon for a night while on a road trip and were blown away by the food, service and atmosphere at this wonderful little restaurant. Everything from the Butternut Squash soup to the Ahi Tuna was mouth-watering! The wine was excellent and the lemoncello dessert was wonderful. I'm only sorry that we don't pass through this area more often. WELL worth a trip there!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We live in Abingdon and get to Rain about once a month. It is fairly new and is quite popular with the locals. And for good reason. The food is excellent and so is the service. I wish I could recommend one dish above the others, but all the dishes are excellent. Steak is tender and flavorful. Same for the seafood. Main dishes cost $25 to $30 and include a salad with homemade dressings. Bottom line, it is the best upscale restaurant in our area. Great for that special occasion. c xdx

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frank222r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport TN
Level Contributor
224 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First time visit, very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

A friend had recommended this to me and since I was in Abingdon for the Barter Theater I decided to have lunch there. The server made some recommendations and we went along with his. We had the Plumb Alley Cheese burger which was very good. The fries that came with mine were very good, but the pasta salad my wife had with hers had too much mayonaise for her taste. I would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
191 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have been to many fine dining restaraunts and this ranks right up there at the top. The service was outstanding. We were greeted as if they new us (our first time visit), and were seated early. The waitress (becky) was awesome, giving great advice, good suggestions and appropriately attentive. The catch of the day and the filet were excellent. The smoked salmon was amazing and the bread was killer. The desert was great. The drinks were good, the atmosphere very nice. The staff love this place and their pride in the place showed. Highly recomend.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drslowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rain Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rain Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing