We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
$110
$98
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
$94
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Abingdon)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
$129
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
115
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful horsescookiesstuffed french toastthe virginia creeper trailback porchhorse farmbed and breakfastgreat cookbike shoppeaceful settingclose to downtownb b'sliving roomwalk in showereach morninga wonderful staypond
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 119 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary here. We were greeted with a hug and big smile from the owner Cindy, a beautiful fire and delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies. The decor is beautifully done with charm throughout the house that used to be her Grandfather's. We loved that she made us feel like we were at home! The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Thank you Cindy! The horses and outside scenery was so peaceful and beautiful.
Lee and Kristina Patsel
Greeneville, Tennessee

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank LEE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016

We stayed at Black's Fort Inn in late November to ride the Creeper Trail and explore Abingdon. The owner, Cindy, is hospitable and very kind, and she is a wonderful cook. The breakfasts (pumpkin pancakes one day, homemade frittata and biscuits the next) were amazing. There is an excellent sitting area, and this is a working horse farm, with beautiful animals. It is right at the end of the Creeper Trail, and downtown Abingdon is a 2 minute drive, so the location is excellent. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Would highly recommend during fall and spring.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravesfan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2016

We stayed at Black's Fort during the first weekend in November 2016 because of the close proximity to the Virginia Creeper Trail. We were welcomed by Cindy, the owner, like we were long lost family members. She even allowed us to bring our bikes in through her living room to store them securely on the back deck. The home was very comfortable and squeaky clean! Our room was perfect and we slept very soundly. It was warm enough to sleep with the windows open and we enjoyed the sound of the horses walking through the fallen autumn leaves. Breakfast was a real treat, and we looked forward to it each morning. Cindy certainly loves what she does and she definitely has the gift of hospitality. The inn is just a quick pedal away from the Virginia Creeper trailhead, and it was an awesome day of riding.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank deblewis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

One of the more comfortable and homelike b&bs we have stayed in. Cindy cannot do enough for you, her breakfasts are out of this world (you might skip lunch), cookies and such in the afternoon. My wife drinks decaf coffee so Cindy went the store and got a Keurig box of decaf. Yes, they have a Keurig machine.

Our room was the Willow, with a very comfortable queen bed and a good view of the farm area. So, in two days, we learned to take coffee or wine, depending on the time of day, sit out on the back porch and chill. Perfection!

It is close to everything.

Enjoy.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank jimwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Visting here was like visiting a favorite aunt who cooks all of your favorite foods. Cindy went well out of her way to accommodate our special diets, and we were so appreciative of that. Breakfast was plentiful, and we often only realized we were hungry around mid-afternoon.

Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. The rooms are close together and the doors are heavy. The Willow Suite is right next to the bathrooms for the Garden Room, so you will likely hear those guests each time they enter. Although the Inn is in a bucolic setting, as the crow flies you are not far from the highway and can easily hear the semis with their air brakes throughout the night. And there's a train that comes through several times a day (and night) just a short distance from the Inn.

Location can't be beat for access to the Virginia Creeper Trail. Highly recommend walking there each night or renting bikes from the bike shop a short ways down from the trail entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarletleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews