We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great afternoon tea!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camella's Remember When

Camella's Remember When
Ranked #31 of 89 Restaurants in Abingdon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Great afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a great afternoon tea! The Blue Eyes tea is amazing and the homemade scones with lemon curd is simply delicious! A must try if you're in Abingdon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at Camella's! The food was very good and perfectly presented. Tea selection was better than expected as was the owner's knowledge of not only high tea, but also Abingdon. Precious little tea room! The adjoining store was also lovely and exceeded expectations. I am grateful to my fellow Tripadvisor reviewers who alerted me in advance that gratuity was going to be automatically added and that only cash and checks were accepted (although in this day & age with cell phones readily available and Square card readers so inexpensive, that seems ridiculous- even our Girl Scout Troop takes credit cards!) I found several items in the gift shop that I would have purchased if paying by card was available. Despite the $10 teas being listed on the menu, it appeared to me that the owner did not want to serve them. She gave our menus saying "we are serving our Afternoon Tea today" as if the other two options were unavailable. I did not press the issue. After tea, be sure to go across the street to the Oil Company shop which sells oils and vinegars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Threegirlsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bridal Tea Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently arranged a bridal tea for my long time friend. Camella's was the perfect place for this event. Everything was just lovely. The tables were beautifully decorated, the tea was delicious and all of the finger foods were amazing. Everyone in our party enjoyed our relaxing afternoon tea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelodyH277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get getaway for a girls outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you come through the front doors, you feel like you step back in time to an old English parlor that is all nicely set up with all the pretties and niceties. We went for Mother's Day, 3 generations of women, and were served a nice array of finger foods for our lunch. Were given two choices of tea, either hot or cold teas available. Hard to chose as they all sound heavenly. We were very much pleased with everything and look forward to celebrating many more Mother's Day outing or just any other girls day out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bodyhealer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
2 reviews
“Lovely and Improved, a Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Visited a few years ago and the food left much to be desired. Returned Fall 2012 and was pleasantly surprised! Tea and atmosphere is wonderful! The food is now delicious, especially the Devonshire cream and scones (the best I ever had). We found the food to be a sufficient amount but we were a very small party. The price is high, consider it a once in a while "treat", for a very relaxing afternoon! Would partake more frequently if not as expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Owner at Camella's Remember When, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Ann, I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to Camella's Remember When! We have been in business going on 8 years now. Our scones and devonshire cream are the same as they have always been...our recipes have not changed. I get many requests for a recipe book. We also have not changed our price of $14.95 for a full Afternoon Tea which consists of soup or salad, a tray full of finger sandwiches, tarts and various savories as well as 3 different varieties of scones served with devonshire cream and jam, and finally a delicious dessert to finish the meal! Also included is 2 different selections of loose leaf tea per table with unlimited pot refills! Afternoon Tea is meant to be a special experience and we work very hard to provide that for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camella's Remember When also viewed

 

Been to Camella's Remember When? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing