We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway!”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We recently visited Abingdon, VA for a long weekend and had a wonderful time there. We stayed at River Garden Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful gem in the country beside the north fork of the Holton River! Our hostess, Paula, was so helpful and made us feel right at home. She fixed us the most divine breakfasts and spoiled us with really great cookies and cake too. We saw a show at the Barter theatre, shopped for antiques, visited White's Mill, and had two phenomenal dinners at The Tavern and Figerado's. We also spent Saturday evening at the Carter Family Fold (in Hyltons) enjoying Bluegrass music and local culture. We were lucky enough to stumble upon a local street fair in Coeburn and visited Flag Rock to view the town or Norton from high above. We discovered Natural Tunnel State Park and rode the chair lift down to the bottom of this remarkable natural formation. If you have never visited the area, there is so much to do and at a relaxed pace.

Helpful?
4 Thank Gail060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here before and LOVED it then! This time it was even better. Paula's breakfasts are wonderful. We LOVE the river flowing below the deck, which is just off the rooms. Not only that, they have a wonderful horse which I LOVED to pet. This is the best place to stay because you can enjoy a lovely country setting with this amazing river and then hop into town to attend the theater or have dinner. I can imagine having a wedding at this location. It would be perfect for a young couple to elope here!!! And Paula could bake a fabulous wedding cake!!! She is known for her baking! All in all, the owners are charming, the breakfasts are fabulous, the rooms are wonderful, the deck is huge, the river is beautiful, and the location is perfect -- just a few minutes from town!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

When my wife was planning a Father's Day getaway for the two of us, I knew I was in for a treat, but was not quite prepared for the amazing setting of the River Garden. The tranquil nights' sleep were enough to win us over, but throw in the breath taking scenery and culinary skills of our hostess, and we were more than ready to join the repeat visitors. With several wineries a short distance away, and a couples massage from Brandy, we haven't been so relaxed since our honeymoon. The pleasant and accomodating company of our hosts was one category TripAdvisor does not rate on, but definitely deserves 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Bake918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

From the moment we arrived, we felt like family. This B&B is situated right along the Holston river. The sights are breathtaking. Paula, the hostess, made us feel like we had been close friends forever. She cooked scrumpious breakfasts including blueberry pancakes using the blueberries picked right on the property. She also made special desserts for us during our stay.
If you like getting away to a quiet serene surrounding which is off the beaten path a bit, this is the place. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hosts was very friendly. The food was pretty good. We were a little surprised to find out there were inside pets. Both of us are not pet friendly when it comes to inside animals. The Bed & Breakfast was right on a creek which was very nice, but would have been terrific if there had been a path to go down to the creek. The back porch was nice too. The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebbyMcMinnville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergarden, Owner at River Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
We were very sorry to hear of this review. We take every effort to make our guests feel comfortable here. Our website does state that there are friendly dogs on property and as we greet every guest we do offer to put the dogs up if the guests are at all uncomfortable around them. These guests did not ask us to remove the dogs from the common areas or we would have done so in an instant. There also is a path down to the river where many of our guests tube, swim and canoe. I am sorry we must have not mentioned it to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My sister and I stayed at this beautiful B&B located on the Holston River while visiting family in Abingdon/Bristol area. Hostess is a terrific gourmet cook, location is wonderful and inn is relaxing and comfy. Will return many more times in future! If looking for natural relaxation and beauty this is IT!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishopbethkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The river gliding by, the comfort of the room, and the down to earth atmosphere combined to make the River Garden B & B the best inn I've had the pleasure to visit. My sister and I agreed we were made to feel as if we were visiting the home of a friend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruffmawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
6.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
464 reviews
7.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
109 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: River Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19080 N Fork River Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-4560
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the scenic bank of the North Fork of the Holston River, nestled in the foothills of the picturesque Clinch Mountains and just outside historic Abingdon, Virginia, The River Garden is a place where you can feel at home away from home. With only 3 guest rooms, we provide you with the personal attention you deserve. Each comfortable room has an interior door for access to the inn and a private exterior door which opens onto a covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Garden Hotel Abingdon
River Garden b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing