We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
East Coast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfortable”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay at this rustic ranch style family home whose owners make every effort to ensure their guests feel welcome.

Paula greeted us on arrival with glasses of iced raspberry tea, baked something delicious every afternoon, and cooked us a filling gourmet breakfast each morning.

The three guest rooms are on a private downstairs level, and open directly to a wide, covered, shared porch. Wooden rockers beckon one to sit and enjoy the view and the sounds of the Holston River, flowing swiftly, approximately 20 feet below.

Our cozy king bedded room and bath were clean and comfortable, but with limited natural light due to the porch overhang. Robes are provided, in addition to a well stocked guest pantry across the hall. There is no TV or phone in the room, but both are available in the upstairs family great room, as is a laptop.

You’ll need good directions or a GPS to find this place. It’s a few miles outside the town of Abingdon, and on a narrow, rural road. Cell phone coverage is frequently unreliable in this mountainous area. Plan to arrive before dark!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggiesMom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover Park, IL
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2010

After traveling in a car with two 8 year olds, we enjoyed soaking it up in the hot tub and relaxing. Coming from Chicago, the kids loved being out in nature and being able to see many stars at night! I enjoyed sitting on the porch outside my room and listening to the river below while reading my book. Both nights of our stay I slept very well. The rooms were dark in the morning so we all slept in! Paula cooked wonderful breakfasts both mornings of our stay. The kids loved the homemade cookies! We were able to take a nice, but steep hike to the top of the mountain nearby, it was amazing. Will definitely come again, next time in the fall to see the fall leaves and go on that bike ride that Paula told us about but were unable to do because of the rain.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnabow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We booked one of the larger rooms and paid for it, but got placed in the smaller room with a full size bed. We never got refunded for the price difference. The Bed and Breakfast is nice and the host and hostess were very nice as well. The place is a little off the beaten path; okay, if you like being in the country. The thermostat in our room did not work and the room was on the cold side. The food was excellent and there were plenty of things to do such as hot tub, games, fishing, etc. We would stay here again if we got the largest room with the king sized bed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergarden, owner at River Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
This quiet yet friendly couple arrived before their deposit and I showed them to the room they spoke of when making the reservation. They said nothing of expecting the larger room and seemed content. If they had informed me of the confusion I would have moved them as the other room was available. They also did not speak of the room temperature or I would have adjusted it for them. They were refunded the difference as soon as I was made aware of the mix-up with their room preference. We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction but must be made aware of dissatisfaction during the stay, not after departure to assure it. We also have no full size beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was what we wanted to be. Out of touch with the real world. No t.v. No kids. Just a quiet evening, listening to the water. We were in heaven. The entire family including Max, were very nice and friendly. We felt welcomed immediately. My husband and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sslofrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Paula made us feel very welcome when we first arrived - even though she wasnt actually there! the room was excellent (particularly the bathroom which had a fantastic shower, really powerful). Outside the room there is a veranda where they have traditional board games which we thought was an excellent idea and we were able to play backgammon, sip beer and watch hummingbirds for ages. (trying to photograph them was rather hard though).

Paula and her family (Iincluding the dog) looked after us very well and she cooked a lovely meal for us even though it was fathers day so we persuaded them to share some of our whiskey and had a lovely eveing just chatting about stuff.

Breakfast was extensive and very good with fruit, pancakes and all the trimmings you could want. A really pleasant and friendly stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishbel_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Family members came to visit this weekend and we reserved a room at this B&B for them. We were all so very happy with the scenic and peaceful location right above the beautiful north fork of the Holston River, only 15 minutes from quaint downtown Abingdon. The room and bathroom were spotless, and the hospitality of the owners warm and genuine. We joined them for breakfast on the deck overlooking the river. CAN'T BE BEAT, and worth the drive from I-81, only 10 miles. Fitness machines, hot tub, huge screen video room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baltomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The hospitality was warm and friendly from the start, the atmosphere completely comfortable and relaxed. All three guest rooms open out to a rocker-filled porch where one could sit and enjoy the trees and birds and sparkling river for hours. Breakfast was delicious and filling. The host had lots of excellent suggestions for Abingdon-area dining and shopping. We're looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
6.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
465 reviews
7.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
109 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: River Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19080 N Fork River Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-4560
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the scenic bank of the North Fork of the Holston River, nestled in the foothills of the picturesque Clinch Mountains and just outside historic Abingdon, Virginia, The River Garden is a place where you can feel at home away from home. With only 3 guest rooms, we provide you with the personal attention you deserve. Each comfortable room has an interior door for access to the inn and a private exterior door which opens onto a covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Garden Hotel Abingdon
River Garden b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing