We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic-no frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
1 review
“Basic-no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Average cleanliness. Did not have enough towels and cloths for everyone.Continental brkfst was only cereal and individually wrapped cheap pastry.Should at least had some fruit.nice views though. Convenient location .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    77
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
60
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Alpine Motel was recommended to us by a friend because it's inexpensive, retro, and a little quirky. And it was. It also wasn't ideal. I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons, but it was very basic. No hair dryer. Old fashioned TV with poor reception. The heater didn't work and it was cold. No toiletries. No real breakfast. Nice sized room though, and decent bed. I'd stay there again, but not for a long duration.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_H423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night on our trip North. The rooms all come with two double beds. The room was very spacious, which was nice. However, it was quite chilly the night we stayed and there is no heat in the bathroom. I would have taken a shower, but didn't want to experience that chill. The beds were not as firm as I would have preferred, but that is just my preference. Since it was so chilly, an extra blanket would have been nice, but there was none to be found. The wall air conditioner/heating unit kind of crapped out on us and we were pretty cold. Again, not a big deal for one night. When we checked in, we noticed that there was a coffee set-up in the main office. When we got up in the morning, we went there expecting some coffee, but there the manager was still asleep and there was no coffee. Granted, the place was almost deserted, but we feel that we deserve at least a cup of coffee in the morning. He did make some eventually.
On the plus side, the sunrise in the morning was gorgeous and we slept pretty well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Alpine many times and usually enjoy it.. The curent owner has made many upgrades over recent years - carpet, bedding, TV,air conditioner, microwave oven, refrigerator, shower. Be aware though, there is no heating or sink in the bathroom. Sink is in the spaceous room. At our most recent stay, we found the housekeeping had dropped off. Although not to be expected at the price, the carry-out breakfast items currently include a two-cereal dispenser, milk from a gallon jug in refrigerator, coffee and a packaged sweet roll. A unique experience!

Room Tip: Of the L shaped building, most rooms face a view of the mountains (across I-81). Those in the short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here twice...bathroom, shower & countertops recently replaced with granite. Looks to have been recently painted. WiFi was excellent...beds comfortable , nice & quiet. For the price---$59 per night--- you can go out to breakfast & still save a few bucks off of what the chains with breakfast charge. We will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was very happy with the general condition of the motel. For something in this price range it was a real bargain and I'd have no trouble recommending it. Maybe would go up a notch or two if not alone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnowBird0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our car broke down on Main Street in Abingdon but we managed to get it started again and quickly drove back to the Alpine Motel which we'd passed on the way into town. We love old, retro, family owned establishments and we felt fortunate we stumbled upon it so we didn't have to stay in a chain motel down the hill.

The owner was friendly and put us in 2 rooms at the far end of the motel. We were very pleased with our experience from the moment we checked in. We had no problems communicating with the proprietor like some reviewers did.

The rooms were huge, the bedding was very nice, beds comfortable and the bathrooms had been renovated to a very acceptable standard. True, there was no hair dryer or shampoo, but I always bring that myself, so it wasn't a problem at all.

I loved the old Alpine Motel sign above the motel.

The view from atop the hill was gorgeous and I was sorry we were there for such a short period of time. We will definitely go back to Abingdon to do some hiking, biking and checking out the local theatre.

I can't understand how some reviewers complain about the continental breakfast after paying $49-$59 per night for a great room! There's just no pleasing some people!

We loved the value for money we got at the Alpine and enjoyed the ambiance and welcoming attitude of the town of Abingdon. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank IdahoShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 882 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4415
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motel Abingdon
Alpine Hotel Abingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing