We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when you ride the VA Creeper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when you ride the VA Creeper”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

There were thirteen in our group and we booked seven rooms. I found that several of us were quoted a different rate ranging from $139-99 per night for a king/non smoking room.

The checkin clerk was very personable and pleasant. We were allowed to check in early allowing us to visit the Highlands Festival going on in town. The room was reasonably sized with a small cupboard instead of a closet. The room had flat screen tv, free internet, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was small but adequate with shower only. The room was very clean. The bed was quite comfortable and very large.

Free breakfast was included in our rate. It was served by a lovely lady who was so kind and soliticitous. It offered cereal, milk, juices, bisquits and gravy, hot egg sandwich, and fruit.

Very good value for the price.

  • Liked — staff is very courteous and pleasant
  • Disliked — Variation in rate quotes
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    149
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
128
153
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
johnson city, tn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I stayed here with my wife during the Memorial day weekend. It was a last minute reservation. I paid 109 bucks on Priceline- There are a few cheaper hotels, but I opted to pay more for a nice room vs cheap as the cheaper ones in abingdon have been nasty. I was pleased that the rooms were so nice- The linens were very clean and the bed and pillows were soft and comfortable. This room had all the amenities. Flatscreen TV, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, iron board, hairdryer. If you forget any type of toiletry item (razor toothpaste ect)they will give you a sample size for free. They had a free breakfast which had eggs, biscuit and gravy, english muffins, pastries, cereal, milk coffee and juice. I cant say the eggs and the Biscuits and gravy were the best i ever had, but it was free and that makes it taste great. They also had a computer in tye lobby where you could surf the net and check your email. I would stay again.

  • Liked — soft bed, free breakfast, internet access
  • Disliked — the hotel was hard to get out of as you had to cross traffic right at a redlight
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Spent two weeks at the hotel for business. This is not a luxurious hotel but is clean and well-kept. Rooms have flat screen tvs, fridge and microwave.

There is a nice breakfast area in the lobby where three nice older ladies fix breakfast each morning - biscuits and gravy, sausage biscuits, eggs, etc. There is also plenty of cold cereal, bagels, danish, fruit, etc. The fruit, coffee, and juices are available 24 hrs. They also provide freshly baked cookies in the late afternoon.

Front desk was helpful. Lots of good restaurant recommendations - Peppermill, Withers Hardware, the Tavern, Allison's.

Will stay here again if I'm back in the area!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vapersecutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed at this hotel the night of the 18th of January, 2008. We did not have prior reservations and got in after midnight. They gave us a great deal - $60 for the three of us. The desk clerk was pleasant and helpful, and we were in our room very quickly. The room was on the ground floor - spacious, clean, and with nice bedding (none of those horrible polyester bedspreads; we had white cotton coverlets.) It was very quiet, and the heater was one of those that runs the fan continuously, so that there is a nice "hum" of white noise. The hot breakfast runs till 10:00 in the morning, which was great because we got in so late. They even gave us "on-the-go" sack breakfasts for the trip, complete with a water bottle, an apple, a muffin, and breakfast bars.
Someone else's review mentioned that there was a renovation going on, however, that must be complete; we saw no sign of it. My only complaint is that they do not accept pets; fortunately we did not take our dog on this trip. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — clean, classy, quiet, free internet
  • Disliked — no pets
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

This family of four stayed there for one night in August 2007. Our room & bathroom were very clean and a nice size (we had 2 Q beds in the room). Noise from the highway was not an issue at all for us (3rd floor room, hotel only has 3 floors). Also, the free wi-fi was nice! The pool was very re-freshing after a long time in the car and the only downside was having to ask for towels at the front desk, rather than being readily available outside.

The included breakfast seemed like it had a good quantity / selection of food: eggs, grits, biscuits, gravy, fresh fruit salad, bagels, toast, pastries, etc ...

All in all, we had a really nice overnight stay at this hotel and would definitely not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — location (easy access to I-81), it was clean!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank da_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

The downsides:
1. The hotel is in the midst of a renovation. The second day they placed plastic sheets over the windows so it was impossible to see out and I was anxious to look out since snow showers were predicted. This is the third Hampton I've stayed at in the midst of a renovation. There was some jackhammering going on the first day by the pool.
2. The hotel is located on an access road by the interstate. You're at someone's mercy to let you out onto a main surface street & once you're lucky enough to get out, the light holds on red forever.

The pluses:
1. The continental breakfast hostess must be 90 and is a total sweetie, southern lady.
2. Rooms are clean.

Recommend that you go an exit south for Comfort Suites or an exit north for Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank labmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

What wonderful pillows, something I always pay attention to with my bad back. They offered soft and firm pillows as well as a great bed. It seemed like our room had recently been refurbished; it was very nice and had a large bathroom. Very quiet if you get a room away from the highway. The hotel is away from the central part of town, but takes only 5 minutes to get there.

  • Liked — pillows and bed
  • Disliked — traffic light near driveway
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
9.7 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Abingdon

Property: Hampton Inn Abingdon
Address: 340 Commerce Dr, Abingdon, VA 24211-3807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Abingdon is conveniently located off of I-81 in the historic town of Abingdon, Virginia. For the duration of your stay, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning along with complimentary high-speed internet while you take in the local charm. Stroll through the town. Meet local artists and even watch as they work in their studios. Sample vintage wine at the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or enjoy the scenic trails and sights of the Cherokee, Jefferson or Washington National Forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing