We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
272
115
42
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
115
42
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk the breakfast area hotel is pet friendly huddle house breakfast hostess room was clean staff was very friendly and helpful fresh fruit oatmeal allow pets king bed hotel stay excellent stay hot breakfast first floor next morning fridge and microwave
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 446 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night. Pet fee is around $25 but reviews for this hotel were better than the other two in the area that accept pets so we end up staying in this one. It was a good decision since the beds were really comfortable and the room was reasonably clean plus there was a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Terribly smelly, rooms not so clean. Outrageous prices. Management not friendly or hospitable. Do yourself a favor and take another exit or two. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catstull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights here when we were sightseeing and hiking in the area. As has been our experience with HIE, the room was excellent as was the service and breakfast. The cost was reasonable after our military discount. An added bonus was getting the end room on the 1st floor which (as another reviewer noted) was extremely roomy and comfortable. Special kudos to the man who checked us in and provided us with a notebook of local restaurant menus--very helpful--and the wonderful lady who was overseeing the breakfast. She was very concientious in checking with guests, keeping items stocked and even gave us some travel tips for the area. Altogether a very comfortable and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhclemns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This was a very nice Holiday Inn Express. I would compare the room to a mid-level Sheraton and was pleasantly surprised by the entire hotel. I was there for work and even though the hotel was at full capacity for a car racing event, the staff were very friendly and attentive.

The breakfast buffet was also suprisingly good. We had omelets and fruit one day and eggs with biscuits another day.

If in the area, I would highly recommend eating at Willa Jack's in the lovely downtown area. The food and atmosphere were quite good. http://www.willajacks.com/

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventuregrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We chose this hotel simply because it was one of the only ones in Abingdon which allowed pets. We would have preferred to stay in the Martha Washington or one of the nice B&B's in town, but couldn't find one that would allow our small dog to stay, so we settled for the Holiday Inn Express. It was pretty much what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express - a pretty typical mid-to-low-end road hotel - but it did have its positives and negatives. The biggest complaint that I had was the odor of antiseptic that is obviously used to clean the place with. On the one hand, it gives the impression that everything has been cleaned, but on the other hand, you wonder what they trying to cover up with that strong antiseptic odor. Anyway, the place seemed relatively clean, so no big complaints there. On the positive side, the staff were all very friendly, and seemed willing to go out of their way to serve their customers. The lady that worked the breakfast room was very sweet and worked hard to keep the food coming, even when the crowd seemed ready to overwhelm her. The breakfast buffet (included with the room) was pretty generous compared to some of the similarly priced hotels of the same type.

All-in-all, I didn't think it was a bad place, but it wasn't exceptional either, so I rated it "average" as compared to other similar hotels of the same class.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews