We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
254
113
42
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
254
113
42
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskthe breakfast areahotel is pet friendlyhuddle housebreakfast hostessroom was cleanstaff was very friendly and helpfulfresh fruitoatmealallow petsking bedhotel stayexcellent stayhot breakfastfirst floornext morningfridge and microwave
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 426 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door and smelled the cigarette-tainted lobby and breakfast area, to the sheets on the bed of our "non-smoking" room, we never got away from the terrible smell of smoke. They allow smokers right outside all the doors, and have some smoking rooms on the first floor, plus pets are allowed everywhere but the 3rd floor. It's hard to get past something so pervasive to look at service and cleanliness when all you want is fresh air.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitsetme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

I apologize that your stay was less than pleasant, and didn't meet your standards of Holiday Inn Express. We are in the process of converting to a completely non-smoking facility so hopefully that will curtail any smell of smoke in the lobby or breakfast area. We have also recently moved our outdoor smoking area further away from our front doors in an effort to keep smoke from entering the front doors as they open. We have also limited our pet availability to only first floor and are now keeping both second and third floors pet and smoke free. We hope to have our conversion to nonsmoking finished by November.

Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention and I hope the efforts we are making to resolve these problems will encourage you to give us another try in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As we drove into Abingdon, Va looking for the Holiday Inn Express we had reservations at for the night there was a Holiday Inn Express sign, but the outside was not as appealing as many Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed at. The inside of the hotel was a different story. The entry way, breakfast room, and our room was very nice and quiet. The hotel is in a safe area and is nicely maintained. The staff is very outgoing and friendly seeking to help in any way they can. All in all definitely a first class experience. We were pleased the breakfast area started serving by 6:15 even with their normal opening hours of 6:30 on a Saturday morning. We noted in other reviews complaints regarding smoking, but found our room and the hotel to be smoke free. All in all a great place to stay in the Abingdon area right next to I81.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff! We strive to make everyone's experience an enjoyable one, so I'm sorry that you didn't find the exterior up to other Holiday Inn Express standards. We just received a new paint job this spring, but comments like yours are so welcome! You keep us on our toes!

In regards to the smoke smell that previous posters had mentioned, the reason that perhaps you were unable to smell smoke is that we are in the process of having all of our smoking rooms converted to non-smoking! That project will be done by the end of October and then our facility will be completely smoke free!

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I needed to get a room for a few nights while work was being done on our house. The Staff was extremley helpful and the breakfast that was provided was way more and better than what we expected. We plan on having our friends and family stay here when they come in to visit just due to the wonderful way we were treated during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We appreciate your kind words and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make sure each of our guests enjoys every aspect of their stay with us and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We hope that you will return any time you need a comfortable place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked this room through priceline. Ordinarily I would not have stayed at a Holiday Inn from past bad experiences. This hotel changed my mind. The room was spacious, spotless and nicely decorated. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and the female employee manning the complimentary breakfast station deserves a gold star. I will now consider Holiday Inn Express while traveling just from my pleasant experience at this hotel alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us here in Abingdon, VA. We are truly happy that you enjoyed yourself, and very pleased that you have decided to give the Holiday Inn Express brand a renewed chance! We hope you choose to stay with us in the future, and enjoy all your future experiences with Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the proximity to Damascus. Both me and my husband were very happy that I did. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was wonderfully comfortable! Also the water pressure was heaven. The pool felt great too (as it was 95 degrees outside.) The restaurants were nearby and having access to RT 81 was excellant! Absolutly no complaints! I will book there in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Ruth E P,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews