We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
255
114
42
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
114
42
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskthe breakfast areahotel is pet friendlyhuddle housebreakfast hostessroom was cleanstaff was very friendly and helpfulfresh fruitoatmealallow petsking bedhotel stayexcellent stayhot breakfastfirst floornext morningfridge and microwave
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 428 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked this room through priceline. Ordinarily I would not have stayed at a Holiday Inn from past bad experiences. This hotel changed my mind. The room was spacious, spotless and nicely decorated. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and the female employee manning the complimentary breakfast station deserves a gold star. I will now consider Holiday Inn Express while traveling just from my pleasant experience at this hotel alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us here in Abingdon, VA. We are truly happy that you enjoyed yourself, and very pleased that you have decided to give the Holiday Inn Express brand a renewed chance! We hope you choose to stay with us in the future, and enjoy all your future experiences with Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the proximity to Damascus. Both me and my husband were very happy that I did. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was wonderfully comfortable! Also the water pressure was heaven. The pool felt great too (as it was 95 degrees outside.) The restaurants were nearby and having access to RT 81 was excellant! Absolutly no complaints! I will book there in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Ruth E P,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel was clean, the staff was courteous, and the breakfast was priced right! The beds were a different story, they were awful. My wife commented they were like a canoe, we both wound up in the middle. Highway noise is an issue on the 3rd floor.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Staple15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your bedding and would love the opportunity to speak with you and get more details regarding this issue--we strive to correct any problems our guests encounter during their stay and if we have bedding that needs to be replaced we will be happy to do so. Please feel free to call the hotel directly so that we might inspect the room in question and correct this issue for future guests.
We certainly hope you will return to stay with us in the future and appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Everything about this hotel gave me mixed feelings. Our check -in was pretty slow. I believe the gentleman checking us in may have been new, but he was pleasant and we were patient. However, off to the other end of the counter a senior staff member was having a loud conversation with another cutomer about pet fees. This staff member was rather rude to the older ladies ( who stated several times they were repeat customers) he was dealing with and I should have never heard this conversation, in fact it probably should have never taken place.
We had a smoking room that did have a lingering stale odor. The hallways and common areas had no smell of smoke,pets or must. The stairwells were in need of some attention but nothing gross.
Bathroom did have poor lighting as others have stated but did have a wall to wall counter and shower was ok and clean. Beds were a little firm but the bedding was modern and clean. One thing I really do like is that the windows opened. Its was fairly large and nice to open in the evening- but this same rude staff member walked by our room (we were on first floor) at least 4 or 5 times and he looked in!!! Not stared in or anything but he had no reason to look our way, felt kinda invasive. Does have an outdoor pool which we did not use. Overall felt safe in room and parking lot. Probably not up to HIE standards but the room really was not that bad. Could hear the side exit door open/close in our room. Others further away may be quiter. I see some really bad reviews and some good ones. I would tell you to ask to see your room first and make your decision then. If you don't like it there is another hotel right next to it. The Huddle House is across the parking lot- we ate there and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: We were by the stairwell and side entrance and we could hear the door a lot.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for the recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We appreciate your input and value your comments as a useful tool to improve the experience of all future guests. We are happy to report that we are currently working to improve our bathroom lighting, based on feedback like yours.
We apologize for the encounter you had at the front desk and management would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding the details.
We pride ourselves on our service and professionalism and if a team member fails to provide either then we take the opportunity to improve our training and coaching methods.
We certainly hope that you will stay with us again in the future and please feel free to call and speak with management prior to booking---we will make sure that the issues you cited will be corrected before your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a comfortable room with double beds. The room was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. Very convenient if you are in town for the Virginia Creeper trail. The bathroom was clean, but the lighting was terrible. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express. The hostess was very friendly and carried on conversations with many of the guest. Beware, if you are a late sleeper, the hotel is located directly beside a 84 Lumber. You can hear the sound of forklifts early in the morning working on the lumberyard. The view out the window is also of the lumberyard. It did not bother us, but could be annoying if you like a nice and quiet place.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms not facing the lumberyard out back.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for the recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very pleased that your room was comfortable and you enjoyed your time at breakfast.
We are happy to report that, based on feedback like yours, we are currently working to improve our bathroom lighting.
Again, thank you for your input and kind words. We hope to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews