We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Avg service, below Avg beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Above Avg service, below Avg beds”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff was courteous, and the breakfast was priced right! The beds were a different story, they were awful. My wife commented they were like a canoe, we both wound up in the middle. Highway noise is an issue on the 3rd floor.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Staple15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your bedding and would love the opportunity to speak with you and get more details regarding this issue--we strive to correct any problems our guests encounter during their stay and if we have bedding that needs to be replaced we will be happy to do so. Please feel free to call the hotel directly so that we might inspect the room in question and correct this issue for future guests.
We certainly hope you will return to stay with us in the future and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    99
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
95
125
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Everything about this hotel gave me mixed feelings. Our check -in was pretty slow. I believe the gentleman checking us in may have been new, but he was pleasant and we were patient. However, off to the other end of the counter a senior staff member was having a loud conversation with another cutomer about pet fees. This staff member was rather rude to the older ladies ( who stated several times they were repeat customers) he was dealing with and I should have never heard this conversation, in fact it probably should have never taken place.
We had a smoking room that did have a lingering stale odor. The hallways and common areas had no smell of smoke,pets or must. The stairwells were in need of some attention but nothing gross.
Bathroom did have poor lighting as others have stated but did have a wall to wall counter and shower was ok and clean. Beds were a little firm but the bedding was modern and clean. One thing I really do like is that the windows opened. Its was fairly large and nice to open in the evening- but this same rude staff member walked by our room (we were on first floor) at least 4 or 5 times and he looked in!!! Not stared in or anything but he had no reason to look our way, felt kinda invasive. Does have an outdoor pool which we did not use. Overall felt safe in room and parking lot. Probably not up to HIE standards but the room really was not that bad. Could hear the side exit door open/close in our room. Others further away may be quiter. I see some really bad reviews and some good ones. I would tell you to ask to see your room first and make your decision then. If you don't like it there is another hotel right next to it. The Huddle House is across the parking lot- we ate there and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: We were by the stairwell and side entrance and we could hear the door a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We appreciate your input and value your comments as a useful tool to improve the experience of all future guests. We are happy to report that we are currently working to improve our bathroom lighting, based on feedback like yours.
We apologize for the encounter you had at the front desk and management would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding the details.
We pride ourselves on our service and professionalism and if a team member fails to provide either then we take the opportunity to improve our training and coaching methods.
We certainly hope that you will stay with us again in the future and please feel free to call and speak with management prior to booking---we will make sure that the issues you cited will be corrected before your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a comfortable room with double beds. The room was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. Very convenient if you are in town for the Virginia Creeper trail. The bathroom was clean, but the lighting was terrible. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express. The hostess was very friendly and carried on conversations with many of the guest. Beware, if you are a late sleeper, the hotel is located directly beside a 84 Lumber. You can hear the sound of forklifts early in the morning working on the lumberyard. The view out the window is also of the lumberyard. It did not bother us, but could be annoying if you like a nice and quiet place.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms not facing the lumberyard out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very pleased that your room was comfortable and you enjoyed your time at breakfast.
We are happy to report that, based on feedback like yours, we are currently working to improve our bathroom lighting.
Again, thank you for your input and kind words. We hope to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This has to have been the worst HI Express we ever stayed at and we have stayed at well over 100 express' in the last few years.

We were hit with the idor of stale smoke as we walked in to check in. When asking if it was a smoke free hotel, we learned that it isn't. There was no choice or we would not have checked in. It only got worse the hall floor leading to our room buckled in several places, carpeting was worn and filthy. The rooms was awful, old, dark and a place given a choice I would have left without unpacking.


I asked the front desk person, how old this express was, 18 years and didn't appear to have ever been upgraded, which he in not so many words confirmed.

KEEP DRIVING AWAY FROM THIS EXPRESS IT IS TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than pleasant and management would have liked the opportunity to speak with your about these issues while you were staying with us.
It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and that all of our staff members are attentive and professional.
We are happy to report that we will be converting to complete non-smoking status in October 2012. Additionally, we were fully renovated in 2009 and the staff member your encountered should have had the knowledge to convey this...we are sorry that he failed to do so and we will take this as a training opportunity for all of our team members.
It is our understanding that you did not speak to management while you were here. We encourage you to do so whenever you encounter problems in your travels. We aim to correct all guest issues as soon as we are made aware of them. We would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay---please feel free to call management at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Standard king-size room; about what I expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The bathroom lighting was terrible--very dark, but the bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable. This is a pet-friendly hotel, but we asked for a "non-pet, non-smoking" room and had no issues with smells or allergies. We used the stairs instead of the elevator; the stairway was a bit smelly (mold? smoke? dogs? not sure) but not terrible. Breakfast was also about standard fare for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driveslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear driveslots,

I appreciate you taking the time to tell us both the positives and the negatives you experienced during your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and the feedback we receive from valued guests, like you, is our best resource for improving our hotel.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, FL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel, located right off the interstate was a nice place to stay. The room was very large and clean. Breakfast was served in the morning, it tasted great and came with great service. We traveled with our small dog and had a great time and no hassle. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Not so sure you need to spend extra on the "Luxury King"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enessgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We appreciate your kind words and are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay.
We hope that you will return to stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in jacuzzi room and it was very spacious, clean, and quiet. Had problem with smoke detector (low battery), which was quickly handled. This was perfect since we never get away and it was so close to the Virginia Creeper. No problem with me bringing my bike in the room. Thought the price was wonderful for such a large room. Not top notch, but worth the price. We will be back when we bike the Creeper again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found your Jacuzzi room to be spacious and comfortable. It is encouraging to hear that the problem you encountered with your smoke detector was handled quickly. It is our goal to address any problems our guests may have quickly, and in a friendly and professional manner.
We hope you will stay with us again soon and our Guest Services staff will be happy to recommend additional attractions while you are here visiting the Virginia Creeper Trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
180 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Address: 940 East Main Street, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Abingdon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing