We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Combination of Nostalgia and Tasty Sandwiches”

Ellis Soda Shoppe and Grill
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Combination of Nostalgia and Tasty Sandwiches”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A cute little soda and sandwich shop in a renovated pharmacy. Much of the history and flavor or old-time pharmacy, soda and ice cream shop combination is preserved in the decor and displays. A nice selection of sandwiches and ice cream deserts. A good choice for a quick casual lunch. Bright and cheery, it brings back memories for those of us who were around in the 50s. Not an exceptional meal but a nice experience. We've eaten here a couple of times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    57
    25
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We're vegetarians, and they had several vegetarian choices, which was great! They have a grilled cheese with lettuce, tomato, and an apple slice that was just perfect! They also have a veggie wrap that was quite tasty. Service was wonderful and the place was charming. The place is not "fancy," which pleased our teen sons. The menu is varied enough so everyone could find something they liked. Our dinner was perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed Ellis Soda Shoppe & Grill!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tccampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food among the memorabilia”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My grandfather and my husband's were both pharmacists so we really enjoyed all of the memorabilia lining the walls. It really sets the tone for this small town tribute to mom and pop pharmacies.

The food was good too. My girls and I enjoyed the french dip w/ french onion soup and my youngest devoured a burger. My husband was not as happy with his grilled chicken parmesan sandwich. He felt it was uneven. The ice cream was delicious too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ellis Soda Shop Okay”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Most of the food is good or better. Service tends to be slow and the prices for fountain specials are too high.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a bit of history in Abingdon”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

nice place to stop for lunch food average prices fair old drug store makes nice stop for tourists Harold Ellis was one of a kind a very nice person and a great drugist he had a lot of friends

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellis Soda Shoppe and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ellis Soda Shoppe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing