We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Abingdon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Abingdon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Abingdon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
370
139
43
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
370
139
43
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtshot tubfront porchsisters restaurantbarter theaterthe salt water poolfourth floorcomplimentary porthistoric hotelport wineminiature golf coursefire pitindoor poolresort feeputt puttcivil warmodern amenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 587 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

A little off the beaten path but well worth the journey!!! This National Registry Historic Inn is truly charming and quaint offering traditional Southern Hospitality. Well cared for with beautiful original Art and Antiques, this lovely Inn afforded a relaxing and romantic reprieve from our busy schedule which included many meetings and events after a long day's drive. The parlors and common areas are most inviting. Be sure to spend some time in the Library perhaps while enjoying your complimentary glass of Port each evening ... a very nice touch. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, each a little different. The main floor George Washington Wing was exceptionally quiet. Southwest Virginia is unique to the Commonwealth with so much to explore. Look forward to a return visit when we have more time to take advantage of the many amenities of "The Martha!"

Room Tip: Our room was one of the largest but the bathroom configuration had a bit to be desired. Scrutinize your options.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

One of the best places my wife and I have ever stayed. We paired the visit with a trip to the Barter Theater, right next door. We had a wonderful, elegant suite, enjoyed the exquisite spa and couples massage (highly recommended when you visit), had a great dinner at their resturant and just enjoyed the entire weekend and the lovely town of Abingdon. Spend some time in the library in the evenings to enjoy an after dinner drink and the atmosphere. A wonderful place for special occassions.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ball room area. It's a great place to host a wedding reception, etc., and the noise may keep you awake.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just returned from spending two nights at this lovely old hotel. The positives were its location within walking distance of great shops and the Barter Theatre in Abingdon. The spa was fantastic with very professional massages and pedicures. The swimming pool and outdoor hot tub were beautifully maintained. The negatives were the free breakfast which was dreadful. It would be so much better to have no breakfast included in the price. Offering sugar cereal and tiny dry biscuits with chopped fruit does not constitute a breakfast in a luxury hotel. A higher quality port served in the library would make the experience of sitting in the library and sipping on port so much more appealing. At checkout there was confusion over the billing of the spa treatment. We were asked to wait until the spa opened and go back to check on the bill after being told that someone who we did not know had paid our bill. This was not handled as well as we would have expected. Overall we enjoyed our stay at The Martha but hope that they make improvements in their breakfast and coordinating hotel and spa billing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say, this has been one of the best hotel experiences of my life. The staff accommodated our last minute reservation, set up a shuttle to take us and our bikes up to the top of the mountain shortly after we arrived and even left us with a phone number in case we decided not to do all 35 miles. We had a wonderful king room - water and snacks in the room, very comfortable bed. breakfast in the sisters restaurant was delicious. We are only disappointed our stay wasn't longer so we could use the pool, spa and gym. We will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank constantraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Historic, beautiful, and stop-worthy! From the front entrance with huge, working fireplace to the elegant library, to the heated saline pool, this was a wonderful place to stay. I hadn't been to Abingdon since I was a little girl, so I was so hoping it would be good. Our room was elegant and very well appointed. The staff was perfect in every way.I can't imagine a more perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: 305 was perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parasailer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews