We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money. You'd be better off at Holiday Inn Express.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Sparta, North Carolina
1 review
“Don't waste your money. You'd be better off at Holiday Inn Express.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Poor service, poor service. What more can I say. We'd have been better off at the Holiday Inn. Lack- luster staff, facility poorly maintained, grounds/building in disrepair. WAY over- priced. I could go on and on. For $275/night treat yourself to a place that takes pride in servicing its customers and shows off its wares. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherLowe, General Manager at The Martha Washington Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing stay, as you can see from previous posts we enjoy some very good stay experiences and wish to continue that tradition, please reach me directly at 276-619-5260 as I would like to hear about all your observations from your stay and make the appropriate adjustments.

Sincerely

Christopher Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    122
    38
    21
    10
See reviews for
105
268
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This property is one of my favorite places in the world! I have stayed many times throughout the year. Business is how I ended up coming to the Martha and I am so glad, as I may have never happened upon this beautiful, charming, historic property. The town is filled with the same charm and the towns people are simply amazing. The scenery is breath taking with the mountains and valleys! Amazing as well is the choices of restaurants and shops in town. Check this hotel out- once is all you will need to make it a repeater destination!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I had been wanting to stay here for a while and after changing my plans at the last minute they got me right in and I was so excited.
Take the time to learn about this history about the Martha. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms do need some tlc but this is to be expected of older properties .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with a stay at The Martha Washington. This Inn has been around for a very long time and its history is detailed in the lobby. However, everything in this hotel is state of the art. The spa areas have everything you could wish for (according to my wife), and the service at the Inn is top-notch. We received everything we asked for, and more, quickly and with a friendly attitude. That attitude started from our first moments checking in. No lines, no hassle. We were simply greeted by a friendly professional staff that met all our needs and asked to do more.
Our stay was on the 4th floor. Upon opening the door we were greeted by a very spacious room with a great view of the mountains and the bathroom showers are to die for. History, Elegance, and comfort…this place as it all. Will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Room 405 has a great view of the mountains. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about the staff. Simply wonderful. Courteous, efficient and so willing to see that you have an enjoyable visit. We did not have reservations but were very pleased with our rate and accommodations.

Monday the Resturant is closed but we had a very nice appetizer along with wine in the bar.

Enjoyed their complementary glass of port and enjoyed drinking it sitting in front of the fireplace in the library.

It truly is a grand old house but as such it does lack the modern conveniences expected at the newer accommodations like USB ports and convenient outlets. It does have WIFI and the whole town is wired with wifi.

It is conveniently located by shops restaurants, attractions.

Be sure and drive through the Sinking Springs Cemetery. One of the oldest in Virginia.

We certainly will return to ABINGDON and hope to stay at the Martha Washington Hotel and Spa.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Rec. by friends, we stayed here en route to biltmore estate (a bust). Lovely room, clean, very quiet, had full breakfast. Very good breakfast. Had fun with the late night port in library. Didn't try spa, rarely do on vacations, have my own favorites. Lovely, older hotel. Would return for a girlfriend stay to try spa.

Didn't do theatre, although it seems popular.

Ate dinner out b/c on Mondays just have pub fare. Went to German restaurant up the street. Mixed reviews by our group.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip42Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It must be difficult for hotels like The Martha Washington. They are competing with chain hotels that can offer rooms at at least half the price. Yet a magnificent building like this with great spa facilities must be very expensive to maintain. They therefore have to charge a premium. For that extra money you get a really well located hotel right on the High Street. You also get some super period rooms. The library where we drank a very nice glass of port was particularly impressive.

By way of contrast, our room was badly maintained with chipped paintwork and half the light bulbs not working. The rug on the floor was old and ripped. It was, at our request, moved but there was no attempt made to clear away the dirt underneath. A fold-up bed was left outside our room all evening and night.

Breakfast was also disappointing. A polystyrene cup of coffee, melon and some tiny muffins is not what you expect from a hotel charging these sorts of rates. This is one of the worst 'continental breakfasts' I have eaten.

Should you stay here? If you are just spending a night during a road trip and do not want to use the spa facilities, look elsewhere. You will get a better quality room and a decent breakfast for a lot less. If you have the time to make use of the facilities this could be worth a try but go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
463 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
181 reviews
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
416 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Property: The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing