We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

What a great getaway. We stayed 3 nights and my only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer! We were greeted by an enthusiastic staff including a valet, bellman and front desk clerk that made check-in a breeze. Our newly renovated room was ready, quiet, clean and gorgeous. The king size bed was soft, warm and covered with inviting pillows. The bathroom was spacious and equipped with dual shower heads that provided an unexpected level of comfort and luxury. The “his and hers” robes were a nice amenity and “aveda” brand soaps and shampoos were a lovely touch that made an impression on us.

The staff was helpful in making reservations at the nearby theatre where we saw a great rendition of a “Christmas Carole”. During our stay we also enjoyed a couple’s massage that truly exceeded our expectations. The workout area was nicely equipped and the bottled water was a nice touch. The pool area and hot tubs were lovely and had great views. Overall, our spa experience was excellent.

Lastly, I must comment on the restaurants; the food and staff were phenomenal. We ate all of meals except one in the hotel and were overwhelmed by quality and spirited staff. After dinner each night, we had a glass of port in the library by the fire – a nice touch indeed!

I highly recommend the Martha Washington Inn.

Room Tip: The front desk clerk knew every room in the house and can advise you. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CvilleVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    119
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
100
251
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I were married 26 years ago, and spent our wedding night in what was then the Bridal Suite, now it is called the Barter Suite. I made the trip from Knoxville, TN to make the reservation to book the same room for our anniverisy. I had called erlier and talked to Carroll, and also booked the suite with her upon my visit.

When we arrived, we were told that there was a plumbing issue with the room, and we were having to be moved. We accepted, and moved. THEN ON THE WAY BACK FRO THE PLAY FRom THE BARTER, we saw people in the room that we booked and paid for. the next morning, we obsered a man drinking coffee, ans smokiking a cigetette on the private balcony.

When we checked out, and commented on our concerns, we were then told that a electrial problem was the problem!! This is a far cry from from a plumbing problem. I am an electrical, plumbing, mechanial contractor.

I feel that I spent close to 1K for two days at your inn, that could have been spent on another cruise. We will never spend another night at your Inn. I wll not deal with lying to my clients by my staff to any client, but, I KNOW I was lied to.
Jim Hopson

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Oh so close to being better than average. This hotel and spa can be likened to a football team that does well getting to the goal line but lacks the enthusiasm, talent and desire to score. Maintenance issues with the building and grounds, a somewhat blase check in and valet staff, and a expensive dining room menu. Having said this, however, the hotel has the charm only found in a historic property with antiques, art work etc. that allows for a step back in time. Being across the street from The Barter Theatre is a plus as is the proximity to other attractions and restaurants along Main Street and the historic district.

Room Tip: Spend the few dollars to upgrade to a Delux King and attempt to avoid having children in the room ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We not only stayed in this hotel but hosted our wedding reception here. This inn is top notch. We stayed in a guest room (222) one night and moved to the Governor's Suite (300) on our wedding night. Both rooms were fantastic, but if you can afford the suite, stay in it! I felt like a queen in it and would have moved in if they'd have let me. The service received from the staff was fabulous. The inn itself is well-maintained with lots of character. When they say they balance the old with the new, they do. The food there is wonderful, both in the restaurant, deli, and what was served at our reception. We used the spa services as well for hair, nails, etc. and were pleased. Love, love, love this inn!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiahighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel merits a five-star rating, rather than a four, just because of the marvelous restoration work done to bring this fine, old complex of buildings back to vigorous life. But there's more, of course: spacious, well-appointed rooms; an extremely friendly and helpful staff; a surprisingly good pair of weight/exercise rooms; a fine pool; a spa that my wife found to be a pleasant surprise, given its location in "remote" southwestern Virginia; and a general sense of time and place that just works. We stayed in a deluxe room--and would do so again (well worth the nightly rate). If you're headed to Abingdon, really, this is by far the best choice you could make--because of the hotel itself; because of its perfect location catty-corner from the Barter Theater (which does startlingly good productions) and because it's just a few blocks from the town's best restaurants--which are very good, indeed. Speaking of restaurants, though, we did not eat at "Sisters" in the hotel for dinner. A so-so in-house breakfast, weak service, weaker coffee and the restaurant's unfortunate 1970s Holiday Inn decor sent us elsewhere--so the five stars is for the hotel, not the restaurant (we ate at The Tavern and at The House on Main, both of which were excellent, if in very different ways). And speaking of decor, our only complaint about the hotel's refurbishment is the bizarre mix of quality historical prints, photos and documents on the walls in the main-floor corridors with, in the upstairs corridors, some of the worst faux "paintings" I've ever encountered outside of a trailer-court yard-sale (and the very worst "art" was in the restaurant--discount-furniture-mart junk that went beyond visually annoying to downright offensive to the senses). I except The Library, a wonderful off-the-lobby room, from all such criticism. Yes, I'm being picky--specifically because I gave this otherwise-excellent hotel five stars--and would like to see the owners introduce some less-tacky art work in the hallways...a small thing, but it does detract from the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Spring for a deluxe room--and carve out at least a little time to sit on the grand verandah in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I just spent a long weekend at the Spa. The hotel is lovely, the staff was great and the location couldn't be better - easy to walk around town and close enough to drive to some of the more scenic areas. My only complaint (otherwise I would have given the hotel a 5), was the Spa. I had booked a reservation for myself and friend (who was getting married) in the Spa, when we showed up an error had been made with the scheduling - they recorded the wrong date. I was surprised and disappointed at the lack of customer focus - the staff was unwilling to acknowledge an error had been made or try to remedy the situation. Fortunately for us, the Mane Street Day Spa just down the road was more than willing to accomodate us as walk-ins. As we told the staff at the Inn, we were more than happy to spend our money elsewhere and were pleased with how accomodating the Mane Street Spa was.

As I checked out four days later I was asked about my visit, I explained how much we enjoyed staying at the Inn with the exception of the Spa - the receptionist was upset and asked what could be done - my comment was that I appreciated her attempt to remedy the situation, but the Spa had four days to ask the same question. Sadly, they never did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
283 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The facility is beautiful and well preserved.... the front porch being one of the areas to enjoy.

The restaurant service at dinner and breakfast was just average for sure.... maybe we just expected more. Not inexpensive either...

Room Tip: some rooms are small... so ask to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmwbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Property: The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing