We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quimby Country Lodge & Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Averill
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buck Rub Lodge(Pittsburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepins Motel(Newport)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
50
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanadian borderget awaysecond homeyear after yearother guestsnew englandnortheast kingdomlobster bakefishing campmooseporchweddinglaketraditionfallvermontinternet
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Quimby Country is the perfect refined rustic quintessential Vermont getaway and proved to be one of the best venues in Vermont for a weekend wedding celebration. The location is perfect for fun with family and friends- with activities to suit everyone. From the start of planning the wedding Ray, Kealy and the rest of the staff were great- helping to make the weekend come off seamlessly and the guests enjoy the weekend. Chef Steve created wonderful menus for the entire weekend and the food was amazing- even the foodies raved about it! We're already looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are clean and quaint. Simple but very comfortable and cute.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scratchkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Quimby Country with our 4 yr old, 2 yr old, and two dogs. What else can we say except it was paradise. The meals were great, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and our kids and dogs had the times of their lives (as did we!). In a lot of ways, going to Quimby is like going back in time - kids have fun building pinatas and terrariums and adults relax with wine and friendly conversation. When our kids went to bed, my husband and I played board games while drinking beers and watching the sun set over Forest Lake. Keelie, the wonderful counselor, was so great with all the kids (especially our little motor mouth) and she kept them busy with fun and imaginative activities. The other guests were really friendly and went out of their way to make us feel like we had been going to Quimby for years.

This is a great place if you have kids and especially great if you want to find a place for kids AND dogs. It is wise to bring some "resort casual" attire for evenings, especially the cocktail hour on Sunday.

We booked for 2013 before we left. I agree with other reviewers who said there is no place like it. It took me back to my own family vacations as a kid, hiking and swimming during the day, working on puzzles and board games as a family in the evening, and watching our kids enjoy the sheer joy of youth and freedom. I recommend this place to anyone.

Thank you to all the staff (especially Andrea and Courtney in the dining room) for making us feel so at home! And thank you to the resident dogs Cowboy and Sam for letting our daughter crawl and climb all over y'all and put her fingers in your mouth. She really enjoyed that :)

Room Tip: Those with small kids will really benefit from proximity to the play ground.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinivanWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to Quimby Country for my brother's wedding and it was fabulous. The drive there was an introduction to how beautiful and peaceful it was going to be. Ray and Kili were incredibly kind and welcoming to our large family and the many dogs that came along. They were always happy to help with anything that we needed and made us all feel right at home. The cottages were clean and well maintained. The lodge was adequately stocked with games, books, toys for the kids, but most often the kids were in the lake or fishing on the dock. The food was so good and coffee was already at sunrise in the lodge. Sitting on the porches was our favorite thing to do. I strongly encourage anyone looking for some place in the Northeast Kingdom to try this place. It is a great place for a family to be together.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at Quimby. We had a small, simple cabin for two near the lodge, which was very comfortable. Other cabins are larger, many with kitchenettes, and accommodate families. We chose the european meal plan and had breakfast and dinner at the lodge. On fridays, weather permitting, they have an all-you-can-eat lobster buffet next to the lake, which came with a beautiful sunset. Quimby also provides kayaks, canoes, and has a tennis court and raquets. They have walking trails on the property that get you to beaches for swimming and are very helpful in directing you to other places for outdoor fun in the area. If you've ever been to camp and loved the experience, you'll love Quimby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southendgirl05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We wanted to have a wedding at a place where as much of the family could join us as possible -- and also not have to worry about finding restaurants for 40 people, etc... A friend recommended Quimby's and we completely loved every part of the long weekend. Ray, the manager, was helpful, gracious and completely professional. We were in the middle of lots of moving activities, and had to leave the details to Quimby's. Kenn, a planner with much experience, helped make sure that everything was impeccably done from start to finish. Our whole family got to spend time together for the long weekend - canoeing, playing cards, dancing and just generally having a blast. Everyone enjoyed themselves and they're already planning other possible trips there for the future. I wish we could give them 6 stars!

Room Tip: We stayed in Dusty Miller - very nice cabin. Everyone else enjoyed theirs too.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mms_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews