We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Covered Bridge Green
Ranked #6 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in October '09. It was truly the highlight of our New England honeymoon. We loved the history of the home and enjoyed exploring Rockwell's studio. Our room was in the attic of the main house, which is much more charming than it sounds. Lol. It featured a dual-sided fireplace and spa-jet clawfoot tub: the perfect way to warm up after a chilly day leaf-peeping! Our only concern was the loud noise of the jet tub, but mostly because we did not want to disturb the other guests.

The owners, Clint and Julia, treated us like family. They told great stories (including how they came to own the inn) and went above and beyond for us (even drying some of our clothes in their laundry room!)

The breakfasts were delicious and drinks/treats were available throughout the day. During our stay, we learned that the majority of the other travelers were repeat guests of the inn, which is a testament in itself. We hope to join that rank ourselves someday.

Even if this B&B didn't have such a famed heritage, I would wholeheartedly recommend it as a not-to-miss stop on your Vermont getaway. It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

We shared the Norman Rockwell studio with my sister and brother in law whilst touring New England and my first impressions were very good. It feels really special to be able to stay in the actual studio where Rockwell worked with some of the artefacts of the period still present, e.g. a huge old wooden sled now used as a coffee table. The many photographs of him in the studio and prints of his work throughout the building make it a magical experience for any fan or even anyone keen on history such as myself.
The innkeepers are very pleasant but Clint is so laid back he is almost horizontal! Nothing fazes him and he takes his time to do anything - especially breakfast. Despite asking what everyone wanted for breakfast the next morning and stating a specific time for it he still had to ask again when everyone was seated and after some conversation with everyone he set off to prepare breakfast which took another 20 minutes or so. It was tasty enough when it arrived but after selecting the earliest breakfast time ahead of a long journey a speedier service would have been appreciated. It probably did not help that all the guests wanted an early breakfast that morning.
My wife and I had the upstairs bedroom and were perfectly satisfied with its cleanliness and comfort. However my sister and brother in law had the bedroom off the kitchen area and were disturbed by mice and chased from their room by wasps. When Clint was informed he admitted they had had such problems in the past and would do something about it when we moved out later that morning. This soured our experience of the studio and would definitely have stopped us staying there if we had been aware of the problem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We love the Inn. Even in the dead of winter, the place is beautiful and the innkeepers Clint and Julia are fantastic. We are big Norman Rockwell fans and to be in his studio standing in the place that he painted was awesome (there are pictures of him painting on the walls, so you can literally see where he painted at and stand in that spot or at the original fireplace). We stayed on the ground level room, there were rooms upstairs and the studio that were available. Our room was nicely decorated, clean, very large for 2 people and had a gas fireplace to keep us cozy. It is part of the main house, which all guests have access to (and is separate from the innkeepers) which is nice because we were able to sit in the main room with a wood fireplace and relax in the evenings. The breakfast was unbelievable – we hardly needed to eat the rest of the day because the food was so good and plentiful. We will definitely go back, don’t miss visiting this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddythecatNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We visited the Inn on Covered Bridge for the first time in 2002 and have since been back four more times. Norman Rockwell is my wife's favorite artist, so getting to stay in his home was just icing on the cake. We travel extensively and stay almost exclusively in B&Bs. Since retiring, we have stayed in over 200 inns and B&Bs in the lower 48. We can unequivocally state that ICB is our favorite place to stay in the entire country. The house, the history, the ambiance and the natural beauty are unparalleled at any other venue, period. The warm hospitality and delicious breakfasts offered by Clint and Julia complete the experience. They are indeed two special people who love what they do and who do it exceptionally well. In the last seven years they have truly become friends and not merely our hosts. All of our prior visits have been in the summer or fall, but we have already made plans to return in December of 2010 in order to enjoy the Christmas season (and hopefully snow) at this special, special place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed for 5 days in the Studio - a fantastic experience. The building just oozes both charm and history, it's really amazing to see photographs of Rockwell painting in the very spot where you are sitting enjoying an evening beer!
Clint and Julia are two of the nicest people that we have met in many, many years of international travel, and obviously have a natural passion for their role as innkeepers.
Our only tip would be to breakfast early, for two reasons - firstly the vast portions of great food available, and secondly once you've started chatting with Clint, before you know half the morning's gone. We dined at Jonthan's Table - excellent , and the Arlington Inn (ok but not exceptional) We will certainly return

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank warmwaterdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We really enjoyed the picturesque setting of this former Norman Rockwell home. The breakfast was delicious and the house was charming. We stayed in the first floor room. The tub was wonderful but if you don't take your bath first, there isn't any hot water. The bed was a little cramped and the maid needs to clean up the cobwebs around the room.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

In a word, Terrific.

Clint and Julia are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. The grounds are amazing, the food is outstanding and the accommodations wonderful. We came and stayed for a portion of our honeymoon while touring New England and we were not disappointed. I cannot recommend this establishment enough. Go and enjoy, arrive as guests and leave as family, I know we did.

Check out the photos....

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProtectionGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
11.5 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
678 reviews
12.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
152 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Green River Inn
Green River Inn
#1 of 1 in Sandgate
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Covered Bridge Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Covered Bridge Green

Address: 3587 River Rd, Arlington, VT 05250-8567
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: $133 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on Covered Bridge Green 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont inn that was Normal Rockwell's former residence. Beautiful rooms with suites and spa tubs. Winter rates apply . We have fireplaces in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on Covered Bridge Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Covered Bridge Green Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing