We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Excellent Stay in an Inn Where I Have So Many Fond Memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson
1 review
“Another Excellent Stay in an Inn Where I Have So Many Fond Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is our second visit to a place where I learned to ski as a child. West Mountain Inn is located in an idyllic New England Village where everyone is social and helpful. We found the Inn Keeper and her staff to be very pleasant, helpful, professional and interested in our well-being. We stayed in the Robert Frost Room and found it to be very accommodating, well appointed and cozy.

My wife and I are truly looking forward to our third adventure at West Mountain Inn and points of interests in southern Vermont.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zonaretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    55
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
201
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

How fortunate we were to happen upon this welcome site! Staff always accommodating. Every room unique. Unsurpassed views. Fabulous, fabulous food for both breakfast and lunch. Our third time here and will not be our last. Simply a favorite!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren3378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

My wife and I returned to the West Mountain Inn in advance of the Memorial Day holiday weekend. We were lured by the 'Orvis Tent Sale' special package that Amy put together.

We were not disappointed - fantastic meals, a beautiful, comfortable roome, and service beyond compare. When we inquired about the possibilities of renting bikes and kayaks, Amy produced a brochure and indicated the proprietors would deliver both bikes and kayaks right to our door! We had such a great time, and I did not mind getting tossed into the Battenkill...

We will be back whenever we can!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

A quiet, restful stay from the moment we arrived on Memorial Day weekend, checking in with the friendly staff and lounging on Adirondack chairs, admiring the view of the Green Mountains in absolute peace. Even with a wedding the next day, we experienced calm and solitude at the Mill House townhouse. The proprietors encouraged our children to feed the alpacas, pointed them to the frogpond and playroom stocked with board games, and gave us a perfect recommendation for a family bike outing, along River Road parallel to Batten Kill to a covered bridge. Dinner at the inn: tuna and steak entrees, scallop and crabcake appetizers, fresh local salad were all delicious (though we would order the entrees closer to rare than medium next time). Breakfast was even better: fresh baked cinnamon buns, very fresh fruit, great coffee, a choice of robust dishes. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staticlinejump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

If you are looking to get away from the chaos of the big city, look no further. The West Mountain Inn in Arlington is full of charm and the staff makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive.

Sara's room is located on the rear of the farm house and has an exterior door that open to back of the property.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormcrow2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Our stay at West Mountain Inn was everything a relaxing getaway should be, and more! The common rooms invite you to just sit and relax with a book, board game, or glass of wine. Our spacious room had beautiful views of the grounds and mountains in the distance, charming decor, cozy fireplace, and a romantic canopy bed. Breakfast was delicious, featuring local products and lots of menu choices. But best of all was the gracious hospitality of Amie and her staff ~ thank you for making our stay exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerBearVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

This was our third visit to the West Mountain Inn, and we love it more each time. We go for several days in February ostensibly to enjoy the area's winter sports, but it's the relaxing charms of the Inn that keep luring us back. Each day, we wake up in a beautiful room with spectacular views, then go down for mugs of coffee in front of the fire in the main room. After sumptuous breakfasts in the dining room, we go back to the fire or maybe the sunny library off the main room to read while soft classical music plays in the background. We eventually pull ourselves away for those winter sports we supposedly came for, but we hurry back later in the day for tea and cookies in front of the fire. After some locally produced cheese and a glass of wine or single-malt scotch from the bar, we're ready for the 5-course dinners which would be the highlight of any other day which hadn't been so special from beginning to end.

Would we recommend it? Well, to be honest, we'd like to keep it just to ourselves. However, Aimee Carlson and her wonderful staff deserve the business, so go and experience it for yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_and_Deb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
13.4 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
12.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bennington
BEST WESTERN Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Property: West Mountain Inn
Address: 144 Mountain View Dr, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing