We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 days at West Mountain Inn, taking advantage of a Groupon deal. I'll admit, it was my first ever Groupon purchase and I'm also not much of an Inn / B&B person but it was 2 days without the kids and we're familiar with the Manchester / Arlington area so why not. I was expecting a ton of restrictions because of the Groupon but that absolutely wasn't the case. Date restrictions were minimal and we stayed Sunday - Tuesday. The majority of rooms were among the choices and the deal also included a $40 dinner credit (essentially BOGO one of the nights) and breakfast each day. The only things that weren't included were beverages from the bar and meal taxes/gratuities. The room (# 12) was just what we were looking for. A surprisingly spacious room with a comfortable king bed (2 twins together but you wouldn't notice if they didn't tell you in the room description online), nice sitting area and a private deck with 2 rockers overlooking the woods. The dinner we had on our first night was one of the best I've had in a long time. Breakfast was excellent albeit very filling. The common areas of the inn are warm and inviting with plenty of reading options, table games, comfy couches and chairs, a nice little bar and even a TV in case you can't bear being without one any longer. Inn staff are all welcoming and friendly but never intrusive. It was hot and humid when we arrived and they had already turned on the AC unit in our room which was a nice touch. They seem to have individual thermostats in each room which is probably very helpful in the winter. The proximity to Manchester, Bennington and the surrounding areas make it easy to find things to do. We're looking forward to going back soon although if it's in the winter, we'll have to rent or borrow a 4WD because I don't trust my 4 cyl. Honda to get up that driveway even with sand, salt and dirt on it.

Room Tip: The online descriptions and pictures of the rooms seem accurate. If you're not sure, give them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I95FamilyTruckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    56
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
93
212
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West Mountain Inn for two days for a wedding. The rooms were very spacious, comfortable, and unique. The bed was so comfortable that I never wanted to get out of it in the morning. The property itself is gorgeous and there is plenty to do both on site and in the area. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and the wedding dinner was phenomenal. I would love to go back in the fall to see the leaves and have it be cool enough to use the fireplace that was in our room.

The alpacas were an added bonus and there was an African Violet in each room as a gift to the guests.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algvred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is our 10th visit to West Mountain Inn in as many years. We love it so much we had our wedding there in 2011. If you are looking for that text book dream Bed and Breakfast that you've envisioned since you were young, this is it. Excellent Staff, Excellent Food, Excellent Establishment. One phone call with Amie and you will know why.

Room Tip: You have to try them all, each one is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been coming to the West Mountain Inn for over 12 years and are delighted to see how much Ami is doing to keep the inn refreshed yet maintaining the cozy, comfortable atmosphere that is their trademark. We took advantage of their mid-week summer special and stayed in the Grandma Moses suite which was perfect on the rainy days we experienced. We noticed updated bathrooms in rooms we had a chance to peek into and our sitting room had a comfortable sofa and set of chairs perfect for reading. We love the meals in the dining room but were happy to see an option for lighter fare is now available in the bar. As usual the staff was friendly and helpful to all our needs. Keep up the great work Ami! The West Mountain Inn continues to be our favorite place in VT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I hosted a 40th anniversary party for my parents at the West Mountain Inn and it was lovely. The grounds are beautiful, the Inn is charming, and the service was excellent. We especially loved being able to spead out in the sitting areas during the cocktail hour. The view was amazing, and the kids loved the llamas and the game room. The food was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We love the "slow" place and the rooms without tv and phones; the grounds are beautiful, especially the labyrinth garden which is conducive to meditation...the flower gardens are lovely. We took advantage of the close proximity to the batten kill river, rented knacks and paddled down the river on a very hot day. All in all, a wonderful 53rd anniversary weekend. The food, service and staff are all excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbird01106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staying in room 1 which has the most beautiful views of the property and the mountains behind will relieve anyones stress. THis is our 2nd time at the West Mountain and we have fallen in love with it the people, the inn and especially the breakfast. I recommend anyone and everyone to give it a chance, Kelly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
701 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#2 of 12 in Manchester
407 reviews
13.4 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#3 of 8 in Arlington
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Property: West Mountain Inn
Address: 144 Mountain View Dr, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing