We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant uncomplicated evening dinner”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arlington Inn Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Arlington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant uncomplicated evening dinner”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This little inn has a welcoming atmosphere and competent staff. The decor may be a bit off putting to some as it has a bit of an overly precious look and a slight odor upon entering of I believe heavy potpourri . However many will like the feel and surrounds of Vermont and the town of Arlington. Food and speed of service for dinner were well timed. Perhaps the only point is that the main courses were inconsistent in serving temperature. For example, the mixed grill meat ran from room temperature to warm. Vegetable sides were hot and appetizing. Dining room at the entrance, which is quite small with an open fire for atmosphere, was not busy so not sure why this kitchen lapse. Keeping in mind location and pricing, an overall good dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Flour-less Chocolate Tourte”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Save room, no mater what else you order for this decadent treat. The dining room is cozy, but you don't feel crammed in there and every entrée we have tried is better than the last.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomski18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thankful on Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My Lady & I made a reservation for Thanksgiving Dinner. It was Great! The servers were friendly, service was good, food was delicious, the atmosphere was warm & cozy, & the price was reasonable.

Next time we are in Vermont we will being eating here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, wonderful friendly service and a cute Inn dog in back room”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I reviewed all the local menus while at the inn we were staying at and decided to give the Arlington a try . We also made a reservation due to it being Fri night but it was never full. I don't fault a restaurant for asking you to make a reservation since they have no idea how many tourists may show up. We had wonderful stroganoff , terrific desserts and very generous glasses of wine. We would return when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Keep driving...”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

While staying at the nearby Four Chimneys Inn, and realizing they do not serve dinner during the summer months, we happened upon The Arlington. Very pretty from the outside and some good reviews on yelp. We weren't terribly hungry and figured we'd pop in for a couple of starters and a cocktail. Immediately upon walking in, there was a noticeable and nasty odor that sort of passed as soon as we walked into the dining room. The Inn is very pretty in its decor and has many nice antique touches. We popped into the little pub which actually has a wall phone with the old ear piece (circa 1040's) and other cute touches. We strolled back to the dining room and had a soup and crab cakes, respectively and took a look at the dinner menu. Note, there was only one other couple there, the place was empty and we attributed that to being a Wednesday night in the middle of July.
The appetizers were fine and the dinner menu read so well, we decided to come back the next night for dinner. Mistake. We booked a reservation (they said they are busy on Thursdays) and raced to get there on time....the place was empty. We had a waiter who kept pacing through the room, in one entrance and out the other, through the entire meal. The food was mediocre at best; I had the pork medallions, he had the hazelnut crusted chicken. Tasted like it was made at home...and not in a good way! The pork was tasteless and tough and the chicken was a thick cutlet, also bland. We each tried the other's, hoping to swap and therefore not waste the meals, but it just didn't work. Also -- the smell did hit us again when we entered the front hall. The real stinkbomb came when, as we were finishing our meal in a rush to get out of the now-creepy-because-it-was-so-empty dining room, a pregnant black cat came strolling through the dining room. Forks down!
I would not return here and recommend you go the distance and find better fare in Manchester.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tg225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlington Inn Restaurant also viewed

Arlington, Green Mountains
 
Arlington, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Arlington Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing