We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and easy going shopkeeper”
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and easy going shopkeeper”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderful spot to shop or to just relax at the picnic table. Very interesting film on Norman Rockwell's life and hundreds of prints available for sale. T-shirts, candy, VT souvenirs and all sizes of maple syrup available for sale. Free samples of VT cheddar and jams were generous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ORB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were just pulling in at 5:00 when the Shack was closing, and the owners kindly let us in anyway...what a treat! We walked out with our treasures, and some great recommendations for where else to visit while we were in town. Coming back for more later, and for Jonathon's Table, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Roadside History!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Sugar Shack was such a pleasant surprise!! The cheese was amazing and the Norman Rockwell exhibit (video too, make sure you watch it!) was fascinating! My grandfather roomed with Norman Rockwell's youngest son and it was such a joy to learn so much more about his father's work! Taking time to talk with the owners throughout the gallery was great, she was so knowledgeable and truly loved seeing people exploring the Rockwell of Arlington.

It's hard to walk out empty handed, so beware, but it's so worth it!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RhinestonePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to get your Vt. trinkets”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful roadside gift shop with a great Norman Rockwell exhibit attached to it. Stop by and check it out, you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Walt_Lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moweaqua, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love bringing my tour groups here and we enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving type meal at the restaurant attached, Jonathon's Table. There's a wonderful Norman Rockwell exhibit at The Shack and the folks are so nice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TimisTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

Arlington, Green Mountains
Arlington, Green Mountains
 
Arlington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing