We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Fast Food Kind of Place”

Chauncey's Family Dining
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not a Fast Food Kind of Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have eaten at Chauncey's a number of times. Each dish is lovingly prepared by a dedicated and experienced chef. It's sort of like dining as it was in the 60's and early 70's. You want speed, go to the Golden Arch folks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    13
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown,NJ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Agree with Brad B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have to agree with the previous review. We stopped there on a Sunday afternoon and there was just something odd about the staff. The food, when it came was OK, but it just seemed like everything was happening in slow motion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bropaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've been a couple of times. To me it seems a bit off. However, there is a pot roast special which occurs with some regularity which is quite good, and includes a dab of horseradish. I think this is quite good! Oddly it seems the staff seems as though they've been kind of as though they've been drugged down with benedryl or something... it just seems odd. Beer and wine. High diner food, and quite a bit of kitsch going on in decor. It is NOT bad, it is Not great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Take it from a local..stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have tried this local eatery many times. Each time we go, it gets worse and worse. We have been reluctant to leave a bad review because we understand how important it is to support local businesses, but at some point, local businesses have an obligation to provide good service. They cannot expect customers to continue to tolerate poor, slow service all in the name of supporting the loca economy.
We ate here a couple of times in the Fall of 2012. We ate at the bar becasue the table service is very slow. There were loads of flies everywhere, crawling over everything. Fall is fly season, but we did not encounter this problem in other establishments.
We tried again over the winter and had problems with the speed of the service, even at the bar, and the rudeness of the waitress and the owner. The waitress is a little bit hard of hearing and did not put in my order for toast with my meal. When we requested it again, the waitress was clearly put out. When it finally came, it was burned to a crisp. The waitress snatched it off the table and walked into the kitchen loudly announcing our unwillingness to eat burned toast. A bit later, the owner came out and chastised me for sending back the burned toast. At that point, we vowed NEVER to go back.
On Mother's day Sunday, we were desperate for a breakfast stop as our first plans fell through. Reluctantly, we decided to give Chauncey's a try again. There were six people in our party. The restaurant was FULL and there were only three waitresses on. We were seated immediately, but waited 45 MINUTES for our food to arrive. When it did arrive, the corned beef hash which is normally pretty good, was cold. The food did not come out at the same time and we had to wait an additional 5 minutes for syrup and butter. At the time the food was served, I requsted the check so we could pay and leave since we had been there for about 1h 15m at that point. The check was never brought. I asked another waitress for our check. When she asked our main server for the check, we heard the server snap 'Rome was not built in a day'. That remark, after being there for 1h and 15 min was entirely inappropriate and demonstrates how little Chauncey's values is clientele, particularly the locals. It is the locals who keep them going in the winter long after the tourists are gone.
It dissapoints me to have to write a review like this on a local establishment because generally, all the local businesses work so hard for every dollar, but in this case, it time for Chauncey's to make some major changes to their staff both in terms of quality and quantity of servers.
I do not recommend this restaurant to any tourists as it reflects poorly on the rest of the establishments in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnieArlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best corn beef hash - worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The home made hash is outstanding !! Cozy atmosphere, friendly staff and gluten free friendly, the food is fresh and homemade. We arrived a bit before opening yet they welcomed us in with coffee as they were firing up the grill. Definitely a spot to return when we are back up this way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marchingbandjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chauncey's Family Dining also viewed

Arlington, Green Mountains
 
Arlington, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Arlington, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Chauncey's Family Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing