We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Battenkill River Valley for a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Battenkill River

Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Arlington
Attraction details
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Battenkill River Valley for a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Battenkill River Valley is a beautiful, scenic spot on the border of NYS and VT. You can take a leisurely tube ride, kayak, canoe or fish the lovely river or visit covered bridges and a Norman Rockwell Museum in Arlington, VT. Manchester, VT is nearby for lovely B&B's, outlet shopping and a nice lunch in a charming town. Cambridge, NY is an historic, interesting town not far from Saratoga Springs. Battenkill Valley Outdoors is a small friendly business which provides inexpensive, carefree and trouble-free rentals and transportation for tubing, canoeing,kayacking, biking and rafting. The Battenkill River is a fun, lovely place to enjoy the water!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarthaJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Battenkill....for its beauty and its soothing sound of flowing water....so relaxing and enjoyable to experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

How could anyone not enjoy the beauty of a flowing river.....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Battenkill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

We love the Battenkill. For years we have camped at Camping on the Battenkill and enjoyed kayaking and canoeing the river. We love the area so much, we recently purchased a vacation/future retirement home directly on the river - just a few miles from the Vermont line in NY state.

Helpful?
2 Thank GirlScoutMom-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Kayaking & Camping on the Battenkill River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

The Battenkill River Valley is a terrific place to explore. If you do some Googling you don't come up with a heck of a lot. Mostly trout fishing and a few canoe/kayak/camping outfitters.... but there's two days worth of paddling and possibly days of exploring local towns.

I've paddled the Battenkill twice now. Both times in the summer. The first time we stayed at Camping On The Battenkill near Arlington, VT. We rented our kayaks from Battenkill Canoe Limited. The camp ground was certainly nice enough, although there aren't many great campsites and the road gets quite close to your site. We ended up in a wooded site in eye shot of several other sites and the road. We could walk down to the river and that was nice. There is a small store and the bathrooms were decent but quite a hick. The guys at Battenkill Canoe were nice enough, but they're not really all that friendly. When I called ahead to ask some questions the fella was pretty short. I guess he's probably tired of answering the same old questions - but then again, that's his job, right? One thing about this outfitter - they run some spectacular looking canoe trips all over the place, like Newfoundland, France, Costa Rica, etc.

The second time we paddled the river was June 21st, 2008. This time I chose to stay on the other end of the river at Battenkill River Sports & Campground. This is one hell of a campground. It doesn't have that campgroundy feel so much. It had beautiful grounds that were well managed and had a very natural appeal. We stayed in one of the primitive sites on "the island". Site "I" is a very good one, as it is twice as big as the others. However, site "J" was as secluded as they come. Nearly invisible to the rest of the campground. All of the island sites are right out on the river. You have to park your car and hick about 20 yards which puts a nice grove of woods between you and any vehicles. I brought my own boat, but my comrades each neede to rent one. We asked to leave my boat by the office, and in the morning it was already loaded on a trailer along with the other two. The young lady who works the front desk was incredibly friendly (Ludwiga) and the van driver was really friendly too.

You can buy firewood along the road (rte22) on your way into town or there was a place right across from the campground where you could buy some. The bags of wood at the site are expensive ($7) and very small.

The nearby town of Cambridge is a fabulous turn-of-the-century town. There's a little restaurant/market on the way toward Greenwich that was amazing. Super place to have breakfast before a long day on the river. We had to go into Greenwich to get an SD card for my camera and it was quite nice too. I was very thankful they had a Radio Shack.

The river is a very pleasant one to float. It was less deep the last time I went as they haven't gotten much rain. My boat actually dragged a bit but nothing to worry about. Folks going in late July and August of this year might have trouble. The first time we went we didn't see a soul. This time there were quite a few folks out there. Most were very pleasant. Only a couple of groups of tubers were a little rowdy and loud. There's only a couple places where the water gets very exciting, specifically where the Roaring Branch enters. There's a Volkswagen sized rock in the river that causes an exciting stretch. Lots of covered bridges and good place sto pull over for a stretch or a snack. There's a rope swing at one of the covered bridges.

We saw a black bear come right down to the water in front of us and lots of other wildlife as well. You'll have a blast.

Helpful?
10 Thank Earlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kayaking Fun on the Battenkill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

We rented a tandem kayak to float down the Battenkill, and had a blast! We rented our kayak from Battenkill Canoe, Ltd., and then we were given a map and directions for a four-hour independent paddle. The challenging river gave us overhanging trees, submerged branches, and mild riffles, or small rapids that were exciting. The river water itself was cool in the 90-degree temperatures, and the kayak was well-maintained as it bumped across rocks and quietly followed waterfowl and river bends alike. When we put in on the other side of a bridge, our outfitters' van arrived to ferry us back to the rental offices and our car.

It was a wonderful day on a lovely river beneath the Vermont mountains--quite unlike our home in Florida. We'll be back for more peaceful floating and exciting paddling. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
7 Thank InOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battenkill River also viewed

Arlington, Green Mountains
Arlington, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Arlington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Battenkill River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing