We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View!”
Review of Mount Equinox

Mount Equinox
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Drive this scenic mountain which is also used as a outdoor classroom for the study of various species of plants and animals. At 5.2 miles, the Mount Equinox Skyline Drive is the longest privately owned paved toll road in the U.S. Those who prefer to hike can pick up a trail map at the Toll House. At the top of the mountain is our new Saint Bruno Scenic Viewing Center packed with info about Equinox Mountain and the Carthusian Monks. The private property which is 7,000 acres is owned by the Carthusain monks. A cloistered order of Catholic monks. There is the Catholic gift shop at the bottom of the mountain and also souvenirs from your trip.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If it is a nice sunny day, make sure to take an hour and visit Mount Equinox while you are in Manchester. It is a hilly climb (about 5 miles) of twists and turns but once at the top the view of the mountains is breathtaking! It is also interesting to read the history of the Carthusian Monks who have a monastery in the mountains (however, not opened to the public). At the top of the mount is an information center which traces the history of the Monks and what a "typical" day consists of in the life of a cloistered monk. There are hiking trails as well, however, we opted for the car ride up and enjoyed the view along the way. We were told by some of the people in town the drive is only worth taking on a clear, sunny day and they were absolutely correct!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonzo304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    51
    17
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved this Hike!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a terrific day hike. It took us just over 2 hours up, and an hour and a half down. The trail is well maintained and marked. We read all the reviews about the hike being strenuous, and were a little uncertain of what we would encounter.....no worries - there are no cliffs or handholds on this hike, but it is definitely a constant uphill grade that is pretty steep for at least a mile after the trail splits to the summit. There is a neat building with restrooms and water at the top run by the Carthusian Order, and it offers great views in all directions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElauNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a drive!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

At first, we wondered why we were paying to drive up a hill. By the end of this wondrous drive, we couldn't have imagined missing it. The view from the top is spectacular. There is ample information about what you are seeing as well as history of the site. A friendly and informative guide at the top will answer your questions with warmth. We really loved this excursion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank city-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The road to get to Mt. Equinox is maintained by the Carthusian Monks. The road leading to the top is about 5 miles long and very windy with sharp turns. I believe the road is closed during the winter. Once at the top you are treated to wonderful views of several states (if the weather is clear). There is also a very informative history on the monks and how they came to posses this area. We didn't hike, but understand it is well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank spoiledrotten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“educational but not necessary stop”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was interesting to learn about the history of the location and the secluded meditative group that now maintains the private road. The height offers panoramic views, and we were in no rush with no agenda but would not have felt I "missed" something if we had skipped it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank S_Stone465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Equinox also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Arlington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Mount Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing