We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful views on a clear day!

We went during the fall on a clear, bluebird day and the view were great. The wind was up, so we... read more

Reviewed October 15, 2020
tra_Traveler
,
Burlington, Vermont
Some of the most Beautiful views!

OMG! it is worth the trip up the mountain. It is absolutely gorgeous! Tough on your car but worth... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2020
A7982FImaryf
Read all 243 reviews
  
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
131
74
22
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
131
74
22
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline drive beautiful view new hampshire winding road well worth the trip sunny day mountains car cloudy fee clouds picnic peak states lookout vermont fall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 243 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Mount Equinox is owned by Monks who take a vow of silence and live in the valley on the other side of the mountain. The recently tore down the old hotel that was on top and built a beautiful post and beam and SIP Panel visitors center where the hotel once stood. Your vehicle should be in really good condition and you should drive with caution up and down the steep winding paved road. The views from the top are worth the drive as long as it is a clear day. Enjoy Manchester, VT from a different birds eye view at the top of Mount Equinox.

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank Andy05255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wanted to drive to the top to see the view but thought the toll fee a little over the top so turned around and enjoyed the back roads of the area which are just lovely. I think $20 is too much even though it's a private road.
We were in Maine the previous week and paid $6 to drive to the top of Mt Battie which I though was reasonable and well worth it.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank sehawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

they charge 20$ entrance fee. auto road is nicely maintained with 2-3 view points.make sure to stop your car to avoid tires burning.some view points are really good with such views which are different than at top.they have restrooms at top. also there is a hike trail 1mile at the top called loop trail, it goes out in the woods to a point where you can see the manchester town below in the valley. also has a bench there to sit.try going on sunny days as it can get cloudy up there as you go late and can block you mountain views,but then also it is very lovely to see this.worth a trip.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First off I guess I confused it for the Skyline Drive in Virginia that runs 105 miles. This is only about 5 mile drive up to the top. The road is only okay. It's paved but quite bumpy up so it wasn't the fast motorcycle thrill ride I thought it would be. Also it's kind of expensive if you ask me. On a motorcycle it's 12 bucks on a car it's 15+5 for add'l passengers. Sure you're donating to the monastery order that runs the joint but it could be 5 bucks cheaper. You won't be fighting many tourists because it's barely noticeable from the roadside. Which could be a good thing if you want to avoid people. You see a bunch of international flags around the perimeter of the small parking lot at the visitor center that's at the base of the mountain along route 7a. The building up top is a newly built as of 2012. It's nice and new and has a terrace on both sides.. The person working there that day was a nice fella offering everything he knew about the place and the area below. There aren't any amenities other than bathrooms. The water fountain wasn't working and there wasn't a soda machines or bottled water available. Bring water especially if you hike to the look out point. Wear good boots if you go out to the look up point. The path isn't super well maintained and you can roll your ankle quite easily or slip on a rock on a rainy day easily. It will take you a solid 15 minutes each way to hike to the lookout. The view there is okay. You get to see the town below. There's a bench so I guess you could make out with your girlfriend or something if she hasn't broken her ankle. Not a hike for grandma with her cane.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank slappy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband & I paid $20 to drive to the top of Mt. Equinox. The history is interesting and the views are beautiful. It is sort of boring at the top after the drive.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews