We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Warm & Welcoming!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thanks for a wonderful visit! Your inn feels like home - inviting and comfortable with the kind of ease that tempted me to cancel my plans and stay a few more days! You (Kevin and Michael) are charming, helpful hosts! Breakfast and cookies were downright heavenly, too! Thank you! This inn is a great choice for Vermont travelers!

Room Tip: I stayed in "Ethan's Room". Lovely, comfortable, faces the woods in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
69
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful B&B and truly loved everything about it. The old house has a very cozy atmosphere and both Kevin and Michael are very charming hosts.
The delicious breakfasts including the maple flavored yogurth were a great start for the day.
After our hikes, we looked forward to coming home for our afternoon treat (Michaels freshly baked cookies) and the smell of them in the whole house. For the evenings they not only offer good restaurant recommendations but also have some wine/ beer stocked to enjoy after dinner.
Special thanks to Michael for making our canoe trip on the Battenkill River possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in Abigails suite which was very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summermoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Thanks Michael and Kevin for a wonderful stay! I had a great time and hope to visit again. The atmosphere here was relaxing and very welcoming. I appreciated your calling and getting us a reservation for dinner. Thanks for the great breakfast Michael. This place is a must stay for anyone traveling to Vermont!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. Thanks Michael and Kevin. You are great hosts and most helpful. Had a magnificent time at your inn. If I ever get back to your area in Vermont I will be contacting you for a room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you Lois. It was a pleasure meeting the two of you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope your journey through the rest of New England was equally as pleasant. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband Cliff and I spent the night at the Ira Allen House while up in the area looking for a season ski rental. We have stayed in B&Bs before and so as it goes with B&B, one never knows what you are going get. We were pleasantly surprised by the coziness, cleanliness and warm hospitality. And as others have pointed out, the breakfast was delicious and healthy! Enjoy our stay! Chris

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MollyHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I lovely stay at this charming B&B built by Ira and Ethan Allen! Wonderful hosts, beautiful inn, comfortable bed, and blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup in the morning - and the most delicious maple sweetened locally made yogurt.

Room Tip: The Ethan Allen room was great for this solo trip - a wonderful view. It had an adjoining room as w...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hosts were NEVER perturbed by needy requests for directions, other B&B recommendations (in Middlebury), and more wine...
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was one of the best esperiences I have had, everything you want and more when staying at a Bed & Breakfast! The owners are the warmest, friendliest and most hospitable ever, had even baked cookies for our arrival. The entire house was so authentic, cozy and beautiful, I couldn't get enough! There was a fireplace in our room, which was massive, as well as a private balcony and tons of quilts. The food was home made for us each morning and it was phenomenal! The location is conveniently close to the town and mountains. I would recommend the Ira Allen to anyone and hope to go back myself! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Remember Baker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
15.7 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.8 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6311 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-8433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ira Allen House is one of the oldest inns in Vermont, and is the historical home of Ethan and Ira Allen, surveyors of Vermont and leaders of the Green Mountain Boys. Nestled in the heart of the Green Mountains, with direct frontage on the Battenkill River, the inn is a perfect home base for skiing, biking, canoeing, golfing, fly-fishing, and a host of other outdoor activities. Manchester, with its fantastic assortment boutiques, outlets and restaurants, is 5 miles to the north. All the rooms are suites and are ideal for families and groups. Two suites have private fireplaces.A full country breakfast is included in the room rate. Family-style dinner available with advanced notice for a reasonable charge.We invite you to enjoy the beauty of Vermont, the charm of our historic home, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ira Allen House Bed And Breakfast Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing