We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent two nights at this wonderful place in Vermont. We were five people in all and the accomodation was perfect. The owners were really hospitable and we had a lot of fun cooking, drinking and singing. The breakfasts were delicious and the location quite central to visiting nearby cheese farms and Hildene, the famous Loncoln property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravikumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
69
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shirley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My best friend and I have stayed there twice since the new management, and they are continually making improvements! The owners are so nice, friendly, helpful and fun, it feels like a second home. If you like good food, this is the place to be. The included breakfasts are wonderful - try the locally made maple skyr (yogurt) with homemade granola and fresh fruit plus jam to die for. The dinners (extra) are wonderful. They buy from local farms and farmers' markets, the cooking is fantastic. It is a 200 yr. old historical home, and very comfortable. Across the road is the Battenkill River with chairs and tables for a peaceful view. They are located next to Manachester, VT which has many many interesting places to visit including the fascinating Lincoln Home "Hildene", and you can get a discount ticket from the inn keepers. I'm hoping to visit them again this year.

Room Tip: Go to the website and see pictures of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I would love to give the 3 guys who run the B&B a 5 star rating. They have recently taken over the business and are putting in 100% effort and passion to make this a success.

I don't want to be harsh on them but I would like future guest to be aware of a few things to avoid disappointment.

Firstly positives:
- great value. We stayed in Abigail's room, which is 1 big room with lounge area, a small 2 nd bedroom and an interconnecting bathroom.
It suited us, a couple travelling with 1 parent, perfectly. I wouldn't advice this room with 4 adults however. 2nd bedroom is tiny.
- owners: they cannot be more helpful and welcoming. We got freshly baked cookies, tea etc.
- set up: all pretty good. There is an honesty bar and it is nice to be able to make a coffee in the morning or grab a snack
- atmosphere: if you want to stay in a historic house, this is your place
-location: near are lots of nice restaurants, near the river. Despite the road in between, it is a nice location

Not so nice:
- the cats: I love cats but my husband is allergic and my father in law hates them.
There are 2 of them and they are very sweet but they do follow you up the stairs and miauw.
Also one at was licking the milk for our tea. I was laughing but my husband was not happy.
They do not come into the rooms but even I was sniffling and sneezing.
- the road: it is quite busy and at night cars drive fast. If you are a bad sleeper, sleep at back of house
-the furniture: everything is old and there is just too much stuff in the house. It is stuffy and overfilled. They should get rid of half of their junk and de -clutter the place. It is oppressive.
- breakfast: they try so hard and I think some guests will love the special dishes but we just like cereal and egg on toast. We got a very tasty soufflé and special granola and special yoghurt from local farms and it was all delicious but when we asked for toast, the bread was just plain and sweet. The owners are new to the hospitality business and it is tiring running a B&B but they could make their lives much easier by offering a simpler breakfast.

All in all, we had a good stay and I would advice this place with a few pointers. Mainly it is great value in a beautiful area and the owners are lovely.

Room Tip: I think they are all very different. We had a peak in Bakers room and it was much nicer than Abigail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback.

It has been challenging integrating three households into one space. We are constantly reviewing and editing to make our guests feel comfortable. We have integrated new lounge furniture with the antiques to make the space more usable and all the beds are new.

Our cats are only allowed in public areas with guest approval - and never at meal times. They are still kittens and we apologize for their behavior at tea time.

While many of our guests enjoy the breakfast fare please know that we always have oatmeal, cereals and eggs (prepared your way) should you care for something different. We use local and homemade products whenever possible. We also accommodate any special dietary restrictions.

We truly hope that you enjoyed your visit to Vermont, and onward to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B. We were definately not dissapointed. The inn keepers are the nicest people you could meet. We were always welcomed upon our return every evening. The food is out of this world! Cookies every day. Breakfast with local fresh ingriedients! Don't miss breakfast! The inn is very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. If you are looking for a place to stay with that extra something, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in the 'Remember Baker' suite for two nights in late May. We had an exceptionally warm welcome from Kevin, Michael and Tracey upon our arrival and, after a glass of delicious local cider at the cozy fireside bar, we were shown to our room. We loved the original exposed cross beams on the ceiling, combined with a wood burning fireplace and private deck - it made the room a place you wanted to hurry back to (not always the case in a B&B.) The sheets were fresh and crisp, the bed super comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.

Fantastic home cooked breakfasts and dinners, charming and helpful hosts, an extraordinarily beautiful and historic building and a breathtaking setting with mountain views. But, it's the attention to detail we'll remember - the eclectic furnishings in our room and throughout the entire house were always turning up new surprises, including 'a moose in every room' (ours was perched on the windowsill). This isn't a generic and impersonal place - it reflects the warmth of the personalities who maintain and cherish it and it has heaps of character that make it exceptionally memorable.

It may be called the Ira Allen House - but when you stay here you're really made to feel that this is your home too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

It wouldn’t be possible to say enough good things about the Ira Allen House B&B Inn. The inn is a 240-year-old house that has important historical connections--- a real treat for anyone who is interested in colonial American culture or Revolutionary War history. The owners have furnished the inn beautifully and with sensitivity to the past, preserving authentic 18th-century ambiance.
Our tastefully furnished suite provided everything we could need (including a large flat-screen television), but we preferred to spend our evenings in the large gathering room, enjoying the art, music, books, and memorabilia that fill the room.
The innkeepers anticipated our every need and extended every imaginable courtesy: for example, one evening Michael suggested lighting a fire for us, though we were the only guests in the gathering room at the time. We couldn’t have asked for hosts who were more gracious, helpful, and genuinely friendly: they made us feel more like old friends than customers.
The hearty breakfasts were of gourmet quality and were presented as nicely as they were prepared: it would be worth staying at the Ira Allen House if only to enjoy the breakfasts there!
Last but not least, the Ira Allen House is ideally located only a short drive away from a wide range of historical, cultural, recreational, and scenic sites in southern Vermont and upper New York State. It doesn’t get better than that.
In every way, our stay at the Ira Allen House was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences we’ve had in many years. Michael, Kevin, and Tracy demonstrate convincingly that lodging during vacation travel can---and should--- provide much more than a place to sleep.
Five stars! Two thumbs up!

Steve and Diane R, Loretto, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and i spent a wonderful night at the Ira Allen B&B on our way to Saratoga Springs, N.Y. this spring. We had a quiet, restful night and a delicious breakfast the nest morning. We enjoyed looking at the historical artifacts and interesting collections throughout the B&B. Several of the rooms are suites that share a bath. This is perfect for groups coming to the outlets in manchester. They have beautiful grounds across the street that go down to the river. Next time I want to walk over there. The new owners have already spent money upgrading the B&B and it shows. We look forward to stopping again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality. This adds to the experience.
See more room tips
Green Features: The food is locally sourced and fresh. This is an environmentally-friendly B&B.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
15.7 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
16.8 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bennington
BEST WESTERN Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6311 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-8433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ira Allen House is one of the oldest inns in Vermont, and is the historical home of Ethan and Ira Allen, surveyors of Vermont and leaders of the Green Mountain Boys. Nestled in the heart of the Green Mountains, with direct frontage on the Battenkill River, the inn is a perfect home base for skiing, biking, canoeing, golfing, fly-fishing, and a host of other outdoor activities. Manchester, with its fantastic assortment boutiques, outlets and restaurants, is 5 miles to the north. All the rooms are suites and are ideal for families and groups. Two suites have private fireplaces.A full country breakfast is included in the room rate. Family-style dinner available with advanced notice for a reasonable charge.We invite you to enjoy the beauty of Vermont, the charm of our historic home, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ira Allen House Bed And Breakfast Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing