We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B. We were definately not dissapointed. The inn keepers are the nicest people you could meet. We were always welcomed upon our return every evening. The food is out of this world! Cookies every day. Breakfast with local fresh ingriedients! Don't miss breakfast! The inn is very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. If you are looking for a place to stay with that extra something, this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in the 'Remember Baker' suite for two nights in late May. We had an exceptionally warm welcome from Kevin, Michael and Tracey upon our arrival and, after a glass of delicious local cider at the cozy fireside bar, we were shown to our room. We loved the original exposed cross beams on the ceiling, combined with a wood burning fireplace and private deck - it made the room a place you wanted to hurry back to (not always the case in a B&B.) The sheets were fresh and crisp, the bed super comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.

Fantastic home cooked breakfasts and dinners, charming and helpful hosts, an extraordinarily beautiful and historic building and a breathtaking setting with mountain views. But, it's the attention to detail we'll remember - the eclectic furnishings in our room and throughout the entire house were always turning up new surprises, including 'a moose in every room' (ours was perched on the windowsill). This isn't a generic and impersonal place - it reflects the warmth of the personalities who maintain and cherish it and it has heaps of character that make it exceptionally memorable.

It may be called the Ira Allen House - but when you stay here you're really made to feel that this is your home too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It wouldn’t be possible to say enough good things about the Ira Allen House B&B Inn. The inn is a 240-year-old house that has important historical connections--- a real treat for anyone who is interested in colonial American culture or Revolutionary War history. The owners have furnished the inn beautifully and with sensitivity to the past, preserving authentic 18th-century ambiance.
Our tastefully furnished suite provided everything we could need (including a large flat-screen television), but we preferred to spend our evenings in the large gathering room, enjoying the art, music, books, and memorabilia that fill the room.
The innkeepers anticipated our every need and extended every imaginable courtesy: for example, one evening Michael suggested lighting a fire for us, though we were the only guests in the gathering room at the time. We couldn’t have asked for hosts who were more gracious, helpful, and genuinely friendly: they made us feel more like old friends than customers.
The hearty breakfasts were of gourmet quality and were presented as nicely as they were prepared: it would be worth staying at the Ira Allen House if only to enjoy the breakfasts there!
Last but not least, the Ira Allen House is ideally located only a short drive away from a wide range of historical, cultural, recreational, and scenic sites in southern Vermont and upper New York State. It doesn’t get better than that.
In every way, our stay at the Ira Allen House was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences we’ve had in many years. Michael, Kevin, and Tracy demonstrate convincingly that lodging during vacation travel can---and should--- provide much more than a place to sleep.
Five stars! Two thumbs up!

Steve and Diane R, Loretto, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and i spent a wonderful night at the Ira Allen B&B on our way to Saratoga Springs, N.Y. this spring. We had a quiet, restful night and a delicious breakfast the nest morning. We enjoyed looking at the historical artifacts and interesting collections throughout the B&B. Several of the rooms are suites that share a bath. This is perfect for groups coming to the outlets in manchester. They have beautiful grounds across the street that go down to the river. Next time I want to walk over there. The new owners have already spent money upgrading the B&B and it shows. We look forward to stopping again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality. This adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The ambience, comfort, and hospitality was perfection. The added bonus of a fabulous breakfast made our three night stay terrific. Coupled with Orvis Fly Fishing classes, you can't beat the pair.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxxxx2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just spent two wonderful days at the Ira Allen House in Sunderland, VT. Partners Kevin, Michael and Tracey along with building consultant, Tim, became the new owners of the inn, which has been in existence for more than 200 years, at the end of last year, and have great plans for the property. The bedrooms and public spaces are very comfortable and furnished with tasteful antiques and memorabilia.

Kevin is an accomplished chef who provides a full breakfast each morning using locally sourced organic produce. One of the large first floor sitting rooms was once a tavern, and this is soon to be reopened, providing beer, wine and evening meals for guests and the general public. In the future Kevin hopes to introduce wine tasting evenings and cookery classes with invited chefs.

The property sits on 10 acres of woodlands with a meadow running down to a local river, suitable for canoeing and fishing. Manchester, with its designer outlet stores is just a few miles up the road.

If you’re looking for a quiet getaway in Vermont, the Ira Allen House would be a great choice. The inn is wonderful, but what makes it special are the warm welcoming personalities of its hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We really enjoy staying at B&Bs... each has it's very own character and aura. Our favorite B&B by far is the Ira Allen House. We recently stayed there for the third time (over three years) and was pleasantly surprised that it just keeps getting better and better. And at $99.00 per night, it was most affordable. The home is under new ownership and Kevin and Michael are wonderful hosts with lots of wonderful and creative ideas. The breakfast was fabulous with homemade corned beef hash with beef that Kevin corned himself. I didn't even know that people did that! The owners are most helpful and gave great advice for activities and places not to miss. Skiing at nearby Stratton was still good late March! Wood burning fireplace in our room was lovely with lots of cut wood available to burn and a starter log as well. We can't wait to see what the future holds for the Ira Allen House! We'll be back for sure. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleomurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
8.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
659 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
8.3 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
74 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6311 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-8433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: $146 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ira Allen House is one of the oldest inns in Vermont, and is the historical home of Ethan and Ira Allen, surveyors of Vermont and leaders of the Green Mountain Boys. Nestled in the heart of the Green Mountains, with direct frontage on the Battenkill River, the inn is a perfect home base for skiing, biking, canoeing, golfing, fly-fishing, and a host of other outdoor activities. Manchester, with its fantastic assortment boutiques, outlets and restaurants, is 5 miles to the north. All the rooms are suites and are ideal for families and groups. Two suites have private fireplaces.A full country breakfast is included in the room rate. Family-style dinner available with advanced notice for a reasonable charge.We invite you to enjoy the beauty of Vermont, the charm of our historic home, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ira Allen House Bed And Breakfast Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing