We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic honeymoon ever!”
Review of Arlington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arlington Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I were married in Vermont and we stayed the rest of the week for our honeymoon. With so many beautiful places to choose from we had a difficult time deciding but we picked the Arlington Inn for it's private cottage.
The main house is absolutely spectacular! The Victorian style was elegantly done and quite lavish. Our room was the Victoria's Garden Retreat, out back and separate from the main house. We loved our room with it's tall ceilings, two person jacuzzi, comfy king bed, fireplace and private entrance! And breakfast every morning was divine! The food and the service was excellent and the solarium is so pretty with it's big windows and warm, cozy fire.
The grounds were simply beautiful with so much to explore. We were a little sad we hadn't chosen Arlington for our ceremony! There are even 2 little ducks that live on the property and followed us everywhere.
The town is so quaint and charming. We loved exploring every day. There are two covered bridges, the Equinox Skyline Drive, The Village Peddler & Bearatorium and not to mention the Cheese House! It really was the perfect honeymoon and we'll never forget our luxurious stay. We can't wait for our anniversary so we can go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishwitch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Arlington Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

What a fabulous Inn nestled in the southern Green Mountains. The Historic Mansion that is the main Inn is an amazing building. Eric and Elizabeth the owners and operators bent over backwards to meet every reasonable request of guests. Eric is an incredible chef. Every meal we ate was amazing, whether, from the dinner menu, the complimentary full breakfast, the buffet for our reception, even our special cocktail/dessert party in their barn! We visited the Inn several times preparing for our wedding, staying in a number of rooms (and of course touring them all), each has its own character and appeal. We chose Gamaliel's Gable for our wedding night the fireplace and Jacuzzi tub were just the thing.

Everybody took great care of us every time we visited or called. If you are looking for a Romantic Vermont getaway with Old New England charm you couldn't hope for a better spot.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomski18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This Inn was neither elegant nor romantic and very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Teddytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We spent 3 days 9/30 thru 10/2 at the Inn and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.
The room, Gamaliel's Gable, was comfy and cozy and just lovely. The 2 person jacuzzi was wonderful and relaxing. The in room fireplace was split between the bedroom and the bathroom so you could enjoy it while in bed and while in the jacuzzi.
The breakfast choices were varied and we had the omelets and pancakes and everything was delicious. You left very full and satisfied.
The service was impeccable and the staff extremely courteous and helpful with planning our day. We had dinner both nights at the inn and were very pleased with the quality and quantity of food. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomgolf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I just had the unfortunate opportunity to stay at this B&B. We were placed in the Arbor View room which had the appearance of a trailer overstuffed w/ furniture. Very cheap feeling construction including a beam stretching the room trying to give the feel of a timber frame building (I assume), but it was just so out of place it looked ridiculous. The toilet was cracked and stained and there was enough mildew on the shower that I would not use it.

Breakfast the next morning was not much better. The water was the worst tasting I have ever drank. It's possible that this is what water in Arlington, VT tastes like, but water is not supposed to have a taste, and for $330/night, one would think this place could find a solution. Burned toast and muffins, slightly cold and soggy potatoes, and undercooked egged rounded out the breakfast. Yum.

My one compliment and the only thing saving the Arlington Inn from a rating of "Terrible" would be the staff. In out short 12 hours there, we had 3 brief encounters with employees, but all were very friendly and welcoming.

With what has to be hundreds of options for B&Bs along route 7, my advice would be to skip the Arlington Inn and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I was assured by AAA that this Vermont Country Inn is rated "Three Diamonds", so I expected a very nice Country Inn. When we arrived at check-in time (1-3PM), we were shown to our room in the 18th century historic-plaque'd former parsonage next door to the actual "Arlington Country Inn" - the odor of mildew was overpowering. The toilet seat was chipped and looked the worse for wear; it was obvious where the wall-to-wall was vacuumed and where is was never vacuumed, there were lines of demarcation where the vacuum apparently never has gone. The bedding was old and shabby, the mattress was very, very hard, the pillows were old, and matted, very hard. There was no "second emergency exit" - aren't there supposed to be two exits?? After we turned the air conditioner on we discovered, upon closer examination, that the air conditioner filter apparently has not been cleaned (ever?) - it was nearly totally blocked by lint and dust.
The TV was at least 15 years old, and because of its position in an Amoire, could not be turned to face the bed. How much would a new toilet seat and a set of new bedding set the owners back? It was obvious that this Inn was run on a very tight margin. I will say that the complimentary full breakfast was superb; the bread was wonderful, the muffins wonderful, the omelet exemplary, the corned beef hash was homemade and out of this world wonderful. The dinner menu was very pricey, approximately $26 $32; it might have been similarly wonderful, but we found cheaper and very good eats elsewhere. I am not sure what the other rooms at this Inn were like, but would advise anyone not to accept a room at the house next door, the old parsonage.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurrillvilleBunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We were touring New England and picked up a 2006 copy of Frommer's guidebook, which rated it 3 stars, which is a pretty good rating from Frommer's. We called, and arranged for a three-night stay. The rate was $169 for the first night, an $189 for the next two, which were weekend nights.

When we arrived, the first sign of something amiss was the grounds. We had noticed time and again how much pride Vermonters take in their gardens, and each of the other inns we visited had well-kept grounds. The pathway to the front porch was overgrown.

The National Registry plaque by the door heartened me. Dave, the restaurant manager who checked us in, was casual and nice, but when dumped a cup full of keys on the desk, and rooted around for ours, I began to wonder. A quick look around the dining room and tavern indicated a place with a lot of potential, a lot of history, a lot of charm, but... it was a little worse for wear. Not well kept. You just didn't see the pride of ownership that you see elsewhere.

Dave took us to our room, which was a sort of attic library. It was hot, so he suggested turning on the air conditioner. I told him we preferred fresh air, so I opened the windows. Each sill was filthy and filled with dead bugs, cobwebs, etc. The porch outside one of the windows was badly in need of a paint job. I looked at the air conditioner and could only guess at the condition of the air filter.

I turned on some of the lights, and the primary accent lights above the fireplace did not work. We looked at the bulbs, and they clearly were burned out. I decided to go down and ask for some fresh bulbs, but first, after a long drive, I wanted to freshen up. I washed my face, and took a towel from the rack, and it was sour.

THAT WAS IT. WE WERE OUTTA THERE!!

We went down the road to the Reluctant Panther and got a fantastic room, truly first class, clean, comfortable, 21st Century amenities, FOR THE SAME PRICE.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
10.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
640 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#3 of 8 in Arlington
66 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Inn

Address: 3904 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: $163 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Village between Manchester and Bennington, the Inn is convenient to the diversions that each season has to offer. Walk to golf, swimming; fly-fishing on the Battenkill River and the Rockwell Exhibition. Nearby you can enjoy shopping, theater, antiquing, museums, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, cross-country and downhill skiing.Country Gardens with Gazebo, Elegant guest rooms, private baths, television, phone, WiFi service and air conditioning. Many feature Fireplaces, Jacuzzi’s, Porch & Patios.Dining is an exquisite experience, Romantic, candlelit dinners are served fireside.Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners & Retreats are brimming with outstanding cuisine, excellent service and romantic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arlington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Inn VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing