We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Arlington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arlington Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

After reserving a room at another Inn in Arlington, VT.(the autumn inn) and finding it totally unacceptable, I called the Arlington Inn for availability. I was bringing my elderly mother to a family wedding and needed a friday and saturday night stay. Much to my surprise The Arlington Inn could accommodate us. After explaining my situation, "Amy" who answered my frantic call, was very sympathetic and offered me a room that my mom could easily navigate to.
Our stay was wonderful. All of the staff we encountered were professional and eager to help anyway they could. Our room rate included a full cooked to order breakfast and the selection and food were great! The Inn itself is elegant. All areas were extremely clean and the grounds well maintained. Parking was free and easy with a well lit walkway at night to make you feel safe.
I would absolutely recommend this Inn to everyone who is looking for the inn experience!! Well worth the price.

Room Tip: We were in the main house which is where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby51075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    23
    10
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
87
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We just had a lovely two-night stay at the Arlington Inn. The hospitality, food and overall charm of the place was just excellent. Many thanks for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayareafan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We hada wonderful stay in April. Very quiet, before tourist season, innkeepers and staff were very nice, attentive and accommodating. We had an absolutely delicious dinner by the fireplace in the main house and could not have asked for more. We stayed in the Arbor Room and would not have changed anything. Great bathroom, nice bed, and 2 sided fireplace. Breakfast was a treat both mornings, included in stay. We will certainly go back and reccomed to friends. Very Friendly dog and chickens onside as well!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

From booking to departure, our two-night stay was delightful. Eric was exrtremely helpful assisting with our reservation. Upon arrival, Elizabeth showed us to our room - Victoria's Garden Retreat - one of the Carriage House rooms with it's own private entrance just steps from one of many gardens. Our room was very cozy, with lots of pillows, and two comfy chairs to enjoy one side of the fireplace. The other side of the firplace was enjoyed from the tub for two. The breakfasts are made to order - we had wonderful fresh vegetable omelets both mornings - with lots of extras - yogurt, muffins, and specially delicious corned beef hash. After a day of adventuring about Manchester - Hildene was impressive - we settled in for some afternoon sun in the garden with our new friends - Penny and Henrietta - their "free-yard" chickens. Dinner was elegant - starting with Shrimp wrapped in Prosciutto and a garden salad, entrees of Pork Medallions with a savory Hunter's Sauce and their house special - Mixed Grill - a yummy combination of Duck Breast, Petite Filet, and Lamb Loin Chop - finished with a rich Chocolate Torte. Thanks to Eric, Elizabeth, and the entire staff for making our weekend such a treat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I got engaged here on Valentine's Day back in 2006. At the time, everything was very fresh and prices were fair. The staff accomodated everything I needed to romantically propose to my girlfriend. Dinner was fantastic and everything was literally perfect as far as we were concerned. We had stayed in a great room in the parsonage house that we liked so much we rebooked it the next year for Valentine's Day 2007. In 2008 we were in Florida getting married so didn't return that year. In 2009 and all years since, we have been completely blown away by the increase in prices and the restrictions of the packages offered. No longer allowed to rent a single night or even 2 nights for Valentine's Day, the packages required a 3 night stay w/ dinner only 2 nights of those 3. Needless to say, we haven't returned since due to the "required" $900-$1100 cost of celebrating Valentine's Day .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneyguy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Arlington Inn close to 10 times over the past 12 years. During this time my wife and I have spent nearly every milestone event or special occasion at this lovely Inn. It's our home away from home when we need a break from it all. If you are looking for a nice getaway, don't look past the Arlington Inn. I highly suggest spending a night or two and while your there, don't forget to make dinner reservations; the mixed grill entree is one of the best!

I work in the hospitality industry, and what our corporate office preaches about customer service, a clean and well maintained room, along with a friendly and welcoming manner, the Bergers' deliver. They make hospitality look easy. Take it from an industry insider, you won't be disappointed with the Arlington Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This wonderful Inn is, quite simply, one of the most enjoyable places to stay that I’ve ever experienced. And as a traveling business consultant, I’m comparing it to many wonderful places worldwide.

Built as the residence of a 19th century railroad magnate, the Inn surrounds you with the elegance and refinement of another era while still, somehow, managing to make you always feel ‘at home.’ The décor is stunning; the food is first rate. And innkeepers Elizabeth and Eric are two of the friendliest hosts you’ll find anywhere.

You’ll be nestled in the quaint town of Arlington, just minutes from Manchester’s shops, golf-courses and fine dining establishments. You can literally walk from the Inn to the storied Battenkill in under ten minutes. And you can drive to several of its other good reaches in the same amount of time. So whether you’re looking to spend a few days fishing, shopping, golfing, antiquing or simply enjoying a quiet, romantic getaway, you just couldn’t improve upon the stately and splendid Arlington Inn.

Room Tip: Front room w/ private front porch is especially nice, but all are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gagnonrj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
700 reviews
12.6 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
179 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
376 reviews
12.4 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
454 reviews
13.7 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Inn

Property: Arlington Inn
Address: 3904 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Village between Manchester and Bennington, the Inn is convenient to the diversions that each season has to offer. Walk to golf, swimming; fly-fishing on the Battenkill River and the Rockwell Exhibition. Nearby you can enjoy shopping, theater, antiquing, museums, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, cross-country and downhill skiing.Country Gardens with Gazebo, Elegant guest rooms, private baths, television, phone, WiFi service and air conditioning. Many feature Fireplaces, Jacuzzi’s, Porch & Patios.Dining is an exquisite experience, Romantic, candlelit dinners are served fireside.Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners & Retreats are brimming with outstanding cuisine, excellent service and romantic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Arlington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Inn VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing