We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Norman Rockwell exhibit”

Norman Rockwell Exhibition
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Arlington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An exhibit focusing on Norman Rockwell's years in Arlington, 1939-1953. Rockwell used over 200 local models for his works. The exhibit displays reproductions of many of his works as well as stories about many of the townspeople who were his models.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting Norman Rockwell exhibit”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This exhibit included a 15 minute movie about Rockwell. It highlights locals who posed for Rockwell's portraits - some of whom still live in the town. Very friendly & interesting proprietor.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual Fall Trip”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I travel to Vermont each fall to experience climbing Mt. Equinox and stop at The Sugar Shack!! It is one of our favorite things to do in the fall. We spent time talking to Kimberly and the rest of the guys while experiencing their cheeses, syrups and overall friendly small town charm they offer at The Sugar Shack. My husband and I look forward to returning again and again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Educational stop”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Get some maple products and learn a little about Norman Rockwell. I loved seeing the original subjects that so many of his paintings were based on. The collection is impressive and not what you'd expect at a place called The Sugar Shack.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katestamps716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This was by far one of our best stops, absolutely loved it! His works came to life as we read all the personal connections to people in the Arlington area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
742 reviews
521 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“Can't imagine it not bringing a smile”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we discover the relationship between Rockwell and his subjects both in Vermont and Massachusetts, it only adds to the charm and warmth we feel for this most psychologically insightful artist. It's the perfect companion to the Stockbridge museum both to see and learn about the man behind the work.

People lined up waiting for a new Rockwell Saturday Evening Post or other expression in much the same way they did for another chapter of Dickens arriving at ports in the previous century. Would it be unfair to either to think of him as America's Latrec, in that he creatively captured the spirit of his age in a generally commercial medium of expression?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank preglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Rockwell Exhibition also viewed

Arlington, Green Mountains
 
Arlington, Green Mountains
Arlington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Norman Rockwell Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing