We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, 200+ year old stone inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Alburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Richard and Lorraine, owners and terrific professional chefs, have done a remarkable job restoring this historic inn,once a stagecoach stop. Wonderful original features (floors, beams) but with private baths and air cond. in the 4 quiet bedrooms. Baths are small, as one would expect in a building that originally had none!; but efficient with everything one might need. Water pressure can be tricky but no different than most centuries old homes. Breakfast was delightful, full entrees to choose from, fruit plates, fresh rolls, etc. Dinner was outstanding, one of the best we've had while exploring Vermont for the past 6 weeks and eating at everything from diners to very high-end restaurants. The owners and staff are friendly, helpful, and very willing to "accommodate". A great visit to a beautiful area.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Richard and Lorraine are marvelous hosts and the setting is picturesque. Marvelous breakfasts and pretty impressive dinners. Yes, the water pressure is sometimes lacking a bit, but that's to be expected of a centuries old, historic building; minor detail in the overall context of a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Chose this place based on needing something in area and price. My first night was in the Cannonball Room. The bed, while hard as a rock, was not the problem. The shower is rigged to sort of fit into an old fashioned tub under a sloped ceiling with peeling paint. At 5' 4" I just fit. While my hair was full of shampoo the water just stopped. Pressure was very low to start but this was a new thing. After waiting a bit to see what would happen, I turned it off and on again and got water. While standing there, I had a good view of the peeling paint that was inches from my face on the sloped ceiling. The next morning, I found the jam packets which were put out (similar to a cheap chain restaurant) to be like sticky goo. One of the owners, Richard, did give me some jarred jam when I asked for it and then went on about how business owners should pay attention to their businesses while he complained about his broccoli supplier. The next night was in the Wicker Room which I got after explaining that my husband would hit his head in the other bathroom. This room was the same except had a large shower. They had the gall to charged me $30 more for it even though I was there due to the fact that a normal size man wouldn't fit in the shower in the other room. The water again was often at a trickle. The breakfast was nothing special. This place is also run strangely in that it is awkward trying to find the owners. They have a bell which doesn't work well on the front desk but they mostly seem to hang out in the closed kitchen. There is no coordination about how to order breakfast. We had also asked in advance if it would be alright to leave our car overnight and had been told yes When we came back (we were on bikes overnight) they asked in an annoyed tone if we were taking the car when they knew full well that that was the arrangement. Their restaurant is also overpriced.

Room Tip: Avoid the Cannonball Room if you are over 5'4" or you won't fit in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Definitely a "recommend". One of the nicer places to stay in an area that doesn't have a lot to offer for accommodations. Breakfast was A+. Nicely served with a couple of entree options; No-one will go away hungry. Room was quiet with a private bath/AC. Furniture was eclectic and dated with the bathroom definitely in need of a redo, but if you wanted the Holiday Inn, you wouldn't be here. Owners and staff were absolutely great and very helpful about planning and seeing the local area. We didn't have dinner there, but folks we talked to said it was "great". There was a $20 difference between the posted rate for our room on the website and what we paid, but it wasn't worth quibbling about. We were in the middle of "high season" and there was only one rate posted, so I think it just hadn't been changed on the website. Overall, thumbs up!

Room Tip: There were three of us, so they rolled in a roll-away. Better to see if the bedroom with two queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We found Ransom Bay B&B a fantastic, cozy place to spend a weekend with friends. The four upstairs rooms are comfortable, homey and-- best of all on a hot summer's night-- have powerful A/C units to keep things cool. Housed in a 1790's stone building, the B&B has been run by Richard and Lorraine for the past 20 years.

They are great hosts, very friendly and accommodating and a knowledgeable font of information about the local area. There's a cozy little bar downstairs with cold beer on tap and an atmospheric dining room where Richard (who's also a chef) serves up his tasty concoctions. Dinner and drinks are very reasonably priced, and breakfasts (tasty and cooked to order) are included in the equally reasonable room rates.

The Ransom B&B is a great place to take day trips cycling from-- though we drove to nearby Canada one day to do a loop in the countryside there. The six of us unanimously thought Ransom Bay B&B was a great place to stay, and we plan on returning next year. Don't steal our rooms or I won't post any more TripAdvisor reviews!

Room Tip: All the rooms are upstairs and equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Ransom Bay Inn B&B in July 2012.
The room (named Spinning Wheel) was big enough and comfortable due to the A/C unit.
The only drawbacks are that the window and the shower in that particular room were a tad small.
The other rooms had wider windows and showers.
The place was really quiet.

The hosts are wonderfull and really made us feel at home!
The parking is spacious and convenient.

The breakfast were great and offered fruits, juice, croissants, eggs, bacon, french toasts, pancakes, etc.
The restaurant opened for diner (5 to 9) is also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LEV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arived soaked to the skin on a bicycle tour to Montreal, having just realized that the passport was in the car in Burlington. Lorraine offered to get it in the morning while we ate breakfast, and our I was saved a ride back and the loss of a day! And the service went on from there! After Lorraine showed us our rooms- quaint, clawfoot tubs, windows overlooking the yards, comfortable beds- Richard showed up with a laundry basket and told us he'd dry our wet bicycle clothes. Well stocked comfortable bar, great dinning room with an adventuresome menu. Nice private common room away from the dining guests. This is a great find, in a tucked away coerner of the world. Very quiet and peaceful, and perfectly spaced for our tour. But its Lorraine and Richard that make this a top stop. Thanks Lorraine, you're my hero.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank remurphyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alburgh
9.9 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
93 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
69 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
7.9 mi away
Inn at the Isles
Inn at the Isles
#2 of 2 in Isle La Motte
15 reviews
9.4 mi away
North Hero House
North Hero House
#1 of 2 in North Hero
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Center Bay, Alburgh, VT 05440-9619
Location: United States > Vermont > Alburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alburgh
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing