We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly atmosphere”

Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Alburgh B&B and Inns
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I arrived at the Inn after a long day of bicycle travel. Richard and Lorraine create an atmosphere which is both relaxing and friendly. We enjoyed a drink on the deck looking into the garden on a glorious September afternoon. Our dinner was leisurely and delicious. Over breakfast the next morning, Richard engaged us in conversation. When I mentioned how much I enjoyed the pea soup at dinner the night before, he brought me out a bowl to go with my breakfast. In short, our hosts made us feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel03261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent a night enroute to Montreal and enjoyed the stay. The location of the BB is very convient--right by scenic Route 2. The room is clean and quiet (except the shower space is very limited), breakfast made to order with the owner's nice company, and wireless internet available. We also loved the dinner on site and found local people also come here often. Finally, try the free bike there for a two-block ride to the water front, it's fun!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phdgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We traveled with another couple last September and actually stayed at the North Hero House. We decided to go up to Saint Anne's Shrine and happened to mention this at the gift shop near North Hero House. The owner was very friendly and suggested if we were going there to have dinner at the Ransom Bay Inn. We arrived before the dinner hour and asked if they would have room for four for dinner. Not only did they do that, but they opened the bar for us and let us sit and chat until it was the dinner hour. Lorrraine and Richard are wonderful hosts and were very accommodating to people who did not even have reservations.
All four of us had a great meal, in fact, I think we all agreed it was one of the best we ever had dining out. The lamb and salmon were just perfect and the side dishes just great.
Our only regret is that we are not closer to this area to have another enjoyable experience. We did not stay there but I am sure the rooms and breakfast would be equally as welcoming and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MA-Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Loraine and Richard are the sweetest couple you'll ever meet! The place was cute and they made you feel like family. I hope to visit them again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristow727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Was there for one night ,June 30th . Had dinner there that night with some friends . Food was great , a little slow , but when you relize everything is made to order ,from scratch , you can appreciate what you'r getting . Room was great (up the stairs ,first door on the right ) . Had a great sleep , woke up refreshed and reay for a great breakfast , had the french toast which was spectacular !!
I'll be back this time with my wife .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N6556Tdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed at MANY B&B;s. The hosts are very nice. The food is wonderful.
I will probably never be back in the area again, (We attended a wedding) but if I did we would DEFINATELY stay here again. The Breakfast was like something out of a large
resort area like Newport, Rhode Island or the Southern Maine Coast. We had a French Toast Croissant dipped in corn flakes, as Rachel Ray would say, Delish!!!!!!!! If you are ever in this area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I've stayed in lots of B & B's in the world and this one is on the top of my list. Lorraine and Richard are such wonderful host. We arrived actually unannounced and was hoping they could accommodate us at 8pm for 1 night . We had a 11mth old baby which us being the only ones staying it was no problem accommodating us. There is onsite a bar and restaurant which is such a bonus. They have there own draft beer which is WOW. We had lovely chats with Lorraine and Richard that night and following day. The next morning they made such a wonderful breakfast!! They really went out of there way to make our stay very comfortable and soo cosy. I recommend anyone to stay here for a great stay!!! You feel like family. The house is about 200 years old and makes the stay even more quaint. Love the decor of the place! Thanks Lorraine and Richard for an awesome stay. From the Aussie, The marine and the giggly, happy baby :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alburgh
9.9 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
85 reviews
14.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
13.9 mi away
Cadillac Motel
Cadillac Motel
#3 of 5 in Saint Albans
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
21 reviews
12.9 mi away
Point Au Roche Lodge
Point Au Roche Lodge
#1 of 5 in Plattsburgh
140 reviews
9.5 mi away
North Hero House
North Hero House
#1 of 2 in North Hero
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Center Bay, Alburgh, VT 05440-9619
Location: United States > Vermont > Alburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alburgh
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing