We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family reunion in 10 years”
Review of Rockin R Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockin R Ranch
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best family reunion in 10 years”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We had a 3-day family reunion with 14 adults and 17 grandchildren. We all LOVED our stay at Rockin' R. It was a good balance of free time and scheduled activites. Scheduled activites included trail rides on horses with a group, family rodeo, campfire, archery, hayride,children's treasure hunt (needs a little more zing for the younger children), family lawn games (human foosball), arts and crafts for children, line dancing instruction and night with the band for dancing. 3 meals a day were served cafeteria style in the cozy dining area. Snacks such as cornbread and cinammon rolls were set out each morning. A bowl of fresh fruit, hot chocolate, and coffee were always out for the taking.
Highlights were the pond which I affectionately dubbed the swimming hole. That's where the kids swam. Two canoes at the pond were a big hit - the kids and adults were able to take them for a paddle any time we wanted. the family rodeo was the greastest. Adults had a barrel race on horses. Children donned helmet and vest for mutton busting, and the daring adults tested their limit on calf riding. The children just roamed the great outdoors at will as they played on the playground, had guided horse rides, played pool or foosball in the game room (adult surpervision required). We brought our onw 4-wheelers and dirt bikes for some entertainment. Adults took plenty of pictures or relaxed in the great hall. The greatest plus of all was the staff. If you want purebred cowboys/girls, you get them at Rockin' R . They are genuinely kind, hard-working people. All the staff are clean-cut and most of the staff are college students there for the summer.
The rooms were a disappointment at first but we quickly got used to them since the place was all around so great. My kids loved our full/twin bunkbed. My sister's room had a double bunkbed AND a triple bunkbed.
The day after we returned home, my 8 year old son asked when we would be going again. We will definitely return some time. My sister and her 5 children returend home with 2 of the ranch's puppies. One was affectionately named Rocky after Rockin'R.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsiPitsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    8
    3
    11
See reviews for
50
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The Rockin' R Ranch was perfect for our family reunion, with 17 grandchildren under the age of 14 down to 1 yr. old. It's a down-home, coutnry style ranch with plenty of activites for the enitre family. Horse trail rides, hay rides, pony rides, pond/canoes, buffet-style dining, rodeo (your family are the participants!), archery, etc...It is no 5 star hotel and the food was OK, but the whole package was AWESOME and the staff was fabulous!!! They do wear cowboy boots, hats etc and look like offical wranglers/cowboys! Very low key, fun, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Last July we planned to stay 2-3 days with 4 young kids hoping to get a real "dude ranch" experience. What we got was far from it. Ultimately we checked out after the first night. The food was terrible (don't expect BBQ), the accommodations were spartan to be kind, and the activities varied from just barely passable to absolutely embarrassing. The staff makes little effort to provide the dude ranch experience. For example, they don't even dress the part. Baseball hats, not cowboy hats, tennis shoes not cowboy boots. I had a hard time convincing my 7 year old that the gentleman helping him learn how to ride a horse was a real cowboy. I felt terrible for several other families who had traveled from Europe to experience the real Western US. After one night, we decided to check out early, and to my surprise, there was a another couple trying to get their money back for the same reason. Simply put, stay away. This is not the experience they advertise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldTraveler1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2009

If you want somewhere to go that is relaxing and fun filled, Rockin R Ranch in Antimony, UT is the place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVE2TRAVEL038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Othello, WA
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We recently stayed at the Rockin R for a family reunion and have to say the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They offer a variety of activities from horseback rides to your very own rodeo (you are the participants). The rooms are the quality of a one to two star hotel. The food was mediocre. It was served cafeteria style. You could eat as much as you wanted to. The only meal that was in the OK range was breakfast. But, it's not about the food. There are plenty of activities and things to see within an hours drive. We visited Bryce Canyon and were stunned with its beauty. We thoroughly enjoyed the advanced horseback rides (you have to request this). So if you're looking for a great place to relax this could be for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My wife and I went on the cattle drive,but because of the cold at the higher elevations stayed at the lodge rather than the cow camp. The rooms were clean and the food was very good.

We stayed here as part of a 3 week trip to some of the many National Parks in southern Utah, and the cattle drive was the highlight of a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steevdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We brought a big Youth Group to the Rockin R Ranch in June. The kids (ages 12-18) has the best time. There were non-stop activities to choose from such as horse-back riding, rafting, swimming and lots of fun western activities that you can only experience on a dude ranch. Everyone was happily surprised with how nice the lodging was -- very clean and the service was excellent. I would highly recommend the Rockin R Ranch. We had a great time. It was the kind of experience that we will always remember and laugh about.

  • Liked — The Lodge
  • Disliked — No Cell Phone reception
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utahcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rockin R Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockin R Ranch

Property: Rockin R Ranch
Address: 775 N Highway 22, PO Box 458, Antimony, UT 84712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Antimony
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Antimony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockin R Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Rockin r Ranch Hotel Antimony
Rockin R Ranch Utah/Antimony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing