We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butless Chaps optional...”
Review of Rockin' R Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockin' R Ranch
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Ok not really. This is a mormon town, so you have to keep it relatively clean.

I went with my best gal pal, we stayed three nights. We really had a wonderful time away from the city and our jobs. It was truly a breath of fresh air.

RockinRranch is rustic and comparable to six grade camp but for adults and kids. Do not expect standard hotel and resort level treatment or service.

Here are the highlights:

Goods:
- The location is beautiful, it's remote, rolling hills, blue skies with perfect white clouds, and brilliant weather.
- The staff are super friendly, they are all temporary workers with exception of managers and chefs. What was interesting was that there seemed to be a lot more female ranch hands than male ranch hands.
- The activities were fun, the best is being able to do horse rides a couple of times a day.

Needs improvement:
- The food.
- Training and organization of the staff was sometimes jumbled. But everyone was always super super nice.
- No internet in the rooms, but at least you could access it from the lobby.

I would definitely come back here. There's nothing luxurious or upscale about this place. You will also notice the staff work super super hard, 16 day hour days.

We left a tip at the end of our stay for the entire group to split.
They were good to us.

Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank ringinthenewyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

First, I must admit, my Father was born and raised in Antimony. I visit several times a year and have throughout my time on good ole earth. We have a family home in Antimony but I prefer the solitude of Rockin R Ranch and stay often. Don't, DO NOT expect luxury. There's no television in the rooms or high thread count sheets and towels. But, the rooms are nice, clean and have what you need. Beds are firm but comfortable and other than dogs, cattle and the occasional car it's peaceful and quiet. Keep in mind, some cellular service may not reach you...GASP.

The staff is always happy to help in any way they can. The live music on summer weekends is great and you are welcome to dance along. Food is served buffet style and is pretty good. You better enjoy because there are only two other options in town...the Antimony Merc (try the burgers and remember you are in Antimony, Utah) and another locale on the other side of town near Otter Creek Reservoir. The Merc usually shuts down around 6 and the other option I recall around 7.

If you need to connect again there's a nice42" flat screen in the game room where you can get your game on, choice of two pool tables as well as a huge deck the offers some pretty nice views. There's a place outside to shoot some hoops and volley ball ready to go on the huge front lawn.

Make sure you spend some time outside at night...remember stars like that when you were little? Cool, crisp clean air.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teek4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We are a family of five with teenagers (two sons and a daughter - 16, 15, 13 respectively) and had one of our best vacations at the Rockin' R Ranch. While we have read all of the former reviews, our review reflects what we experienced at the ranch today. First, the location and time of year cannot be beat. While remote, Antimony is the perfect picture of scenic ranch land nestled in a valley. The weather was perfect, cool in the morning, and warm and breezy in the afternoons, with millions of stars visible at night. Second, the staff was amazing, being extremely friendly and accommodating with any of our requests. We took the time to get to know the staff and it enhanced our experience greatly. We got to know them on a personal level as they explained their lifestyle, and what they go through on a daily basis throughout the year to run the ranch. Third, the activities were well organized, varied, and the staff worked hard to make sure the activities were well suited for our family. Our family with teenagers had different activites from the family reunions that had very small children, and everyone had a great time. There were a variety of trail rides, which our family loved, and the horses were extremely well cared for. The staff also worked to match the best horses with the level of riding experience each of us had. Fourth, the food was outstanding! The meals were at structured times, served buffet style, with each meal having a good variety to choose from. The food was filling, down-home cooking, ranging from pork chops, macaroni and cheese, to steak sandwiches and barbequed chicken. Breakfasts were equally as varied with pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage and cheesy scrambled eggs being some of what we had. Finally, the accommodations were more rustic (after all, it is a ranch), and our room was clean and comfortable. The room was not our priority in going to the ranch, and we did not expect five star accommodations with high-thread count Egyption cotton sheets. We went for the ranch experience, which the Rockin' R delivered. Overall, we would highly recommend the Rockin' R ranch, and we are looking forward to coming back for a cattle drive in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamPlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The rockin R dude ranch was soooooo fun. We had a wonderful time. Great accomodations, good food, fun and insightful staff. The list goes on and on. You would have to be the most boring person in the world to not have fun here. There are so many fun things to do everyday it was hard to decide what to do. We went on trail rides, shot skeet, shot archery, went hiking and fishing, ATV rentals, canoeing, petting zoo,etc. the scenery is breathtaking and you are only an hour away from many of Southern Utahs state parks and national monuments. Not that you will even have time to leave the ranch with so much going on. The mini rodeo every afternoon was the highlight for us. Barrel riding, mutton busting, calf roping and my personal favorite "calf riding" (my butt is still sore). Saturday night was really fun with a good live country band and we got to test our line dancing skills we had learned earlier in the week from our teacher Mick, he's a cowboy through and through, this guy is up at dawn wrangling horses and leading rides and then dances all night, always with a big ole grin. The ranch manager and his lovely wife even jumped in with the band to pick a few tunes. They are a very charming couple and were attentive to everyones needs all week, it didn't really surprise me that they were good musicians also.Hot Dang it was fun. After dancing we soaked our cares away in the hot tub and played a little pool and then had a great nights sleep. I can't describe the quiet peaceful beauty of this place in the cool evenings. It was amazing and very fun. We are planning the next family reunion already. Oh yeah, don't forget to go to the Mercantile and have a slice of heaven(pie).

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Standaman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We went to the Rockin" R Ranch for our family reunion. We thought we would go there and have tons of leisure time and be bored. We were so far from wrong. They had something planned for every minute of your day if you wanted to. We went horse back riding, we had our own private rodeo & went down rivers in inner tubes!!
The food was amazing and the staff was delightful. They made us feel like we were the only family there even though the place was full of other people. I would more than highly recommend this place for any family our group. We had the time of our life!!! It is one of the best things our family has ever done.
The Hammond Family Reunion

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6kidzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We had a family reunion with about 30 people and the staff made us feel like they were a part of our family! They were wonderful. There were some scheduled activities like horseback riding, calf and mutton riding, horse barrel racing, canoeing, line dancing, archery, and wagon rides. You could also just relax and sit around if wanted. The food was average and the rooms were about a 1-2 star quality, but with a large family, you didn't feel like you had to keep everything spotless. It's the activities and staff that made the entire trip worth it. In my opinion, a 2-3 night stay is perfect to get all the activities in and to just have a fun, memorable time with family of all ages and to get some great photos. We would return and we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationsrock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We had a 3-day family reunion with 14 adults and 17 grandchildren. We all LOVED our stay at Rockin' R. It was a good balance of free time and scheduled activites. Scheduled activites included trail rides on horses with a group, family rodeo, campfire, archery, hayride,children's treasure hunt (needs a little more zing for the younger children), family lawn games (human foosball), arts and crafts for children, line dancing instruction and night with the band for dancing. 3 meals a day were served cafeteria style in the cozy dining area. Snacks such as cornbread and cinammon rolls were set out each morning. A bowl of fresh fruit, hot chocolate, and coffee were always out for the taking.
Highlights were the pond which I affectionately dubbed the swimming hole. That's where the kids swam. Two canoes at the pond were a big hit - the kids and adults were able to take them for a paddle any time we wanted. the family rodeo was the greastest. Adults had a barrel race on horses. Children donned helmet and vest for mutton busting, and the daring adults tested their limit on calf riding. The children just roamed the great outdoors at will as they played on the playground, had guided horse rides, played pool or foosball in the game room (adult surpervision required). We brought our onw 4-wheelers and dirt bikes for some entertainment. Adults took plenty of pictures or relaxed in the great hall. The greatest plus of all was the staff. If you want purebred cowboys/girls, you get them at Rockin' R . They are genuinely kind, hard-working people. All the staff are clean-cut and most of the staff are college students there for the summer.
The rooms were a disappointment at first but we quickly got used to them since the place was all around so great. My kids loved our full/twin bunkbed. My sister's room had a double bunkbed AND a triple bunkbed.
The day after we returned home, my 8 year old son asked when we would be going again. We will definitely return some time. My sister and her 5 children returend home with 2 of the ranch's puppies. One was affectionately named Rocky after Rockin'R.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsiPitsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rockin' R Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockin' R Ranch

Address: 705 N. Highway 22, Antimony, UT 84712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Antimony
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Antimony
Price Range: $349 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockin' R Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PO Box 458 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockin' R Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockin r Ranch Hotel Antimony
Rockin' R Ranch Utah/Antimony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing