We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like being at home (in a good way)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Homestyle family dinners where you get to meet the other guests are wonderful, the buffets are huge, and the warm chocolate chip cookies that are put out at 4pm are to die for! Since there are no TVs in the rooms, everyone gathers in the common room (or bar) to play cards, chat, or read. It is a great way to end a hard day of skiing. Staff is mostly young skiers so they are very friendly and helpful, one even made a new coffee drink creation - coffee, kahlua, godiva liquer and Baileys - heaven! The rooms are quite basic but the atmosphere rules!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

The combination of Alta and the Alta Peruvian is as good as it gets for a ski vacation. There are different styles of ski vacations and if you care about the "village", " the scene" or need a 46 inch TV in your room, go someplace else. That is not an insult. As the bumper sticker says "Alta is for skier's". The Alta Peruvian is a great place to stay at Alta. The staff is universally pleasant and the food is very good, well excellent. I give the Chateau Whistler and the Alta Peruvian the same rating for very different reasons. It is in my opinion is great for couples and friend. For my family at this point (4 children) it would not be the best. This will not be the case in a few years, when I suspect they won't let me go with out them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naddatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place is a time machine! If you are looking for a super friendly, social, and fun place come here. My 18 year old son and I really enjoyed having dinner and breakfast with the other guests, This place is an old school ski lodge, family meals and spartan rooms. The heated pool is big and hot tubs are great. The nightly movies were fun. This place is great if you don't need a fancy room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The staff is great and service at the restaurant was outstanding. The rooms are small and outdated but adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashash1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here for an early season ski vacation. Lodge is very close to Collins lift and there are shuttle vans running back and forth all day long. Only 1 minute from the lodge to the lift. This is a great 1960's style lodge. The accomodations are basic, but the food is great. You can purchase lift tickets in the Pro Shop to avoid lines at Alta. Personnel are very friendly and helpful, not to mention I made some great new friends among the guests. Prices are reasonable and I would say it's a good value.

Room Tip: Nordic rooms are very basic with two twin beds and a sink. Toilet/Shower down teh hall. Alpine roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCLPYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

How does one describe a place that is unlike any other?? If you love friendly, homey, laid back and a total blast (never mind the best skiing in the world) then come have a drink, stay, eat, ski & meet wonderful people at the fabulous Alta Peruvian Lodge. Nothing compares.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEDEEWINTERS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

It is the case that the food is not the best and the accommodations are basic but I’m returning in 2012 nevertheless. I went in April 2011 just before they were about to close for the season. By then the chef must have been running out of energy and food. However, the dinner companions were all delightful every night I was there (they seat several couples together for dinner). Some of us planned to get together in 2012! The accommodations are basic but it is possible to sleep well for the night. The lodge is not exactly sky-in sky-out. However, they have a van that makes rounds to the lifts. One advantage of going late in the season is that the shop, which was very well equipped, had bargains of all sorts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibejar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.5 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
708 reviews
3.5 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
8.4 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Peruvian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Peruvian Lodge

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, P.O. Box 8017, Alta, UT 84092-8017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range: $288 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta Peruvian Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Alta Peruvian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Peruvian Hotel Alta
Alta Peruvian Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing