We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“POWDER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Ski Resort

Alta Ski Resort
Book In Advance
and up
Ski Salt Lake City Super Pass: Discounted Lift Passes, Rental and Free Transport
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alta turns 70 next winter. Alta's place in the ski world is unique, its history storied. Alta's culture blends this past with the future as it presents, along with Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort, America's first lift-served interconnect. Alta and pure, unspoiled skiing are synonymous. Alta's wide variety of terrain, breathtaking alpine scenery and superb snow conditions combine to create a unique setting. Alta continues to offer a ski-only experience.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

See Snowbird for more info. Alta is a Mecca for powder skiers. It is small by western standards but gets more dry powder then almost any place in the world. Salt Lake City is a wonderful place to stay and the shuttles to the four mountains runs regularly. If you love powder skiing, Alta is a must. One word of caution; the skiers at Alta are mainly snow hounds and excellent . If you are going to Alta to be seen, forget it. If you are going just for great skiing, GO FOR IT!

Visited January 2013
1 Thank DrJ9202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland in Spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is so magical. Good roads up to the mountain in a fog. A snow storm had come through overnight so we were not disappointed with the snow cover, and magical views through the trees. Great terrain and good quality chairlifts. Excellent value for money ski lift passes, compared to other Utah ski resorts.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank MaxBear08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
414 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Still the King!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place just IS Utah skiing! I love the kicked-back, relaxed attitude of this place. The skiing, especially for the advanced intermediate to expert levels, cannot be matched for snow quality and varied terrain conditions. The lodging situation is a little rustic shall we say, so if the great family experience is what you're after, stay at Snowbird down the road, but do your skiing here!

Visited April 2013
2 Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was my first trip to Utah. I had only skied parts East and a few resorts in Colorado so I was eager to ski here. I had talked to a traveller at Denver airport last year who was returning home from Alta. I had just skied Keystone Co(excellent) with my family and he was telling me about Alta. I did some research and planned a trip last month. It was a great trip. It was late season (April) but Alta was getting pounded with snow the day I skied. I loved the trails and the atmosphere of the resort. Serious skiers. I don't have problems with snowboarders, but Alta is closed to boarders. Great food and restaurants on the mountains. I skied my legs off! Crowds were light. I had skied Winter Park, Co(excellent) in February and Alta was just as good. The trails in Winter Park are much wider though. Loved Utah. I will return!

Visited April 2013
1 Thank freddyCookeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great terrain. Great snow. No pretension.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This resort is not new so don't go expecting a fancy new high end lodge and restaurants with ski valets - but do go expecting good snow and a great mix of terrain! There are chutes you can hike out to, bowls you can traverse to your favorite line, plenty of trees stands with great powder stashes, and lots of beautiful groomer runs. Between the old school nature of the resort, and the fact that snowboarders aren't allowed, it just seems super mellow and unpretentious. I've never hit big lift lines here nor have I encountered any negative attitude. Just good skiing.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank MrsZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Ski Resort also viewed


Been to Alta Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing