We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alta ski lodge”
Review of Snowpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snowpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

great spot at Alta base of 8500 ft! ski in and out. east wing king room newly remodeled and comfortable. outdoor hot tub on front porch with great view. 4 course dinners and breakfast part of package. the dinners are 5star with picturesque mountain views. i repeat the dinners are really good. good wine and beer served all hours ( i worried about that in utah). very helpful and friendly staff offering to help at every turn. masseuse was very good. internet and cell service was perfectly spotty to let you disconnect. skiing was awesome with 3/4 powder days!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a private room. i think they also have rooms with shared bathroom downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great long weekend of skiing at Alta and the Snowpine really made our expereince nice. The updates they have made are terrific. The rooms and the furnishings are a major improvement. Eddie, Charlie, and Robin and really everyone working there were very hospitable.
We want to return again ASAP. But please don't gouge the prices on us now that you are making it nicer or it will be hard to keep coming!! As always we met other nice and interesting guests there...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Mundo_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having been intelligently upgraded in several ways that matter to skiers -- for example the boot room is now excellent -- the Snowpine is a fine choice for an Alta stay if you're willing to overlook the larger, more obvious and more conventional choices (such as Goldminer's and the Alta Lodge). The older rooms can be tight; if that's an issue be sure to get one of the eight in the new wing. Breakfast and dinner are adequate or better. The lodge's atmosphere is modest but comfortable and pleasant. Staff are exceptionally helpful and welcoming. There's more guest-to-guest interaction than in most other places, a plus. The tow -- unique! -- is pretty much a pain. Overall, the Snowpine is hard to beat at the price and a genuine throwback to earlier days of skiing. And Alta is Alta.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just visited. A definite thumbs up. Been going there for 21 years straight. Dinners are as good as any place in Alta (my guess). New chef Nate is pretty talented guy. They have done a lot of renovations and pumping a bit of money into the cozy place. Very comfortable. Dorms rooms are more private now. All new doors in the place. Everybody very friendly and helpful. They are still sorting out some kinks with the renovations and unfortunately are fixing the impacts due to a broken fire service line last week.

I'd recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlayerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A buddy and I stayed at the Snowpine Lodge for a ski weekend in early December. We had a fantastic experience from the second we set foot in the lodge until the moment we begrudgingly left. The location of the Lodge is unreal. You literally suit up and ski down a small hill to the tow-rope. From there its a quick 2 minute ride to two major lifts on Alta mountain.

Breakfast and dinner is included in the stay and WOW the food was good. Breakfast was delicious and a perfect way to get ready for a full day of skiing. Dinner was delicious, each and every night.

The new management is fantastic. The General Manager Robin and Property Manager Eddie went out of their way to make sure every detail of our stay was perfect....and it was.

Overall it was just a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend the Snowpine Lodge for anyone looking for a unique, comfy/cozy, stress-free ski trip.

Room Tip: Opt for smaller rooms if you don't have a need for the extra space. Much of our free time after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If I could give the Snowpine Lodge a 6 star rating, I would! From the moment you enter the lodge until the day you (unfortunately) finish your vacation, you are treated like royalty. General Manager, Robin, Chef, Nate, Property Manager Eddie and I can't forget Charlie, are professional, courteous and show genuine care that your vacation is all it can be. The rooms are spacious, the views amazing, the plush pillow top beds with down comforters are to die for after a long day. I stayed in the new wing and my room, along with all of the lodge lounge areas with fireplaces made me want to stay another week.

The lodge itself is spacious, warm, and cozy with beautiful appointments. It feels like a very rich and cozy home rather than an efficient 5 star lodge. You can't beat the views of the mountain and canyon and when it snows, it's just breath taking. The jacuzzi and fire pit are a perfect place to relax, after a hard day skiing.

The meals are amazing too. Chef Nate provides top notch, fresh and original 4 course cuisine, gives sizeable portions and the individual details and seasonings are so delicious. His fresh daily soups and desserts are to die for, as are his many different main courses. Some of my favorites were his blueberry/apple crunch with vanilla ice cream, his amazing roasted chicken and bleu cheese potatoes and gravy, and his glazed salmon with cilantro/chorizo pancake. If you like hearty breakfasts, try his banana bread french toast with hot syrup and fresh fruit on the side.

I can't say enough about this vacation trip to the Snowpine. Every detail of your vacation is taken care of by Robin and the rest of the great people. Try them....you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: One of the oldest places in the canyon, yet, with the renovations, it feels like a very cozy and wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawaiian-Tutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Having stayed at Snowbird's Cliff Lodge (a big hotel that always seems to have conferences going on) the last three times I came to Little Cottonwood Canyon to ski, I wanted a different experience on this trip so I decided to stay at Alta's Snowpine Lodge, which I found through an Internet search. What a great decision -- I love Snowpine and cannot wait to return! It's exactly what a ski lodge should be.

Built in the late 1930s, over the past year, the lodge has been beautifully renovated in a way that preserves its historic character and makes the space very comfortable, cozy and even homey. I would describe the decor as "Pottery Barn Rustic." The photos on Snowpine's website are 100 percent accurate.

While not posh or luxurious, Snowpine offers all the basic amenities that skiers want and then some: very comfy beds with down comforters, on-site ski and boot storage (and a boot changing room), late afternoon homemade cookies when you come in from the slopes, and complimentary transportation between Alta and Snowbird. My East wing room had a flat-screen TV.

The staff is highly attentive and accommodating, providing service that is as good as it gets anywhere. The chef (whose pedigree includes working with/under an East coast celebrity chef) is extremely talented so the food is outstanding. This is an important consideration since breakfast and dinner are included in the nightly rate. Every meal was wonderful and some dinners were even spectacular.

Because the lodge is small, guests inevitably mingle with one another in the common areas, which include an intimate-size, dining room that overlooks the Alta ski area and several, well-appointed, den-like, living rooms. You likely will make new friends and even acquire some new ski buddies! Snowpine seems to have a loyal, early ski season following. A number of guests during my stay knew each other from previous visits in the first half of December. I might just become a member of that "club" going forward!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't have televisions so it that's important to you, check before you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasOutdoorChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.0 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alta Lodge
Alta Lodge
#3 of 5 in Alta
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Snowbird
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowpine Lodge

Address: 10420 State Highway #210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Alta, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range: $100 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge, with just 22 rooms, offers an intimate feel and personal level of service rarely found at larger hotels. With the addition of a spa treatment room, a new patio and outdoor firepit, upgraded lobbies and new luxurious finishes in the guest rooms, the Snowpine Lodge is perfect for families, couples or small corporate events. Our ski in ski out location and spectacular views combined with the World's Best Snow make this a perfect place to make new memories! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Snowpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Pine Hotel Alta
Snowpine Lodge Alta, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing