We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowpine Lodge = Ultimate Ski-In/Ski-Out Lodge”
Review of Snowpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snowpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A buddy and I stayed at the Snowpine Lodge for a ski weekend in early December. We had a fantastic experience from the second we set foot in the lodge until the moment we begrudgingly left. The location of the Lodge is unreal. You literally suit up and ski down a small hill to the tow-rope. From there its a quick 2 minute ride to two major lifts on Alta mountain.

Breakfast and dinner is included in the stay and WOW the food was good. Breakfast was delicious and a perfect way to get ready for a full day of skiing. Dinner was delicious, each and every night.

The new management is fantastic. The General Manager Robin and Property Manager Eddie went out of their way to make sure every detail of our stay was perfect....and it was.

Overall it was just a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend the Snowpine Lodge for anyone looking for a unique, comfy/cozy, stress-free ski trip.

Room Tip: Opt for smaller rooms if you don't have a need for the extra space. Much of our free time after...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Snowpine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 112 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

If I could give the Snowpine Lodge a 6 star rating, I would! From the moment you enter the lodge until the day you (unfortunately) finish your vacation, you are treated like royalty. General Manager, Robin, Chef, Nate, Property Manager Eddie and I can't forget Charlie, are professional, courteous and show genuine care that your vacation is all it can be. The rooms are spacious, the views amazing, the plush pillow top beds with down comforters are to die for after a long day. I stayed in the new wing and my room, along with all of the lodge lounge areas with fireplaces made me want to stay another week.

The lodge itself is spacious, warm, and cozy with beautiful appointments. It feels like a very rich and cozy home rather than an efficient 5 star lodge. You can't beat the views of the mountain and canyon and when it snows, it's just breath taking. The jacuzzi and fire pit are a perfect place to relax, after a hard day skiing.

The meals are amazing too. Chef Nate provides top notch, fresh and original 4 course cuisine, gives sizeable portions and the individual details and seasonings are so delicious. His fresh daily soups and desserts are to die for, as are his many different main courses. Some of my favorites were his blueberry/apple crunch with vanilla ice cream, his amazing roasted chicken and bleu cheese potatoes and gravy, and his glazed salmon with cilantro/chorizo pancake. If you like hearty breakfasts, try his banana bread french toast with hot syrup and fresh fruit on the side.

I can't say enough about this vacation trip to the Snowpine. Every detail of your vacation is taken care of by Robin and the rest of the great people. Try them....you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: One of the oldest places in the canyon, yet, with the renovations, it feels like a very cozy and wea...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawaiian-Tutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Having stayed at Snowbird's Cliff Lodge (a big hotel that always seems to have conferences going on) the last three times I came to Little Cottonwood Canyon to ski, I wanted a different experience on this trip so I decided to stay at Alta's Snowpine Lodge, which I found through an Internet search. What a great decision -- I love Snowpine and cannot wait to return! It's exactly what a ski lodge should be.

Built in the late 1930s, over the past year, the lodge has been beautifully renovated in a way that preserves its historic character and makes the space very comfortable, cozy and even homey. I would describe the decor as "Pottery Barn Rustic." The photos on Snowpine's website are 100 percent accurate.

While not posh or luxurious, Snowpine offers all the basic amenities that skiers want and then some: very comfy beds with down comforters, on-site ski and boot storage (and a boot changing room), late afternoon homemade cookies when you come in from the slopes, and complimentary transportation between Alta and Snowbird. My East wing room had a flat-screen TV.

The staff is highly attentive and accommodating, providing service that is as good as it gets anywhere. The chef (whose pedigree includes working with/under an East coast celebrity chef) is extremely talented so the food is outstanding. This is an important consideration since breakfast and dinner are included in the nightly rate. Every meal was wonderful and some dinners were even spectacular.

Because the lodge is small, guests inevitably mingle with one another in the common areas, which include an intimate-size, dining room that overlooks the Alta ski area and several, well-appointed, den-like, living rooms. You likely will make new friends and even acquire some new ski buddies! Snowpine seems to have a loyal, early ski season following. A number of guests during my stay knew each other from previous visits in the first half of December. I might just become a member of that "club" going forward!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't have televisions so it that's important to you, check before you boo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasOutdoorChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at season opening. I had chosen the lodge mainly for budgetary reasons,and was positively surprised by the quality. The refurbishment initiated by the new owners was not 100% completed (there was some delay due to the first snow storm of the season) and there were only very few guests. Actually, I was the only one for for 2 nights. So, I had the full attention of the staff, which was very friendly, helpful, and unobtrusive. The new chef is just great, providing a 4 course dinner every evening. Even 2 French colleagues, who stayed for 2 days, were enthusiastic about it. The rooms are not luxurious, but provide what I expect when skiiing: cosy, clean, offering a hot shower, and a TV set.
Being the only guest, I did not make much use of the common rooms. However, they include large TVs and/or a gas-drive fire-place and a good collection of board games.
There were hardly any weak points to report: the free WiFi worked very well in the common room, but not in my chamber; and a problem with the TV cable in the chambers that occured during my stay could not be fixed before I left.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T0m64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The new changes happening at the Snowpine lodge are very exciting and just what it needed. New owners have taken over and seem to be very dedicated to transforming Snowpine from run-down dormitory to cozy, comfortable lodge. The renovated rooms are nice and very comfortable, while the new common areas are perfect for winding down after a long day of ripping powder. Everyone congregated to them at the end of the day which led to the forming of many new friendships. Fortunately the renovations are not ostentatious nor over the top, but rather enhance the expected warmth and comfort of a lodge. The food was pretty good and it sounded like a new chef is on the way to spice the kitchen up. I absolutely loved my stay at the Snowpine lodge and really enjoyed everyone there from the owners to the other guests. Everyone and everything was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have stayed at snowpine numerous times over the past 10 years. I have chosen it for its unique, retro feel. It was a quirky, step back in time that didn't feel like 'every other lodge' with a 60 inch TV in the lobby. Times are changing for snowpine unfortunately. There are new owners that have taken over and they are 'upgrading' the lodge...read..'making it like every other place'. No longer is the feature of the lobby the fireplace, but rather it is now the 60 inch tv...no longer do people sit and read and play board games and actually speak to one another. Now they sit fixated on the television in silence.
We also had the extreme misfortune of being in the lodge when the new owner's family (40+ people in all, with 15+ toddlers) converged on the lodge for 'meals'. These times of extreme chaos were very loud and very intrusive to the guests. In short, it was an overbearing display of arrogance with no regard for the paying guests.
When we arrived, they did not have our reservation in the system and claimed that it was because they were new owners and the computers had been changed. Ultimately, they did have a room for us, but only because the lodge was not very busy at the time of our stay. There was also another couple that had the same problem when we arrived...
All in all, I feel very disappointed with the Snowpine and will not return after this year. I have always considered it to be a jewel in these times of 'lets all be the same'. Snowpine is now in that catagory. If that is what you are looking for...add snowpine to your list...or just stay anywhere else!

I feel ver

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank skier1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

As a group of five friends - we wanted to stay close to the mountain and were all about skiing/eating/sleeping. Snowpine fit the bill - very relaxing B&B like setting - friendly staff who were eager to help - good food / warm atmosphere - low on luxuries as others have noted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.1 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
6.6 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
695 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
622 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowpine Lodge

Address: 10420 State Highway #210, Little Cottonwood Canyon, Alta, UT 84092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range: $100 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snowpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge, with just 22 rooms, offers an intimate feel and personal level of service rarely found at larger hotels. With the addition of a spa treatment room, a new patio and outdoor firepit, upgraded lobbies and new luxurious finishes in the guest rooms, the Snowpine Lodge is perfect for families, couples or small corporate events. Our ski in ski out location and spectacular views combined with the World's Best Snow make this a perfect place to make new memories! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Snowpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Pine Hotel Alta
Snowpine Lodge Alta, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing