We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Chef in Town”
Review of Alta Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“New Chef in Town”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As a repeat customer since 1979, I have demonstrated my appreciation for the Lodge by my actions. The only area I thought lacking , and have made my opinion known, was the restaurant that feeds a captive audience. The menu had hardly changed over 33 years! Cheffy retired and his long term Sous Chef has stepped up and, well, has made for a big, big change. We had two or three memorable meals in our last stay there. The lamb shank was incredible and we argued about the tomato sauce after taste, all to our liking mind you, but would you have done it differently? with more this or that, you know the process. The oso bucco pork leg was raved about by long term Lodge visitors as well, but we missed that by a night. Subtle changes were everywhere and welcomed.. The Lodge is now a place for foodies
and the only note of criticism I could ever muster about the Lodge has been corrected in spades.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZekeLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    24
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
22
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

In 27 years of skiing, the Alta Lodge is the best place I have ever stayed. It is located at the base of Alta Ski Resort with true ski-in, ski-out access. Staying here feels like you stepped back in time to a by-gone era when skiing was much simpler. The Alta Lodge has everything you need to truly enjoy a few days of world class-skiing!!

ROOM: We stayed in a room with a private bathroom. It was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The bathroom is updated and comfortable. There was plenty of closet/storage space for all of our gear in the room, as well as a lodge locker room for our skis.
FOOD: The food was fantastic! Each guest gets breakfast and dinner included in their stay. Breakfast is a buffet, but you can order special items from the kitchen. The kitchen is also open for lunch for purchase. Dinner at the lodge is the best! We felt like we ate a gourmet meal every night! Small groups have the option to eat at a private table, but if you are feeling friendly you can join a group table where you will probably meet your next ski buddies. We actually got to eat with the lodge owners one night which was a real treat. They were very friendly, down to earth folks and I was flattered that they shared their table with us.
SERVICE: The service is fantastic and responsive. The front desk took care of all of our needs, including our lift tickets and shuttle. We made the reservation in October and had everything taken care of several months in advance.
MOUNTAIN: Alta is a serious mountain and I recommend it to intermediate skiers and up. It is conveniently located less than 45 minutes away from the SLC airport. The snow lives up to its reputation.

If you are serious about skiing - stay at the Alta Lodge! You won't regret it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cuerno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lodges at ski resorts don't have to be nice. They are booked out literally years in advance. In a multimillion dollar industry like the ski industry in Utah, the money comes with or without good customer service. Unfortunately that has been my experience with most of the lodges at Alta. The Alta Lodge is the only place that has illustrated to me that it cares more about returning customers than the others. I am headed up to the Rocky Mountain Knitting Retreat this weekend (it's my second time) and I just ran into some complications with my roommate. Rosie at the Lodge didn't waste any time solving my problem and making sure I was still able to attend. Add that to the food, care, and other amenities the Lodge provides our retreat, and I can never see myself staying anywhere else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Alta Lodge is not a slick, shiny hotel. It has no TVs or microwave ovens in the rooms. There is a set of stairs that must be navigated to get down to the lobby (the hotel offers a courtesy shuttle, if that is desired, plus young staffers willing to carry your stuff up/down). But, as a long-time Alta (local) skier, I can tell you that Alta Lodge reflects the distinct feeling that is Alta: casual, self-reliant, and more interested in the terrain/snow than anything else. The rooms have all been redecorated in recent years with mid-century modern furniture. They are quiet. All rooms have some sort of incredible view (my personal favorite is the Rustler view). The lobby also has been redecorated in mid-century modern. They offer Aveda cosmetics and wonderful thick towels/robes. The service is first rate. I have stayed at the lodge once per year for 5 years and the staff remembers me.

Room Tip: Choose Rustler or up-canyon view. Ask for corner room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a wedding in September, so we didn't come for the skiing, obviously. We don't ski, but we do love hiking, so this location was ideal for us in between wedding events.

I agree with all of the other reviewers. The service was impeccable. The front staff went out of there way to help us with even the smallest request. The housekeeping staff were thoroughly attentive and the food was great. The scenery was breathtaking.

The decor is definitely mid 20th century, though I applaud them for hanging on to that classic "space-age" look. The furniture was in good condition. Also, I was so impressed with the functionality of the room set up; two closets, enough shelves and hooks, and even an extra curtain rod over the bathtub, I assume to allow wet ski clothes to dry.

My one large complaint is the heating and cooling system, which is also mid-century. It was so hard to get a balance between hot and cold. You never knew what temperature the room would be. The hotel tries to accommodate this by providing a watering can to fill the "swamp cooler", a humidifier complete with salt packets, and a laminated card with suggestions on how to keep your room form overheating.

I would have given it a 1 rather than 3 if everything else had not been so fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKNSW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Alta Lodge is one of several restaurants in the area featuring spectacular views of the ski areas, but it is likely not the best choice for enjoying those views while dining.

The atmosphere for dining is disappointing. The facility itself is rather worn and very dated feeling. Many wooden stairs take you down from the parking area at street level to the dining room (and lodge check-in desk). There is a fairly large, plain, dated dining room with booths and tables. On Sundays this is where several tables are set up for brunch. There's a lounge area with soft seating where musicians provide live music. On our recent brunch visit it was a soft jazz combo that seemed oddly out of place for rustic ski lodge offering casual food. Then there's a smallish deck overlooking the slopes. Unfortunately, the deck smelled vaguely of paint and the access from the deck to the buffet was constantly blocked with servers picking up and dropping off water and coffee carafes in the narrow doorway.

The food was just ok. There is a wide selection of cold vegetarian dishes and salads, some pastries, a pretty wide selection of desserts, a small selection of hot dishes, but no carving station, omelets to order, waffle station, etc. We found it quite odd that the hot station was manned -- diners may not take their own bacon, eggs, etc -- pieces are doled out by the server. Very odd for a buffet. We felt like they were afraid of running out of food.

Service was weird. Things got off to a bad start when the "host" gave our reserved table away to people without reservations, compelling us to wait. During our wait, a newly arrived party of four was seated before us (all of the tables are 4-tops), and eventually we were seated at the same time as another couple (also arriving after we did) and told our waitress would be right by. She did show up -- and served the other table, ignoring ours. A subsequent polite comment by one of us to the host resulted in a snippy retort. During our meal we observed/overheard several waitresses complaining to the host about how he seated their sections.

Sadly, although the owner or manager was also roaming the restaurant, he seemed oblivious to the fact that his waitresses were over-burdened and to the ineptness/rudeness of the host.

Overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New2Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff_Curry, Manager at Alta Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I’m disappointed that New2Cal did not have a good experience at Sunday Brunch. Alta Lodge Summer Sunday Brunch is a local favorite in the Salt Lake area from June to October, and our popularity has only increased in recent years. We think our mountain lodge atmosphere is warm and beautiful, and we especially love having the talented and well-known jazz guitar duo Keven Johansen and Tully Cathey play at Sunday Brunch. We take great pride in our Sunday Brunch menu, which features over 40 buffet selections, Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine and waffles to order, as well as pastries and breads baked in-house and without artificial transfats. We feature several hot buffet lunch items, although the hot menu is somewhat oriented toward breakfast items, as our hours are 9:30 am to 2 pm. At the same time, we are always updating and improving our cuisine. The Lodge is continually being remodeled and kept lovely for our guests, but most important to us is that our staff give gracious and attentive personal service to each of our guests. For this reason I’m especially concerned to hear that New2Cal did not have a good experience with the “host” at Brunch, and I think this probably affected New2Cal’s overall impression of Summer Sunday Brunch at the Lodge. I am following up specifically on this concern. We do appreciate the feedback, and we have already seen a change that we can make in our deck server station based on the comments about server traffic flow. We will use these comments in a constructive way as we strive to continue serving fine food, in a warm ambiance, with attentive personal service to our guests, summer and winter. For a complete perspective on Alta Lodge, please look at the Tripadvisor Specialty Lodging reviews, where Alta Lodge is consistently reviewed as Excellent; a great deal of this rating comes from our winter dining as well as summer dining.

Cliff Curry
General Manager
Alta Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending the weekend at the Alta Lodge with my husband. Beautiful setting and great room..Couldn't ask for a better mountain view. Delicious brunch and friendly staff. Will definitely recommend to family and friends!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
3.3 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
79 reviews
20.9 mi away
Airport Inn Hotel
Airport Inn Hotel
#55 of 75 in Salt Lake City
442 reviews
23.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airpo...
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
276 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
0.3 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Lodge

Property: Alta Lodge
Address: 10230 E. State Hwy. 210, P.O. Box 8040, Alta, UT 84092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the mountain at Alta Ski Area, Alta Lodge is Alta, Utah's first ski lodge. Full breakfast and four-course dinner are included with your overnight stay during winter season. Our ski in/ski out location, along with warm ambiance, personal service, and exceptional dining, make the Lodge the place to stay for a traditional ski vacation. With Snowbird just a mile away, guests ski the best of Little Cottonwood Canyon's powder with the Alta-Snowbird combined ski pass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Alta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Hotel Alta
Alta Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing