We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
wearvino
Vermont

The best at Alta - rooms, staff, food, and amenities

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 22, 2022
I have had the privilege of staying at the Rustler several times in recent years, and the first time was way back in the early 1970s. It remains at the top of anyplace I've stayed anywhere in the US or Europe. Do not hesitate to treat yourself to this ski in/ski out experience at Alta. In spite of the Covid challenges, staff and management provided a very steady hand in 2022 to make this winter as good as all the others. I appreciated their vaccination requirement and felt safer as a result.
The food is excellent, the bar is an oasis, the pool/hot tubs always a good temperature, and the in house ski shop will rent you all the gear you need. Leave your skis at home and rent quality skis that match the conditions during your stay.
Make the Rustler your Alta home!
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Mar 24, 2022
What a lovely review! Thank you for the high praise! We're always delighted to have guests stay with us and become part of the Rustler family. I am so glad that you are part of the clan. It is our pleasure to pamper our guests, and our goal to make the Rustler the easiest and most relaxing ski experience available. I am so glad we were able to make you and so many of our guests feel safer with our vaccination requirements. Looking forward to your swift return,
Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
0.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
0.3 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
    $169
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Agoda.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
$239
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $239
1.2 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
GREAT pool and the hot-tub seats 20
$199
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $183
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $183
1.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Booking.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $165
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $165
3.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
$555
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $503
  • Hotel Website
6.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
$344
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    $310
  • Hotels.com
    $310
  • Priceline
    $310
7.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alta
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 398 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2022

As usual - this was another Rustler stay - the accommodations and staff were great. This time however, during the eve (hopefully) of the Covid pandemic, I was concerned about eating ( mask down) in a crowded dining room. The dining managers and waitstaff could not have been more understanding & accommodating to my concerns. They provided me a small solo table reserved for breakfast and dinner in a corner of the bar. It worked out so well - the service was terrific. This is just one unique example of Rustler's top-notch customer service.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 42Joe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2022

Thank you for trusting us to safely host you for another stay at the Rustler. We have worked hard for a number of seasons to care for our guests and assuage their legitimate concerns about the pandemic. Thank you for commending our staff and culture. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you're able to return.

With warm thanks,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2022

The Rustler resort is worth every penny. While there might be some sticker shock at the price, it is worth every penny. From the food to the incredible staff, I don't think I could ask for anything more.

The staff are friendly and responsive. Anything we needed, we had. They remembered our names (all 5 of us), dealt with my crazy kids asking for everything under the sun (can you open up the craft room for me at 9 PM...Yes!)

They even had staff always on hand willing to drive us down to snowbird.

We had 2 lockers for our room that held all of our ski gear.

And - let's not forget about the food. Anything you could want, it's there for you. Incredible food.

I just love the Rustler. We went last year for the first time and came back this year. We are already booking for next year and met another family (that we saw last year) that will also be back again next year at the same time. In fact, this family loved it so much that they went 6 times this year (from out of state).

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ldeshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2022

To provide excellent value is one of our highest goals. The relaxed elegance, gourmet meals, and our genuinely kind staff are part of what we feel sets the Rustler apart. Thank you for celebrating us. Nothing means more to us than your decision to spend precious family time with us here at the Rustler. Thank you.

Looking forward to your swift return,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2022

The perfect ski vacation. Nice accommodations, friendly helpful staff, excellent food (included in tarif) and best of all ski in/ski out on one of the best ski mountains in the US. Easy transport from airport with shuttle or local car service. Love it

Room tip: If budget allows the Mountain View’s are well worth hav8ng.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stuartnz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2022

Thank you for your glowing review. Nothing makes us happier than providing you with the perfect ski vacation. Snow is great and we hope to have you return as swiftly as you are able.

Warmly,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2022

This could not be more perfect for skiing Alta. You arrive at Salt Lake Airport, catch the Alta shuttle directly to Alta, check in and enjoy wonderful rooms (with ski boot dryers), incredible breakfasts and dinners, large bar with giant circular fire in the middle and huge windows overlooking the mountain, outdoor heated pools and hot tubs, saunas, massages and anything else you want. Also, a terrific, friendly and helpful ski shop with all the services and products you need. Ski in, ski out -- it could not be better.

Room tip: Floors 5-8 best rooms, floor 5 most convenient (same level as restaurant and front desk), floors 1-4 less expensive and closer to spa
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skidisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2022

Thank you for your lovely review highlighting the ease of staying with us here at the Rustler. We believe that our guests could not be better, and we aspire to be your home away from home whenever you ski Alta.

Looking forward to your swift return,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2022 via mobile

We return to the Rustler every year to ski with friends and the experience remains constant. Transportation to/from SLC is fast, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is always good and changes daily, skiing is truly ski in/out. Apres ski activities revolve around the heated pool and sauna, a trip to the bar for a pre-dinner cocktail and then dinner which never disappoints. We then get a good night sleep and do it all again the next day.

Room tip: Book dinners ahead of time for first couple nights. Take some beverages to the heated pool for Apres ski relaxation.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CaryDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2022

We hope to remain central to your dedicated ski routine. Thank you for making us part of your skiing traditions. Your praise means everything to us.

Cordially,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews