We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
skidisk
Mountain View, California

A great place to call home in between skiing Alta

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 23, 2022
This could not be more perfect for skiing Alta. You arrive at Salt Lake Airport, catch the Alta shuttle directly to Alta, check in and enjoy wonderful rooms (with ski boot dryers), incredible breakfasts and dinners, large bar with giant circular fire in the middle and huge windows overlooking the mountain, outdoor heated pools and hot tubs, saunas, massages and anything else you want. Also, a terrific, friendly and helpful ski shop with all the services and products you need. Ski in, ski out -- it could not be better.
Date of stay: February 2022
Room Tip: Floors 5-8 best rooms, floor 5 most convenient (same level as restaurant and front desk), floors...
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Feb 27, 2022
Thank you for your lovely review highlighting the ease of staying with us here at the Rustler. We believe that our guests could not be better, and we aspire to be your home away from home whenever you ski Alta.

Looking forward to your swift return,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$312
$299
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Priceline
    $299
0.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
0.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
GREAT pool and the hot-tub seats 20
$209
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
$655
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $655
  • Skyscanner.com
    $610
  • Expedia.com
    $655
6.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
  • eDreams
0.0 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
8.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.2 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Alta
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 398 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2022 via mobile

We return to the Rustler every year to ski with friends and the experience remains constant. Transportation to/from SLC is fast, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is always good and changes daily, skiing is truly ski in/out. Apres ski activities revolve around the heated pool and sauna, a trip to the bar for a pre-dinner cocktail and then dinner which never disappoints. We then get a good night sleep and do it all again the next day.

Room tip: Book dinners ahead of time for first couple nights. Take some beverages to the heated pool for Apres ski relaxation.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CaryDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2022

We hope to remain central to your dedicated ski routine. Thank you for making us part of your skiing traditions. Your praise means everything to us.

Cordially,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2022

I have been a repeat customer at the Rustler Lodge for 20 years - the food is fantastic, the service outstanding and the location can't be beat. Tom and Kate and their staff took great care of our group. I am already looking forward to my trip for 2022!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordd2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2022

We are looking forward to seeing you next season if not before. Nothing could make us happier than two decades of dedicated stays with us. Thank you for commending Tom and Kate--they really are very special and their tenure is unmatched. Your high praise means the world to us. Thank you.

Warmly,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2022 via mobile

This was my first visit to the Rustler Lodge, what a great experience! The staff is helpful and friendly and the food is great. There is a ski shop on site and ski in / ski out on a magnificent mountain. What more could you ask for. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2022

Thank you for your kind words. We are so appreciative of our guests! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your swift return.

Cordially,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2022

We've stayed at other Alta hotels in past years and have enjoyed all of them. But in 2021 (and again this year) we upgraded to the Rustler and were not disappointed! If you are looking for an old-school ski lodge experience where the food is delicious, the views spectacular, the guests friendly, the bartender knows your drink, the staff enthusiastic, then Rustler is the place. Most importantly everyone (guests, staff, etc) shares a love of skiing this unmatched mountain! If your priorities are high threadcount sheets, pampered room service, or saving money...then you may do better elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank journeyman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2022

Your description of the Rustler has made it onto my top ten list. Thank you for seeing us and appreciating what is special about this storied Lodge. Yes, we are skiers, and yes, we love this place and the guests that allow us to live our dreams. We want to help them live theirs too while they are staying with us!
And you're right about those that will be most happy staying here ;)

All our best with many thanks,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2022

If someone's coming to Alta and says they're going to the rustler. My eyes light up and I tell them of the wonderful breakfast dinner and lunches I've enjoyed there. The food is so excellent, and completely takes the stress out of finding a meal while on a ski vacation. In addition to food, the Rustler does everything well. The pool is lovely, in the sun and clean. The sauna and steam room are top notch. There's a reason the Weasels do business with the Rustler. It's because they're incredibly consistent, just like us.

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank harrisonsthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2022

My eyes light up in reading your wonderful guest review! Thank you for the praise and description of us as "one of the all time great hotels!" My hope is that we remain a great hotel for all time. Your patronage helps make that possible. Thanks for choosing to stay with us all these years. Looking forward to your next visit with the Weasels already!

With many thanks.

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews