We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Skyscanner.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
journeyman12
NY

Best ski lodge in America

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 22, 2022
We've stayed at other Alta hotels in past years and have enjoyed all of them. But in 2021 (and again this year) we upgraded to the Rustler and were not disappointed! If you are looking for an old-school ski lodge experience where the food is delicious, the views spectacular, the guests friendly, the bartender knows your drink, the staff enthusiastic, then Rustler is the place. Most importantly everyone (guests, staff, etc) shares a love of skiing this unmatched mountain! If your priorities are high threadcount sheets, pampered room service, or saving money...then you may do better elsewhere.
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Your description of the Rustler has made it onto my top ten list. Thank you for seeing us and appreciating what is special about this storied Lodge. Yes, we are skiers, and yes, we love this place and the guests that allow us to live our dreams. We want to help them live theirs too while they are staying with us!
And you're right about those that will be most happy staying here ;)

All our best with many thanks,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$299
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.3 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Exterior View
Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    $995
  • Expedia.com
6.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Hyatt.com
$260
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    $306
  • Lol.travel
    $257
  • Hotels.com
    $260
7.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$115
  • Skyscanner.com
    $115
  • Vio.com
    $111
  • Trip.com
    $130
7.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
LFT 1BR.310
Booking.com
$154
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $342
  • Hotels.com
    $144
  • Priceline
    $154
7.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$365
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $365
  • Vio.com
    $343
  • Priceline
    $365
7.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Alta
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 398 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2022

If someone's coming to Alta and says they're going to the rustler. My eyes light up and I tell them of the wonderful breakfast dinner and lunches I've enjoyed there. The food is so excellent, and completely takes the stress out of finding a meal while on a ski vacation. In addition to food, the Rustler does everything well. The pool is lovely, in the sun and clean. The sauna and steam room are top notch. There's a reason the Weasels do business with the Rustler. It's because they're incredibly consistent, just like us.

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank harrisonsthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2022

My eyes light up in reading your wonderful guest review! Thank you for the praise and description of us as "one of the all time great hotels!" My hope is that we remain a great hotel for all time. Your patronage helps make that possible. Thanks for choosing to stay with us all these years. Looking forward to your next visit with the Weasels already!

With many thanks.

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2022 via mobile

We have been staying at the rustler for 20 years. The quality has remained the same throughout this time. Good clean rooms. Awesome food. Lodge feel. Great bar. It is the place to stay on the mountain that has the best snow in the world. And no snowboarders!!

Family or friends, it’s a great place.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 487thomasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2022

We love everything you love about this place. Thank you for decades of loyalty and appreciation. Hoping for your swift return,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2022 via mobile

The Rustler is just the best for the full Alta experience. The staff are super accommodating and personable, the food top notch and you can not get any better than sleeping one pole-push from the first chair. Our guys trip was great - soaking in the pool watching the sun drop behind the mountain with a cold beer looking up to see your track (or pretending to see your tracks!) can not be beat.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kurtf563
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2022

We're always delighted to host your group and couldn't be more pleased we've become a tradition for all of you. Thank you for your praise of our staff and the Rustler--our guests are the best in the world and you all a part of that. Looking forward to your swift return,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2022 via mobile

Going to the Rustler keeps life simple.

Day 1: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Day 2: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Day 3: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Day 4: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Never gets old.

Room tip: Definitely take the shuttle from the airport. No need to mess with a car.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

Ha! I love your priorities. Thanks for keeping your high praise focused on the important things--all of which we want to be simple, classic and excellent! Come back to stay with us as soon as you're able!

Cordially,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2022 via mobile

This was my 12th or 13th stay at the Rustler, it is consistently great, you cannot beat the ease of access from SLC airport (via the Alta Shuttle), great rooms, bar, dinner and last but not least, outdoor pool & hot tub. Having breakfast & dinner included makes it a hassle free, relaxing stay. Great in house ski shop as well.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank K6806AQtomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

Double digit stays at the Rustler makes us very happy! Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warmly,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews