We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 398 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2022 via mobile

The Rustler is just the best for the full Alta experience. The staff are super accommodating and personable, the food top notch and you can not get any better than sleeping one pole-push from the first chair. Our guys trip was great - soaking in the pool watching the sun drop behind the mountain with a cold beer looking up to see your track (or pretending to see your tracks!) can not be beat.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kurtf563
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2022

We're always delighted to host your group and couldn't be more pleased we've become a tradition for all of you. Thank you for your praise of our staff and the Rustler--our guests are the best in the world and you all a part of that. Looking forward to your swift return,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2022 via mobile

Going to the Rustler keeps life simple.

Day 1: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Day 2: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Day 3: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Day 4: Breakfast. Ski. Apps. Soak. Bar. Dinner. Sleep.

Never gets old.

Room tip: Definitely take the shuttle from the airport. No need to mess with a car.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

Ha! I love your priorities. Thanks for keeping your high praise focused on the important things--all of which we want to be simple, classic and excellent! Come back to stay with us as soon as you're able!

Cordially,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2022 via mobile

This was my 12th or 13th stay at the Rustler, it is consistently great, you cannot beat the ease of access from SLC airport (via the Alta Shuttle), great rooms, bar, dinner and last but not least, outdoor pool & hot tub. Having breakfast & dinner included makes it a hassle free, relaxing stay. Great in house ski shop as well.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank K6806AQtomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

Double digit stays at the Rustler makes us very happy! Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warmly,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2022 via mobile

The Rustler is a close as you can get to a home on the slopes on the best Skiers Mtn in the world - Alta but even better because you don’t have to cook or clean! The staff are across the board incredibly kind and the service is amazing. It’s like a big family and they welcome you in such that you feel part of this family. The food is amazing - I think I gained at least five pounds despite skiing all day every day. You just can’t help yourself from eating a lot because the food is that delicious. The spa, pool and all public spaces were extremely clean and comfortable. The lounge is the best place to hang out apres ski and relax with a drink by the fire and watch the incredible sunsets and views of the mountains. The rooms were very nicely appointed, the bed and linens were so comfortable! The bathrooms super clean with high end finishes. I have been to the Rustler several times over the past 40 years and I am so happy to say that it hasn’t changed a bit except the accommodations and the food have just gotten better. Can’t wait to go back!

Room tip: Take the Alta shuttle from the airport. Excellent service! Make dinner reservations in advance for your first two nights.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Voyager42355271510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

We want to be your home away from home whenever you come to Alta, and couldn't be more pleased to hear that that has been your experience. Casual elegance with everything you need at your fingertips without having to ask is our goal. Thank you for describing your enjoyment of the Rustler experience to a T. We appreciate and thank you!

With warm regards,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2022 via mobile

Everything about my stay at the Rustler was exceptional! I especially enjoyed ending each ski day in the heated pool. The views of the Eagle’s Nest terrain across the way allowed for fun stories of the day and planning lines for days to come!!

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank J7865PHnathanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

One of the best things about staying at the Rustler is the opportunity to tell some true or tall tales about your skiing prowess in a beautiful setting over a craft cocktail or our gourmet meals. I'm glad you didn't miss this highlight while you stayed with us. Looking forward to hearing more about your skiing adventures during your next visit,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews