We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
368
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
368
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 389 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2022

There is something special about going back to a place you have been 10 or 20 times when every time the experience is simply Excellent. From incredible views of Alta and Superior, to the familiar faces of the staff, many who have been there for decades to the morning stretch class, fantastic breakfast buffet, complementary appetizers in the Bar, and always a great dinner, and the outdoor pool /sauna, spa and the expert team in the ski shop. I have worked at or been a guest at most of the lodges at Alta since 1990 and there is not place I would rather Ski In / Ski out of than the Rustler. Thank you for another great visit!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank craigsT5532OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2022

We're humbled by your comprehensive, complimentary review. We never take for granted your return business. Thank you for contributing to the culture of the Rustler with your high standards and warm praise. With appreciation, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2022

I've been to the Rustler many times over the years. It never disappoints. Amazing location. Ski in and out. Super friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food and amenities! I look forward to my next trip!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruins1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2022

Your complimentary review and return visits are music to our ears! We look forward to your next trip too. Think snow and return as swiftly as you are able. Warmly, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2022

This was our second year in a row staying at the Rustler. Once again, the staff could not have been nicer, more helpful or eager to please. It was a joy to stay here just as it was last year. The dining room continues to serve delicious, well prepared meals. The soups and bread continue to be especially noteworthy. This year we even had the pleasure of speaking with the owner, Jeff who came and sat with us at our dinner table on the last night there. He wanted to know all about us and our experiences at his Lodge. That was an unexpected pleasure.
The ski shop continued to be super helpful and friendly as well.
For a more detailed recap of the Rustler, see my review from Feb. 14 of last year (2021). Everything I noted remains true today.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2022

Welcome back Jeff and thank you for your gem of a review! I am so glad you were able to have the pleasure of meeting Jeff and I am not surprised that he wanted to hear about your experience of his Lodge. It is his life. If you enjoyed your time with us I know that means the world to him. Thank you for sharing your kind words and come back soon! Warmly, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2022

This was my first time to the area. The lodge is almost at the end of the road and in a beautiful setting.
In these times of staffing shortages, The Rustler was apparently oblivious to the shortage! They had plenty of staff - and they were happy to be there, super helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable to boot!! I cannot think of one person there who was not delightful.
The room was charming and comfortable. We had a great view of the mountain.
The dining room and food were cozy and tasty! The bar was great!
The heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi were divine!
I had a facial and a massage with Brionna. She was really great-maybe my best facial ever!
My only warning-for those of us from sea level-the elevation was tough those first few days!! Apparently, there is some prescription you can get to help with that?
Anyway, I would highly recommend the Rustler and would love to go back!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeAnne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2022

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for what we hope will be the first of many visits to the Rustler Lodge. I'm so glad our staff were responsive to all of your needs and that you enjoyed so many elements of our Lodge including our skilled and lovely Brianna's treatments. It is true that for those traveling from sea level the change can be dramatic, and there is medication that can assist in taking the edge off of those difficulties. I'm sorry that you were challenged during your first few days here. When you're able, we look forward to having you back. Our staff will be delighted! With kind regards and many thanks, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2022

Great ski in/ski out location, excellent rooms , fantastic food (included), awesome pool and hot tub with a great bar and friendly and accommodating staff. There is no reason to leave the hotel for anything other than skiing and no one does. It is the perfect ski hotel whether you ski or not, but it is a mecca for serious skiers. Nearly everyone there is a returning guest and one trip there will illustrate why.

Room tip: Best everything
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2022

Jeff, your kind words exemplify what we hope is best about the Rustler. Thank you! We're humbled by your assessment and you speak to what I believe is truly special about the Rustler for those guests that appreciate what makes us unique. Think snow and we hope to see you as soon as you're able to return. Warmly, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews